The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10 second count (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/65316-10-second-count.html)

stiffler3492 Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:03pm

This makes sense, but is there a case/rule reference?

Adam Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 742105)
This makes sense, but is there a case/rule reference?

Let me see if I can find one. Oh yeah, here it is:

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 742097)
NFHS - Rule 9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous "control" of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

The count stops when the ball touches the floor (or rim/backboard) in the frontcourt or a player or official in the frontcourt.

Rule 4-3 ... A ball in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or court.

Just to contribute something ... :D


APG Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 742105)
This makes sense, but is there a case/rule reference?

2008-09 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 8: A1 is dribbling in his/her frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball into A's backcourt. The ball is bouncing toward the end line in A's backcourt while A1 and B1 give chase. B1 and A1 each contact the ball, but neither gains control. Finally, after numerous attempts by each player, A1 gains possession deep in A's backcourt. When does the 10-second count begin anew for Team A?

RULING:
The count starts as soon as the ball goes into the backcourt since team control has not ended. (4-12-3; 9-8)

stiffler3492 Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:34pm

Thanks APG.

tref Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 742117)
Thanks APG.

Thank goodness for the casebook, huh?

The plays help make sense of the rules sometimes.

stiffler3492 Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 742121)
Thank goodness for the casebook, huh?

The plays help make sense of the rules sometimes.

Indeed.

26 Year Gap Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 742121)
Thank goodness for the casebook, huh?

The plays help make sense of the rules sometimes.

B-1 complains to U-1 that R is related to A-1. Is there a violation?

Adam Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 742125)
B-1 complains to U-1 that R is related to A-1. Is there a violation?

Agitator.

M&M Guy Mon Mar 21, 2011 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 742121)
Thank goodness for the casebook, huh?

The plays help make sense of the rules sometimes.

In stiffler's defense, this isn't from the casebook, it's from one of the annual list of interps provided by the NFHS. In this case, it was part of the 2008-2009 interps.

Stiffler, do a search for the thread titled "Past Interps Archive", and you'll see the past several years' worth of interps, many of which are helpful in combining with current cases to help understand the rules and their intent.

tref Mon Mar 21, 2011 04:24pm

Thanks for the clarification, but I wasn't taking shot at him. Caseplays/interps
have helped me as well.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1