The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double Foul During AP Throw-In (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/64890-double-foul-during-ap-throw.html)

bob jenkins Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:05pm

Double Foul During AP Throw-In
 
Play: A1 is holding the ball out of bounds for and alternating-possession throw-in. Prior to A1 releasing the ball, A4 and B5 are called for a double foul. How is play resumed? How is the alternating-possession arrow affected?

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:07pm

POI is the AP throw-in. Ball to the team who had it for the throw-in, arrow will switch once the throw-in is completed.

Had A1 released the ball, same result.
Had A1 released the ball and the ball been tipped but not controlled, then you would have an AP throw-in to the other team (the arrow would have reversed on the tip.)

26 Year Gap Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:09pm

I don't think fouls affect the AP status, although the POI was attempting the AP throw-in. I suspect the throw-in is an AP throw-in just as with the incomplete one at the time of the double foul.

jTheUmp Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:09pm

Assuming FED rules. (going by memory here)
1) no team control during the throw-in.
2) throw-in hadn't ended when double foul occurred, so possession arrow hasn't yet switched.
3) no FTs for a double foul.

So, you report the double foul to the table, and resume play with A getting a second chance at an AP throw-in. After A completes the throw in, switch the possession arrow to B.

Am I right?

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:12pm

Team A arrow throw-in.

bob jenkins Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:16pm

Thanks. Just checking to see if RefMag had it right. They didn't.

reffish Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:17pm

Double foul goes with POI when there is team control. During a throw-in, there is no player control, hence no team control. So the subsequent throw-in will be based on possession arrow. However, the double foul occurred during a possession arrow throw-in. The foul does not cause the team entitled to the throw-in lose the possession arrow. The arrow stays, and the subsequent throw-in is for the no team control during a double foul go to the arrow throw-in.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 739872)
Thanks. Just checking to see if RefMag had it right. They didn't.


And what did RefMag say (what issue was it and was it in the NASO Membership portion of the magazine?

MTD, Sr.

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish (Post 739873)
Double foul goes with POI when there is team control. During a throw-in, there is no player control, hence no team control. So the subsequent throw-in will be based on possession arrow. However, the double foul occurred during a possession arrow throw-in. The foul does not cause the team entitled to the throw-in lose the possession arrow. The arrow stays, and the subsequent throw-in is for the no team control during a double foul go to the arrow throw-in.

Right result, wrong reason.

1. Double fouls always go to POI. Always.
2. First stop: was there team control? No.
3. Next stop: was a throw-in involved or pending? Yes. Go back to that.

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:29pm

Double foul goes to POI. The arrow doesn't change on a foul, so it remains in A's favour. POI is a situation with no team control, so we use the arrow. Arrow points to A, so A's ball for an APA throw-in.

I'm not sure if that's what you're sayin', Snaq.

Welpe Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 739872)
Thanks. Just checking to see if RefMag had it right. They didn't.

Well color me surprised. I don't think I've read the last three issues of Referee that I've received.

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 739884)
Double foul goes to POI. The arrow doesn't change on a foul, so it remains in A's favour. POI is a situation with no team control, so we use the arrow. Arrow points to A, so A's ball for an APA throw-in.

I'm not sure if that's what you're sayin', Snaq.

Nope, it's not what I'm saying.

Everyone seems to be getting confused by the fact that the throw-in happens to be an AP throw-in.

Anytime a DF happens during a throw-in, you simply resume that throw-in. Since this one is an AP throw-in, you go back and do the AP throw-in and flip the arrow when appropriate.

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 739888)
Nope, it's not what I'm saying.

Everyone seems to be getting confused by the fact that the throw-in happens to be an AP throw-in.

Anytime a DF happens during a throw-in, you simply resume that throw-in. Since this one is an AP throw-in, you go back and do the AP throw-in and flip the arrow when appropriate.

But we ended up with the same conclusion, and I don't believe that anything I said is incorrect.

Raymond Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 739884)
... POI is a situation with no team control, so we use the arrow...

I'm not sure if that's what you're sayin', Snaq.

That is not correct. POI most definitely involves team control. It's the first thing on the check list.

M&M Guy Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 739884)
Double foul goes to POI. The arrow doesn't change on a foul, so it remains in A's favour. POI is a situation with no team control, so we use the arrow. Arrow points to A, so A's ball for an APA throw-in.

I'm not sure if that's what you're sayin', Snaq.

Nope, not quite. POI is the team last in control, or other activity, such as a throw-in or FT. You only go to the arrow when there is no team control, or no other activity to complete.

For example, change Bob's question to the following: B travels, so A has a throw-in for the violation. The arrow is currently pointing to B. A5 and B5 commit a double foul. As mentioned before, A5 and B5 are both charged for a foul, no FT's, and then A will get the original throw-in as a result of the POI, which was the throw-in they were attempting at the time of the double foul. B would not get an AP throw-in as a result of the double foul.

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 739893)
That is not correct. POI most definitely involves team control. It's the first thing on the check list.

I never did receive a copy of this year's books, so could you please enter that list for me?

Raymond Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 739896)
I never did receive a copy of this year's books, so could you please enter that list for me?

It's a mental one. And your statement concerning POI is still wrong. ;)

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:50pm

Ok, thanks M&M. When I wrote POI in my reply, I meant P in the game OI.

tref Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:50pm

A good way to remember how to administer POI situations (aside from studying the rulebook) is, what would've happened had my partner not blown his/her whistle.

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 739891)
But we ended up with the same conclusion, and I don't believe that anything I said is incorrect.

The hi-lighted portion below is incorrect.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 739884)
Double foul goes to POI. The arrow doesn't change on a foul, so it remains in A's favour. POI is a situation with no team control, so we use the arrow. Arrow points to A, so A's ball for an APA throw-in.

I'm not sure if that's what you're sayin', Snaq.

Same conclusion, different roads.

Would you use the arrow if the double foul was called during a throw-in following a violation?

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 739899)
A good way to remember how to administer POI situations (aside from studying the rulebook) is, what would've happened had my partner not blown his/her whistle.

I'm going to pick a nit because I know you won't take it personally.

