The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 11, 2002, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
You are correct that according to the strictest reading of the rules this is a backcourt violation, since the player secured control of the ball in the frontcourt, was not airborne, and then touched the backcourt.
However, I would not call it.
Was it a travel? Who knows? If the player did attempt to get up (whatever that means) then yes.
Who should call it? That depends on where the officials were when the play happened. If there were many players in the backcourt and you were near the division line to help with the press, then probably that is your call. If there were only a couple of players in the backcourt and the trail had come up to almost the division line while the lead was well down the court, then clearly the trail calls this. If both of you were close, I have no problem with a double whistle.
I will say that you two were fortunate that you each had a violation and on the same team. It is always a good idea to NOT give a preliminary signal on a double whistle, until you check with your partner! One of you may have called a foul or granted a time-out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1