The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2011, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 82
Second half inbound - 5 seconds

Easy question:

We have a 5 seconds violation against Team A on the throw in to start the 2nd half.

Does the possession arrow change after Team B subsequently inbounds the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2011, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Did Team A violate the throw-in?

If so, does the arrow change upon violation or after the other teams throw-in has ended?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2011, 05:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
What causes the throw-in to end?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2011, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by MelbRef View Post
Easy question:

We have a 5 seconds violation against Team A on the throw in to start the 2nd half.

Does the possession arrow change after Team B subsequently inbounds the ball.
No. The AP arrow changes after the violation by Team A. They violated during an AP throw-in, so they lose the arrow immediately.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2011, 06:36pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
No. The AP arrow changes after the violation by Team A. They violated during an AP throw-in, so they lose the arrow immediately.
And that means team B gets the arrow, but they do not lose it after their throw-in because their throw-in is not an AP throw-in but is one because of the violation.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2011, 08:17pm
SAK SAK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 284
No. Team B would keep the arrow after the throw in as the current throw in is not an AP throw in but rather a throw in caused by a violation by team A.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2011, 10:47pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAK View Post
No. Team B would keep the arrow after the throw in as the current throw in is not an AP throw in but rather a throw in caused by a violation by team A.
I'm confused. Didn't I say that?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbound Curly1010 Basketball 2 Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:10pm
170 - 35 (100-12 at half)...Starters start 2nd Half CMHCoachNRef Basketball 52 Mon Jan 11, 2010 09:47am
Inbound Clark Kent Basketball 4 Thu Dec 11, 2008 09:30am
tell where to inbound brianb87 Basketball 2 Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:39pm
7.6 seconds on the clock in second half.... WeekendRef Basketball 10 Thu Oct 28, 2004 10:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1