This got me to thinking, maybe we could word this better by saying, "what was happening when the whistle blew?"

fullor30 Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by snaqwells (Post 739864)
poi is the ap throw-in. Ball to the team who had it for the throw-in, arrow will switch once the throw-in is completed.

Had a1 released the ball, same result.
Had a1 released the ball and the ball been tipped but not controlled, then you would have an ap throw-in to the other team (the arrow would have reversed on the tip.)

+1

Raymond Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 739902)
I'm going to pick a nit because I know you won't take it personally.

This got me to thinking, maybe we could word this better by saying, "what was happening when the whistle blew?"

There is one exception, that being a shot in flight. Then the POI is determined by whether or not the shot was made.

tref Mon Mar 14, 2011 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 739902)
I'm going to pick a nit because I know you won't take it personally.

This got me to thinking, maybe we could word this better by saying, "what was happening when the whistle blew?"

True, true... perhaps its better to hit the books :-)

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 739905)
There is one exception, that being a made basket if the DF occurs during a shot in flight.

True, the only reason I changed it was because "what would have happened" could lead to some incorrect rulings if an official decided that B1 "would have had an easy steal" or something similar.

tref Mon Mar 14, 2011 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 739908)
True, the only reason I changed it was because "what would have happened" could lead to some incorrect rulings if an official decided that B1 "would have had an easy steal" or something similar.

Coach: Come on ref, he was going to fall down when you blew your whistle! That would've been a travel... POI no?? :D

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 14, 2011 04:08pm

Fair enough Snaqs. :)

Thanks! Minute details make the difference!

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 739911)
Fair enough Snaqs. :)

Of course, I could have just read you wrong. :D

M&M Guy Mon Mar 14, 2011 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 739902)
I'm going to pick a nit because I know you won't take it personally.

This got me to thinking, maybe we could word this better by saying, "what was happening when the whistle blew?"

Me too:

"A whole bunch of crap that needed to be called." So, why would we want to go back to that?

;) :D

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 739921)
Me too:

"A whole bunch of crap that needed to be called." So, why would we want to go back to that?

;) :D

Which is why you don't go back and ask the coach what was happening when the whistle blew.

M&M Guy Mon Mar 14, 2011 05:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 739923)
Which is why you don't go back and ask the coach what was happening when the whistle blew.

Good advice. On many levels.

Jurassic Referee Mon Mar 14, 2011 05:35pm

NFHS rules 4-36-1 and 4-36-2(b) covers it in case anybody gives a sh!t.

Jurassic Referee Mon Mar 14, 2011 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 739872)
Thanks. Just checking to see if RefMag had it right. They didn't.

I wonder if anyone over there ever edits their articles. That wasn't really a toughy.

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 739948)
I wonder if anyone over there ever edits their articles. That wasn't really a toughy.

How badly did they slice this one?

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 14, 2011 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 739948)
I wonder if anyone over there ever edits their articles. That wasn't really a toughy.

Someone could turn their screw ups into a job opportunity. :)

BktBallRef Mon Mar 14, 2011 06:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 739863)
Play: A1 is holding the ball out of bounds for and alternating-possession throw-in. Prior to A1 releasing the ball, A4 and B5 are called for a double foul. How is play resumed? How is the alternating-possession arrow affected?

The point of interruption is the throw-in.

Just one of the many reasons I dropped Referee.

Scrapper1 Mon Mar 14, 2011 06:41pm

Ok, let me throw this out there. Why is the POI an alternating possession throw-in? The POI rule says that if the interruption occurs during a throw-in, you resume with a throw-in for that team. Nothing in that rule specifies that the throw-in remains an AP throw-in. You simply get the ball for a throw-in due to the penalty of the fouls.

This would be similar to having a kicked ball during an AP throw-in. The resulting throw-in is due to the violation, therefore it's not an AP throw-in.

A single foul during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. A defensive violation during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. So why just assume that a double foul does cause the arrow to change?

just another ref Mon Mar 14, 2011 06:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 739991)
Ok, let me throw this out there. Why is the POI an alternating possession throw-in? The POI rule says that if the interruption occurs during a throw-in, you resume with a throw-in for that team. Nothing in that rule specifies that the throw-in remains an AP throw-in. You simply get the ball for a throw-in due to the penalty of the fouls.

This would be similar to having a kicked ball during an AP throw-in. The resulting throw-in is due to the violation, therefore it's not an AP throw-in.

A single foul during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. A defensive violation during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. So why just assume that a double foul does cause the arrow to change?


The double foul doesn't cause the arrow to change. The completed AP throw-in after the foul causes the arrow to change.

26 Year Gap Mon Mar 14, 2011 06:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 739991)
Ok, let me throw this out there. Why is the POI an alternating possession throw-in? The POI rule says that if the interruption occurs during a throw-in, you resume with a throw-in for that team. Nothing in that rule specifies that the throw-in remains an AP throw-in. You simply get the ball for a throw-in due to the penalty of the fouls.

This would be similar to having a kicked ball during an AP throw-in. The resulting throw-in is due to the violation, therefore it's not an AP throw-in.

A single foul during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. A defensive violation during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. So why just assume that a double foul does cause the arrow to change?

The arrow does NOT change until AFTER a successful throw-in following the POI, unless throw-in team violates. I don't think anyone has suggested that it DOES. Although I could be confused I know that I didn't make any such claim. The new throw-in is the same as the one that was not completed due to the DF--an AP throw-in.

BktBallRef Mon Mar 14, 2011 06:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 739995)
The arrow does NOT change until AFTER a successful throw-in following the POI, unless throw-in team violates. I don't think anyone has suggested that it DOES. Although I could be confused I know that I didn't make any such claim. The new throw-in is the same as the one that was not completed due to the DF--an AP throw-in.

Agreed. It's not the same as a kicked ball violation by B.

reffish Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 739991)
Ok, let me throw this out there. Why is the POI an alternating possession throw-in? The POI rule says that if the interruption occurs during a throw-in, you resume with a throw-in for that team. Nothing in that rule specifies that the throw-in remains an AP throw-in. You simply get the ball for a throw-in due to the penalty of the fouls.

