The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10 second count (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/65316-10-second-count.html)

observer Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:09pm

10 second count
 
Men's NCAA and NFS
After a made basket by team "A", team "B1" obtains the ball out of
bounds for a throw in. Official starts a 5 second count and his/her
count stops when the ball is released by "B1" onto the playing
court. My question is when does the official start the 10 second
count for back court? When the ball crossed the imaginary out of
bounds plane or when the ball is touched by offense/defense player
on the court? The count stops when the ball crosses the imiginary
plane of the center court?

Jurassic Referee Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:14pm

The 10-second count starts when a team establishes team control in their backcourt. Team control is established when player control is established. Player control is holding or dribbling the ball.

The 10-second count stops when the ball attains front court status i.e. it touches the front court or something completely in the front court.

stiffler3492 Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:15pm

The 10 second count starts when Team A secures team control. It stops when the official gets to ten, or the ball gains frontcourt status.

If a dribbler is bringing the ball over the division line, he must get both feet and the ball in the frontcourt to obtain frontcourt status.

stiffler3492 Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 742079)
The 10-second count starts when a team establishes team control in their backcourt. Team control is established when player control is established. Player control is holding or dribbling the ball.

The 10-second count stops when the ball attains front court status i.e. it touches the front court or something in the front court.

Wow I think if we combined our two posts, we'd have the perfect answer.

Mark Padgett Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 742079)
Player control is holding or dribbling the ball.

Just to be technical (pun intended), player control is established when a player is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. I'm only getting nit-picky here because the OP seemed not too familiar with our terminology and I didn't want him to think that the inbounder holding the ball, or "bouncing" - not "dribbling" (another nit-picky difference) OOB would start the count.

No put down intended, JR.

APG Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:19pm

The count also stops (and is reset) if the ball becomes dead.

observer Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:21pm

very good, now this is different if the ball is in the front
court, get tipped to the back court by the defense, the
official starts the back court count as soon as the ball crosses
the division line, correct.

stiffler3492 Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:22pm

No. The count starts when A regains player control.

tref Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:23pm

Incorrect, the count starts when the ball has b/c status.

Player/ball location = you are where you are til you get where you're going.

Adam Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by observer (Post 742090)
very good, now this is different if the ball is in the front
court, get tipped to the back court by the defense, the
official starts the back court count as soon as the ball crosses
the division line, correct.

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 742091)
No. The count starts when A regains player control.

tref is right.

Both of these are wrong.

The count starts as soon as it touches the floor in the BC, since team control is already established and on-going.

If, however, the ball gets tipped into the BC from a rebound, it would not start until player/team control is re-established, assuming the ball still has BC status at that time.

Adam Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:29pm

The key here is to know what the 10 second violation is for.

PG_Ref Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 742095)
The key here is to know what the 10 second violation is for.

NFHS - Rule 9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous "control" of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

The count stops when the ball touches the floor (or rim/backboard) in the frontcourt or a player or official in the frontcourt.

Rule 4-3 ... A ball in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or court.

Just to contribute something ... :D

tref Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:37pm

And if B tips it toward the b/c & A catches it before it bounces in the b/c... nevermind :D

Seriously though, keep in mind that the timeline is part of the b/c too. So the count could re-start by the ball touching when f/c has been established.

Adam Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 742099)
And if B tips it toward the b/c & A catches it before it bounces in the b/c... nevermind :D

Seriously though, keep in mind that the timeline is part of the b/c too. So the count could re-start by the ball touching when f/c has been established.

Good point. You could, conceivably, have a 10 second count started while waiting for a BC violation to occur. In fact, you should, in case B touches the ball first but doesn't gain control before an A player does regain control.

grunewar Mon Mar 21, 2011 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 742094)
tref is right.

Both of these are wrong.

The count starts as soon as it touches the floor in the BC, since team control is already established and on-going.

This was Justacoach's "favorite discussion" with some of our training committee and senior officials and NONE of them would ever admit they were incorrect. :rolleyes:

stiffler3492 Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:03pm

This makes sense, but is there a case/rule reference?

Adam Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 742105)
This makes sense, but is there a case/rule reference?

Let me see if I can find one. Oh yeah, here it is:

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 742097)
NFHS - Rule 9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous "control" of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

The count stops when the ball touches the floor (or rim/backboard) in the frontcourt or a player or official in the frontcourt.

Rule 4-3 ... A ball in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or court.

Just to contribute something ... :D


APG Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 742105)
This makes sense, but is there a case/rule reference?

2008-09 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 8: A1 is dribbling in his/her frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball into A's backcourt. The ball is bouncing toward the end line in A's backcourt while A1 and B1 give chase. B1 and A1 each contact the ball, but neither gains control. Finally, after numerous attempts by each player, A1 gains possession deep in A's backcourt. When does the 10-second count begin anew for Team A?

RULING:
The count starts as soon as the ball goes into the backcourt since team control has not ended. (4-12-3; 9-8)

stiffler3492 Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:34pm

Thanks APG.

tref Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 742117)
Thanks APG.

Thank goodness for the casebook, huh?

The plays help make sense of the rules sometimes.

stiffler3492 Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 742121)
Thank goodness for the casebook, huh?

The plays help make sense of the rules sometimes.

Indeed.

26 Year Gap Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 742121)
Thank goodness for the casebook, huh?

The plays help make sense of the rules sometimes.

B-1 complains to U-1 that R is related to A-1. Is there a violation?

Adam Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 742125)
B-1 complains to U-1 that R is related to A-1. Is there a violation?

Agitator.

M&M Guy Mon Mar 21, 2011 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 742121)
Thank goodness for the casebook, huh?

The plays help make sense of the rules sometimes.

In stiffler's defense, this isn't from the casebook, it's from one of the annual list of interps provided by the NFHS. In this case, it was part of the 2008-2009 interps.

Stiffler, do a search for the thread titled "Past Interps Archive", and you'll see the past several years' worth of interps, many of which are helpful in combining with current cases to help understand the rules and their intent.

tref Mon Mar 21, 2011 04:24pm

Thanks for the clarification, but I wasn't taking shot at him. Caseplays/interps
have helped me as well.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1