This would be similar to having a kicked ball during an AP throw-in. The resulting throw-in is due to the violation, therefore it's not an AP throw-in.

A single foul during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. A defensive violation during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. So why just assume that a double foul does cause the arrow to change?

There are two separate throw-ins happening in the OP. The first throw-in is for the AP throw-in. The arrow does not move because there is a foul by either team. In this case, by both teams; a double foul. The resumption of play for a double foul is POI. Because there is no team control during a throw-in, the AP arrow is used as the POI. This AP throw-in is for the double foul, not for the original AP throw-in. Hope this helps.

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish (Post 740005)
There are two separate throw-ins happening in the OP. The first throw-in is for the AP throw-in. The arrow does not move because there is a foul by either team. In this case, by both teams; a double foul. The resumption of play for a double foul is POI. Because there is no team control during a throw-in, the AP arrow is used as the POI. This AP throw-in is for the double foul, not for the original AP throw-in. Hope this helps.

It helps, but it's wrong.

Would you go to an AP throw-in if the DF was called during a throw-in following a violation?

You really need to read the definition of POI in the book.

Raymond Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish (Post 740005)
There are two separate throw-ins happening in the OP. The first throw-in is for the AP throw-in. The arrow does not move because there is a foul by either team. In this case, by both teams; a double foul. The resumption of play for a double foul is POI. Because there is no team control during a throw-in, the AP arrow is used as the POI. This AP throw-in is for the double foul, not for the original AP throw-in. Hope this helps.

POI during a throw-in is the throw-in. The lack of team control does not affect the status of the subsequent throw-in. The administration of this play is the same in NCAA, which has TC during a throw-in, as it is in NFHS, which does not have TC during a throw-in.

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 739991)
Ok, let me throw this out there. Why is the POI an alternating possession throw-in? The POI rule says that if the interruption occurs during a throw-in, you resume with a throw-in for that team. Nothing in that rule specifies that the throw-in remains an AP throw-in. You simply get the ball for a throw-in due to the penalty of the fouls.

This would be similar to having a kicked ball during an AP throw-in. The resulting throw-in is due to the violation, therefore it's not an AP throw-in.

A single foul during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. A defensive violation during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. So why just assume that a double foul does cause the arrow to change?

The rule is that the arrow changes when the throw-in is complete, correct?
If a DF is called prior to the completion of the throw-in, it was never completed. I can't imagine the rules committee wants this play to result in A getting a new throw-in and keep the arrow. They have made it clear that an AP TI is considered to be slightly different than a normal TI, so it seems logical to me to assume they would want us to return to the AP TI if a DF is called during that TI.

The only alternative is to assume the AP TI get ignored, and you return to the TI for A with the arrow not changing from A.

BktBallRef Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 740019)
POI during a throw-in is the throw-in. The lack of team control does not affect the status of the subsequent throw-in. The administration of this play is the same in NCAA, which has TC during a throw-in, as it is in NFHS, which does not have TC during a throw-in.

Yep.

4-36-2b
Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods:
b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such.

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 740026)
Yep.

4-36-2b
Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods:
b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such.

Note here that "a free throw" doesn't preclude "two free throws." Just like "a throw-in" doesn't preclude "an AP throw-in."

reffish Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 740017)
It helps, but it's wrong.

Would you go to an AP throw-in if the DF was called during a throw-in following a violation?

You really need to read the definition of POI in the book.

Yes. There is no team control during a throw-in. You can't give the ball back to the team just because they had the ball for the throw-in, you have to use the AP.

Rule 4-31-1 Art2.c: "An alternating-possession throw-in when neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved when the game is interrupted."

just another ref Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish (Post 740030)
Yes. There is no team control during a throw-in. You can't give the ball back to the team just because they had the ball for the throw-in............


Actually, you can.

You should.

By rule, you must.

bob jenkins Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 739991)
Ok, let me throw this out there. Why is the POI an alternating possession throw-in? The POI rule says that if the interruption occurs during a throw-in, you resume with a throw-in for that team. Nothing in that rule specifies that the throw-in remains an AP throw-in. You simply get the ball for a throw-in due to the penalty of the fouls.

This would be similar to having a kicked ball during an AP throw-in. The resulting throw-in is due to the violation, therefore it's not an AP throw-in.

A single foul during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. A defensive violation during an AP throw-in doesn't cause the arrow to change. So why just assume that a double foul does cause the arrow to change?

That may have been RefMag's reasoning. They ruled that A gets the ball for a throw-in (as do we all), but that it is NOT an AP throw-in and the arrow doesn't change after the throw-in ends.

Jurassic Referee Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish (Post 740030)
Yes. There is no team control during a throw-in. You can't give the ball back to the team just because they had the ball for the throw-in, you have to use the AP.

Rule 4-31-1 Art2.c: "An alternating-possession throw-in when neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved when the game is interrupted."

You're completely wrong. Rule 4-36-2(c) is neither relevant or applicable. Did you even bother to read 4-36-2(b)? That states the interruption....i.e. the double foul.....occurred DURING A THROW-IN.

APG Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish (Post 740030)
Yes. There is no team control during a throw-in. You can't give the ball back to the team just because they had the ball for the throw-in, you have to use the AP.

Rule 4-31-1 Art2.c: "An alternating-possession throw-in when neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved when the game is interrupted."

What about the article that comes right before it?

"A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such."

reffish Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 740036)
You're completely wrong. Rule 4-36-2(c) is neither relevant or applicable. Did you even bother to read 4-36-2(b)? That states the interruption....i.e. the double foul.....occurred DURING A THROW-IN.

JR, Gamer, thank you, you are the first two to direct me to a rules reference. Everyone else has just been talking about what they will do. So, the team has a throw-in, double foul. Report the foul, resume with the throw-in as before. Okay, I can do that. We do the same for the AP throw-in. Call the DF, go back to the throw-in and switch the arrow after the throw-in is complete. Got it, thanks JR and Games

Adam Mon Mar 14, 2011 10:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 739946)
NFHS rules 4-36-1 and 4-36-2(b) covers it in case anybody gives a sh!t.

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish (Post 740039)
JR, Gamer, thank you, you are the first two to direct me to a rules reference. Everyone else has just been talking about what they will do. So, the team has a throw-in, double foul. Report the foul, resume with the throw-in as before. Okay, I can do that. We do the same for the AP throw-in. Call the DF, go back to the throw-in and switch the arrow after the throw-in is complete. Got it, thanks JR and Games

No, we were posting the rule, we just didn't reference it like JR did way back in post # 32. You seemed to know where to look, so I didn't think I needed to give the reference. I should have taken JR's cue, though.

My mistake.

JR posted the rule reference long before your latest

Raymond Mon Mar 14, 2011 11:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish (Post 740039)
...Everyone else has just been talking about what they will do. ..

Yes, what we would do because we knew the rule already. What were you basing your administration of the play on?

BktBallRef Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish (Post 740039)
JR, Gamer, thank you, you are the first two to direct me to a rules reference. Everyone else has just been talking about what they will do. So, the team has a throw-in, double foul. Report the foul, resume with the throw-in as before. Okay, I can do that. We do the same for the AP throw-in. Call the DF, go back to the throw-in and switch the arrow after the throw-in is complete. Got it, thanks JR and Games


Actually, that's not true either. I quoted 4-36-2b.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 740027)
Note here that "a free throw" doesn't preclude "two free throws." Just like "a throw-in" doesn't preclude "an AP throw-in."

The act can only occur during a FT as two FTs don't occur during a single act.

It makes no difference what type of throw-in it is.

Maybe that's what you were saying, IDK.

Adam Tue Mar 15, 2011 08:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 740086)
The act can only occur during a FT as two FTs don't occur during a single act.

It makes no difference what type of throw-in it is.

Maybe that's what you were saying, IDK.

Actually I was talking about free throws that are pending, but you're right, only 1 can be pending at a time.

RandyBrown Fri Mar 25, 2011 01:34pm

Scrapper and RefMag have it right
 
Reff and APG: As an aside, notice that 2c excludes itself from relevance by its own wording. There is an infraction present in the play situation being discussed in this thread, the double-foul. (2c says that 2c does not apply if an infraction is involved in the play situation.)

All: Like Reff, I appreciate the cite, JR. Besides a definition, however, there are a few others on point, I think. 6-4-5 tells us that a foul by either team during an alternating-possession throw-in “does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow”. CB 6.4.5 SitA explains that “A violation by team A during an alternating-possession thrown-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure.” We could have free-throws coming up as a result of the infraction during the alternating-possession throw-in, or the other team could be inbounding because of a foul by team A. Simply put, team A’s alternating-possession throw-in is over when the infraction occurs. A keeps the arrow, and we move on. (See below for authority.) Unless something subsequently creates a new alternating-possession throw-in for A, even if the consequence of the infraction, a double-foul, in our case, is team A inbounding the ball, again, the situation has reset, and it is now the normal throw-in that would result from the infraction that caused the interruption.

Although the alternating-possession throw-in is history, it did not “end”, strictly speaking. 6-4-4 tells how an alternating-possession throw-in “ends”: it ends as any throw-in ends. 4-42-5 enumerates the ways throw-ins end. A foul is not one of them. Therefore, a foul pre-empts the “ending” of a throw-in, as defined by the book. Some of you are married to the idea that the “original” throw-in resumes, with all of its original attributes, following the infraction. I have not found a passage in the book that supports this, and have found ones that contradict it. The fact that the alternating-possession throw-in has not “ended” in the formal sense of the book’s meaning suggests that it, well . . ., has not ended, and that if circumstances work out, we go right back to it. But the books don’t say that, they say the contrary. The passages I cite, read together, make it clear that the interruption caused by the infraction results in whatever would follow the interruption, normally. If it is new throw-in for A, it operates as it normally would following a double-foul—no alternating-possession attribute. Consider, if the infraction weren’t a double-foul, free-throws may have resulted, or B may have been awarded the ball for inbounding if fouled by A. Clearly, the original alternating-possession throw-in is history in those situations, and nothing in the book carves out an exception for interruptions involving double-foul infractions that I can find. Scrapper was dead on.

This is all confirmed by 6-2’s subnote, and CB 6.4.5 SitA: “If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends.” The next alternating-possession throw-in doesn’t come until something new generates it. There is no resumption of A’s original alternating-possession throw-in. We have moved on.

Referee Magazine is correct, as Scrapper was saying.

For what it’s worth, in BJ’s play situation, it is not material that A1 has not yet released the throw-in. That particular condition turns on whether the ball has yet been legally touched inbounds, (CB 6.4.1 (b)).

Raymond Fri Mar 25, 2011 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 743782)
Reff and APG: As an aside, notice that 2c excludes itself from relevance by its own wording. There is an infraction present in the play situation being discussed in this thread, the double-foul. (2c says that 2c does not apply if an infraction is involved in the play situation.)
...

Randy, you really need to talk to my friend. His name is Cliff, last name Notes.

Adam Fri Mar 25, 2011 01:44pm

1. I don't think Scrapper was saying RefMag was correct.
2. Keep it simple. The DF was called during an AP throw-in. Therefore, the POI is the AP throw-in and the arrow will change when that replacement AP throw-in is completed. (4-36-2b)

Raymond Fri Mar 25, 2011 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 743782)
... Unless something subsequently creates a new alternating-possession throw-in for A, even if the consequence of the infraction, a double-foul, in our case, is team A inbounding the ball, again, the situation has reset, and it is now the normal throw-in that would result from the infraction that caused the interruption...


All of what you are saying shows that you do not know the meaning of Point of Interruption. If the POI is an alternating possession throw-in then the subsequent throw-in retains that status.

If this had occurred during a non-designated spot throw-in (after a made basket) then guess what. Play would be resumed with Team A entitled to running the end line on the throw-in.

You really need to get in the books and learn what POI is before wasting so many keystrokes. ;)

Mark Padgett Fri Mar 25, 2011 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 743782)
Reff and APG: As an aside, notice that 2c excludes itself from relevance by its own wording. There is an infraction present in the play situation being discussed in this thread, the double-foul. (2c says that 2c does not apply if an infraction is involved in the play situation.)

All: Like Reff, I appreciate the cite, JR. Besides a definition, however, there are a few others on point, I think. 6-4-5 tells us that a foul by either team during an alternating-possession throw-in “does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow”. CB 6.4.5 SitA explains that “A violation by team A during an alternating-possession thrown-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure.” We could have free-throws coming up as a result of the infraction during the alternating-possession throw-in, or the other team could be inbounding because of a foul by team A. Simply put, team A’s alternating-possession throw-in is over when the infraction occurs. A keeps the arrow, and we move on. (See below for authority.) Unless something subsequently creates a new alternating-possession throw-in for A, even if the consequence of the infraction, a double-foul, in our case, is team A inbounding the ball, again, the situation has reset, and it is now the normal throw-in that would result from the infraction that caused the interruption.

Although the alternating-possession throw-in is history, it did not “end”, strictly speaking. 6-4-4 tells how an alternating-possession throw-in “ends”: it ends as any throw-in ends. 4-42-5 enumerates the ways throw-ins end. A foul is not one of them. Therefore, a foul pre-empts the “ending” of a throw-in, as defined by the book. Some of you are married to the idea that the “original” throw-in resumes, with all of its original attributes, following the infraction. I have not found a passage in the book that supports this, and have found ones that contradict it. The fact that the alternating-possession throw-in has not “ended” in the formal sense of the book’s meaning suggests that it, well . . ., has not ended, and that if circumstances work out, we go right back to it. But the books don’t say that, they say the contrary. The passages I cite, read together, make it clear that the interruption caused by the infraction results in whatever would follow the interruption, normally. If it is new throw-in for A, it operates as it normally would following a double-foul—no alternating-possession attribute. Consider, if the infraction weren’t a double-foul, free-throws may have resulted, or B may have been awarded the ball for inbounding if fouled by A. Clearly, the original alternating-possession throw-in is history in those situations, and nothing in the book carves out an exception for interruptions involving double-foul infractions that I can find. Scrapper was dead on.

This is all confirmed by 6-2’s subnote, and CB 6.4.5 SitA: “If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends.” The next alternating-possession throw-in doesn’t come until something new generates it. There is no resumption of A’s original alternating-possession throw-in. We have moved on.

Referee Magazine is correct, as Scrapper was saying.

For what it’s worth, in BJ’s play situation, it is not material that A1 has not yet released the throw-in. That particular condition turns on whether the ball has yet been legally touched inbounds, (CB 6.4.1 (b)).

http://design-milk.com/images/2009/M...c6f99aa283.jpg

ChuckElias Fri Mar 25, 2011 04:34pm

This play reminds me of one that we talked about a few years ago, and I actually submitted it to a Rules Committee member, b/c we couldn't come to an agreement on it. Here's the original thread:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...issions-5.html

In the play we submitted, the double foul was committed during a throw-in following a basket, rather than during an AP throw-in, but maybe (I'll let you guys decide) the logic would be the same for both situations. Here's the play, with Mary Struckoff's interp (the blue is my explanation of exactly what we're trying to clarify, and the red is Mary's response as related by the committee member):

Quote:

PLAY: Team A scores a successful field goal. While B1 is holding the ball for the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official puts the ball in play at the point of interruption and allows A1 to make the throw-in from anywhere along the endline. Is the official correct? (Is the play resumed at the POI, which seems to be a throw-in anywhere along the endline? Or since it is not a common foul, is it resumed with a designated spot throw-in?) The throw-in would be from anywhere along the end line. Her judgment is that the POI is the “original” throw in location and situation.
So, if the POI in this case is a NON-designated spot throw-in b/c that's the type of throw-in that was in progress at the time of the double foul, my guess (and it's only a guess) is that the answer would be the same for a double foul committed during an AP throw-in.

See you in the tournament chat room later tonight. :)

APG Fri Mar 25, 2011 04:38pm

Randy, I noticed you mentioned my name only because I could stand to read only the first few points of your novel. Seriously, if you want people to start responding to you in a positive way and have a back and forth conversation with you, you're going to have to be truncate your replies by half.

Adam Fri Mar 25, 2011 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias (Post 743843)
This play reminds me of one that we talked about a few years ago, and I actually submitted it to a Rules Committee member, b/c we couldn't come to an agreement on it. Here's the original thread:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...issions-5.html

In the play we submitted, the double foul was committed during a throw-in following a basket, rather than during an AP throw-in, but maybe (I'll let you guys decide) the logic would be the same for both situations. Here's the play, with Mary Struckoff's interp (the blue is my explanation of exactly what we're trying to clarify, and the red is Mary's response as related by the committee member):

So, if the POI in this case is a NON-designated spot throw-in b/c that's the type of throw-in that was in progress at the time of the double foul, my guess (and it's only a guess) is that the answer would be the same for a double foul committed during an AP throw-in.

See you in the tournament chat room later tonight. :)

Thanks, Chuck. This makes sense; even if Randy, scrappy, and RefMag disagree with it. :D

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Mar 26, 2011 08:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 743787)
Randy, you really need to talk to my friend. His name is Cliff, last name Notes.



Hey, hey!! Randy is one of my astute and succint students of the rules of basektball, :D.

MTD, Sr.

RandyBrown Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 743791)
1. I don't think Scrapper was saying RefMag was correct.
2. Keep it simple. The DF was called during an AP throw-in. Therefore, the POI is the AP throw-in and the arrow will change when that replacement AP throw-in is completed. (4-36-2b)

Scrapper said, "Why is the POI an alternating possession throw-in? The POI rule says that if the interruption occurs during a throw-in, you resume with a throw-in for that team. Nothing in that rule specifies that the throw-in remains an AP throw-in." That is the crux of my argument, exactly. Where was Scrapper going, if not where I went?

4-36-2b does not say what you claim. It says nothing about alternating possession, nor anything more generally about original attributes carrying forward. You are reading that in. We talked about citations on another thread, so I’m asking: Which rule specifically states that alternating possession is retained?

RandyBrown Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 743800)
All of what you are saying shows that you do not know the meaning of Point of Interruption. If the POI is an alternating possession throw-in then the subsequent throw-in retains that status.

If this had occurred during a non-designated spot throw-in (after a made basket) then guess what. Play would be resumed with Team A entitled to running the end line on the throw-in.

You really need to get in the books and learn what POI is before wasting so many keystrokes. ;)

You are begging the question: You say it is retained, because it is retained. Where is it written that it is retained?

Regarding your non-designated analogy: You are mistaken. 7-5-7b specifies retention only in the case of a common foul. 7-5-3 mandates a “Designated out-of-bounds spot throw-in nearest to where the ball became dead” in the case of a double foul. The non-designated TI is history. It is now designated at the POI.

RandyBrown Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias (Post 743843)
This play reminds me of one that we talked about a few years ago, and I actually submitted it to a Rules Committee member, b/c we couldn't come to an agreement on it. Here's the original thread:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...issions-5.html

In the play we submitted, the double foul was committed during a throw-in following a basket, rather than during an AP throw-in, but maybe (I'll let you guys decide) the logic would be the same for both situations. Here's the play, with Mary Struckoff's interp (the blue is my explanation of exactly what we're trying to clarify, and the red is Mary's response as related by the committee member):

So, if the POI in this case is a NON-designated spot throw-in b/c that's the type of throw-in that was in progress at the time of the double foul, my guess (and it's only a guess) is that the answer would be the same for a double foul committed during an AP throw-in.

See you in the tournament chat room later tonight. :)

I think the Committee person missed the significance of your common-foul reference. 7-5-3 answers it directly. There is no need for “her judgment.” The spot is designated at the POI.

RandyBrown Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 743844)
Randy, I noticed you mentioned my name only because I could stand to read only the first few points of your novel. Seriously, if you want people to start responding to you in a positive way and have a back and forth conversation with you, you're going to have to be truncate your replies by half.

Better?;)

RandyBrown Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 743981)
Hey, hey!! Randy is one of my astute and succint students of the rules of basektball, :D.

MTD, Sr.

Reporting for duty, sir!

RandyBrown Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:13pm

Wait, it's shorter than usual
 
4-36-1 establishes double-foul causality for POI. 2b then anticipates POI application during a throw-in. 2c then deals with AP. Is it plausible to think that, after decades, the Committee has failed to realize that the original throw-in might be an APTI, or that if they did realize it, thought there no need to make explicit the possibility of an interrupted APTI in 2b and how to handle it? That is fantastical! There is no way they intended resumption of an interrupted APTI in 2b, and neglected to mention it. We can’t assume anything. If it isn’t written, it isn’t a rule.

6-1-2’s subnote specifically says that the procedure of an infraction negates and replaces the procedure/rule that was at work at the time of the infraction. Whether it be foul shots or inbounding--whatever that particular infraction’s normal procedure is gets followed--unless otherwise specified, of course. A double foul does not result in an APTI. 6-4-3g specifically states this. It says that if a double foul occurs, and the POI is such that there was no team control (as in our interrupted APTI), an APTI will not follow.

Jurassic Referee Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 744499)
!)You are begging the question: You say it is retained, because it is retained. Where is it written that it is retained?

Regarding your non-designated analogy: You are mistaken. 7-5-7b specifies retention only in the case of a common foul. 7-5-3 mandates a “Designated out-of-bounds spot throw-in nearest to where the ball became dead” in the case of a double foul. The non-designated TI is history. It is now designated at the POI.

1) NFHS rule 4-36-2(b)

2) NFHS rule 4-36-2(b)

Your problem(s) is that not only do you talk too f'ing much, you don't listen and you can't or won't try to understand what people are trying to tell you.

You'll learn a helluva lot more here listening than talking, especially when you've already shown us you don't know what the hell you're talking about.

Sorry, but there it is.

Adam Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 744500)
I think the Committee person missed the significance of your common-foul reference. 7-5-3 answers it directly. There is no need for “her judgment.” The spot is designated at the POI.

The key with going to the committee person is you're going to the source and get a much better idea of the "intent" they have with the rule itself. The intent of the POI rule is to simply resume where you left off. That's made clear by the answer Chuck received.

At least you're consistent, though. Wrong...but consistent.

Look at it this way: if you do either situation as you suggest (leave the arrow as it is, or take away the endline throw-in and replace it with a designated spot), you're punishing one team over the other. That's specifically what the rule is designed to prevent.

Look at it this way:
What would you do if, instead of a DF, you had to go to POI due to an inadvertent whistle?

Sitch 1: A1 has the ball for an endline throw-in, he throws across the paint to A2, standing OOB. In a momentary brain fart, you blow your whistle for a throw-in violation and immediately realize your error. Are you going to administer an endline throw-in or a spot throw-in? Why?

Sitch 2: A1 has the ball for an AP throw-in. About 3 seconds into your count, the table hits the horn and calls you over. After a brief discussion about player fouls and scorebooks, you're ready to resume play. AP throw-in or standard throw-in?

Raymond Mon Mar 28, 2011 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 744499)
You are begging the question: You say it is retained, because it is retained. Where is it written that it is retained?

Regarding your non-designated analogy: You are mistaken. 7-5-7b specifies retention only in the case of a common foul. 7-5-3 mandates a “Designated out-of-bounds spot throw-in nearest to where the ball became dead” in the case of a double foul. The non-designated TI is history. It is now designated at the POI.

Don't have NFHS with me so I'll put the NCAA rule out there:

Quote:

Section 53. Point of Interruption
Art. 2. Play shall be resumed after any appropriate penalty is administered by one of the following methods:

a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a designated spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred.

1. A ball that is not in contact with a player or the playing court retains the same status as when it was last in contact with a player or the playing court. This does not apply to a try in flight.

Exceptions: (Men) A single contact dead ball and a single flagrant technical foul (ball awarded at the division line).

b. (Women) A throw-in to the offended team at a designated spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred for a technical foul for an excessive timeout or a single flagrant technical foul.

c. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or when a team is entitled to such with no reset of the shot clock.

d. An alternating-possession throw-in at a designated spot with a reset of the shot clock when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of half/extra period is involved.

Exception: (Women) Rule 2-11.7.i.

You notice how in "c", the only play specifically referencing a play that was stopped during a throw-in, that the phrase "designated spot" is not included? Do you think there might be a reason for that?

Raymond Mon Mar 28, 2011 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 744499)
...Regarding your non-designated analogy: You are mistaken. 7-5-7b specifies retention only in the case of a common foul. 7-5-3 mandates a “Designated out-of-bounds spot throw-in nearest to where the ball became dead” in the case of a double foul. The non-designated TI is history. It is now designated at the POI.

And again using the NCAA rule book:

Quote:

Rule 7 Section 5
Art. 6. After a successful goal as listed in Rule 7-4.1.c,

a. The team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line which includes the following:

1. A common foul is committed near the end line before the bonus is in effect;
2. An intentional personal foul or a flagrant personal foul is committed near the end line;
3. A goaltending or basket interference violation;
4. The ball is intentionally kicked by the defense along the end line during the throw-in; or
5. A timeout is granted.
b. For the above, any player of the throw-in team may make a direct throw-in or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) who is also out of bounds.

Adam Mon Mar 28, 2011 02:22pm

Gee, BNR, seems an IW would lead Randy to resume play with a spot throw-in.

Raymond Tue Mar 29, 2011 08:07am

I know Randy is online, just waiting to hear something from him. :)

RandyBrown Tue Mar 29, 2011 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 744527)
The key with going to the committee person is you're going to the source and get a much better idea of the "intent" they have with the rule itself. That says a lot about the confidence you have in your own abilities. What's worse is that 7-5-3 and 7 prove her wrong. Let's agree to disagree on this one. The intent of the POI rule is to simply resume where you left off. Not quite, but I know what you meant to say. It isn't simply about "where," of course "Alternating possession" doesn't have to do with location, nor does "team that was in control", and "a free throw or a throw-in". Those are all about "who", "what", and "how". Referee Magazine, scrapper, and I (and I suspect many others who read the article, as well as scholarly types) point out that no where is it written that 2b prescribes what you read into it. Rule 4 is "Definitions". You have to look elsewhere for the correct implementation of the terms defined there. Referee Magazine, and those who agree with their analysis, do just that; I provide the citations, you ignore them. There's a word for that. That's made clear by the answer Chuck received.

At least you're consistent, though. Wrong...but consistent.
That goes without saying, doesn't it? I mean, if you're right despite rules to the contrary, and despite the fact that you are reading into 2b words it does not say, then you're right no matter what, and RefMag, Scrapper, myself, and all who find those other rules dispositive are wrong no matter what. There is no need to keep saying it.

Look at it this way: if you do either situation as you suggest (leave the arrow as it is, or take away the endline throw-in and replace it with a designated spot), you're punishing one team over the other. We in the wrong would disagree. Since we believe our position is rooted in the rules as written, and not as divined, your problem is with the rules as written, not us. I happen to disagree with your value assessment, as well, but let's not bore anyone with that. That's specifically what the rule is designed to prevent. That's a bold and confident statement of intent! Is that you talking, or is there a Commissioner there with you? ;)

Look at it this way:
What would you do if, instead of a DF, you had to go to POI due to an inadvertent whistle? No infraction involved in the interruption to worry about this time, so we may be able to carpool on this one.

Sitch 1: A1 has the ball for an endline throw-in, he throws across the paint to A2, standing OOB. In a momentary brain fart, you blow your whistle for a throw-in violation and immediately realize your error. Are you going to administer an endline throw-in or a spot throw-in? Why? For someone who jumped on me about proper terminology, you can get sloppy at times. I'd go with a non-designated endline TI. Reasoning: Although I cannot find a rule directly on point, CB 7.5.3(d) is identical--live ball, no team control, involves a goal. CB 8.6.1, 9.1.1(a), 9.2.1SitB(a) are helpful in various ways, as well. I can find absolutely nothing that could be read to contradict continuing as if the interruption never occurred. I thought it interesting that once A2 catches the pass, we are back to no team control (on its face, 4-12-2b indicates team control existed during the pass), and 4-36-2c would dictate an APTI for the POI (like CB 7.5.3(c)), but for the goal involved in the situation when the game was interrupted. So, how'd I do? WRONG, again? [Since I know we agree, I already know I'm right. I'll be right for the wrong reasons, though--you wait and see.]

Sitch 2: A1 has the ball for an AP throw-in. About 3 seconds into your count, the table hits the horn and calls you over. After a brief discussion about player fouls and scorebooks, you're ready to resume play. AP throw-in or standard throw-in?

Sounds like AP, to me. 7-5 doesn't cover it, as far as I can determine. The CB offers what I mentioned in Sitch 1, which together, seem to put such whistles into their own category--we're advised to treat them as though they didn't happen, to the extent possible. If that's not enough, there was no team control, and an official's TO is not an infraction, and there is no goal or end-of-period involved at the time of the interruption--seems to meet the definition of POI at 2c, which provides for an APTI. The arrow didn't change, since the original APTI never "ended" the way the book defines a TI as ending. Right, again? Wrong reasons, though, huh--because my reasons don't get you where you were hoping to lead me.

Raymond Tue Mar 29, 2011 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 744935)
....

All that blue text for Snaq's and I get ignored. :mad:

RandyBrown Tue Mar 29, 2011 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 744938)
All that blue text for Snaq's and I get ignored. :mad:

Oh, alright:

What up, BNR, dog eat your NFHS book? Nice try, though, trying to cover your *** with a college rule. :D

Raymond Tue Mar 29, 2011 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 744946)
Oh, alright:

What up, BNR, dog eat your NFHS book? Nice try, though, trying to cover your *** with a college rule. :D


It's in my house somewhere. I'll find it. I don't think the verbiage is that much different though in terms of POI. I'll be bach.

Adam Tue Mar 29, 2011 01:45pm

You have really got to figure out how to quote people properly if you're going to have a discussion like this. Just for the sake of reading ease. I'm only going to address a couple of points.

Oh, as for Scrappy, he was throwing out a hypothetical for the sake of argument. The first words of his post should have told you that.

Let's start here, with your answer to my statement that the rule is designed to prevent one team from gaining an unfair advantage:

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 744935)
That's a bold and confident statement of intent! Is that you talking, or is there a Commissioner there with you?

I'll let you search for the wording in the book, but it's there. It's actually what all the rules are designed for.

I have to admit, I'm not sure what this has to do with anything; could you elaborate?

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 744935)
No infraction involved in the interruption to worry about this time, so we may be able to carpool on this one.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 744935)
Sounds like AP, to me. 7-5 doesn't cover it, as far as I can determine. The CB offers what I mentioned in Sitch 1, which together, seem to put such whistles into their own category--we're advised to treat them as though they didn't happen, to the extent possible. If that's not enough, there was no team control, and an official's TO is not an infraction, and there is no goal or end-of-period involved at the time of the interruption--seems to meet the definition of POI at 2c, which provides for an APTI. The arrow didn't change, since the original APTI never "ended" the way the book defines a TI as ending. Right, again? Wrong reasons, though, huh--because my reasons don't get you where you were hoping to lead me.

As for sitch 1, how can you go to a "non-designated endline throw-in" in spite of your earlier interpretation that POI cannot lead you there? You have an IW (accidental whistle), which the rule tells us we are to follow by resuming with POI. What's your rule reference to make the differentiation here?

First, this completely ignores the fact that the interrupting event occurred during a throw-in.

You've got an IW during a throw-in, which for purposes of the rule is treated the same exact way as a DF; unless you can point me to something that says the two are treated differently. Let's start there.

mbyron Tue Mar 29, 2011 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 744952)
I'll be bach.

Which one? These are just the 2 most famous, of course.

http://www.earlymusicsa.org/images/c...johannBach.jpg

http://www.kammerparis.com/images/im...ach_ancien.jpg

Raymond Tue Mar 29, 2011 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 744965)

Whichever makes the word "back" sound like Arnie is saying it.

Adam Tue Mar 29, 2011 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 744968)
Whichever makes the word "back" sound like Arnie is saying it.

It helps to have a mouthful of food when you say it.

APG Tue Mar 29, 2011 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 744946)
Oh, alright:

What up, BNR, dog eat your NFHS book? Nice try, though, trying to cover your *** with a college rule. :D

Though I'm really not sure what y'all are arguing about, but NCAA handles this plays exactly the same as NFHS.

Raymond Tue Mar 29, 2011 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 744973)
Though I'm really not sure what y'all are arguing about, but NCAA handles this plays exactly the same as NFHS.

Basically what Randy is saying is that if something occurs that would cause us to resume play from the POI that if the POI is a non-designated spot throw-in it now becomes a designated spot throw-in and if the POI was an AP throw-in it nows becomes just a normal throw-in.

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 29, 2011 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 744974)
Basically what Randy is saying is that if something occurs that would cause us to resume play from the POI that if the POI is a non-designated spot throw-in it now becomes a designated spot throw-in and if the POI was an AP throw-in it nows becomes just a normal throw-in.

Randy should read NFHS rule 7-5-7(b) and case book play 7.5.7SitB(a) and then STFU.

Note that I read your post, not his. I'm too old to waste my few remaining moments on crap like that.

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 29, 2011 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 744965)
Which one? These are just the 2 most famous, of course.

This is an officials forum, KumquatHead.

The 2 most famous are Over and Bach.

Adam Tue Mar 29, 2011 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 744974)
Basically what Randy is saying is that if something occurs that would cause us to resume play from the POI that if the POI is a non-designated spot throw-in it now becomes a designated spot throw-in and if the POI was an AP throw-in it nows becomes just a normal throw-in.

Unless, of course, the interrupting event is an accidental whistle. Then, he argues, you go back to whatever type of throw-in was interrupted. I'm still not sure what he bases the difference on.

M&M Guy Tue Mar 29, 2011 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 744977)
This is an officials forum, KumquatHead.

The 2 most famous are Over and Bach.

Thanks, I just spit Diet Pepsi on my screen. :D

BillyMac Tue Mar 29, 2011 03:54pm

Hasta La Vista, Baby ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 744968)
Whichever makes the word "back" sound like Arnie is saying it.

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Liu6sEJPd4A" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Adam Tue Mar 29, 2011 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 744935)
Sounds like AP, to me. .... Wrong reasons, though, huh--because my reasons don't get you where you were hoping to lead me.

OK, I just went in an re-read the rule, and it seems you're at a crossroads.

4-36-1 tells you that POI is how you resume play for the following interruptions:
inadvertent whistle, double foul, correctable error, and interrupted game (as in 5-4-3).

There is nothing that differentiates among these events, so if you conclude that a DF during an AP throw-in would result in a standard throw-in with the arrow not changing at all, then an IW or CE would necessarily result in the same thing. There is no rules basis for treating DFs differently than IWs.

Nevadaref Wed Mar 30, 2011 06:20am

I'm rather late to chime in on this one, but that gave me a good opportunity to read all of the posts before responding.

The problem isn't with anyone one this forum or Ref Mag this time, but rather with those who wrote the rule. They did a poor job specifying their desires.

I recalled our previous discussion of the DF during the end line throw-in before I saw it posted by ChuckElias. The situation was the same there. The NFHS rule clearly states that it is a designated-spot throw-in unless a common foul occurred and a DF is NOT a common foul. The case play querry and response sent to the NFHS committee member and answered by Mark Struckhoff went directly against the written rule, so obviously the committee intended to simply restore the situation to as it was at the time of the DF. Too bad that's not how they wrote the rule.

I believe that we are having the same debate here with the AP throw-in. The NFHS committee may certainly have desired to restore the same circumstances as prior to the DF, but that is NOT what the text of the POI rule says as very astutely noted by Ref Mag and Scrapper. The strict text of the POI rule awards a new throw-in, which is not specified to be an AP throw-in to the team which was making the AP throw-in at the time of the DF.

People must understand that POI is not reverting to exactly what was happening in the game when it was stopped (although I concede that is the basic intent of the rule), but rather it is an administrative procedure that is followed to continue a game interrupted under certain circumstances with specific conditions set forth therein of exactly how to do that.

The bottom line is that once again we have detected an instance of the darn rule not saying what the committee wanted it to say because they didn't draft it well. The wording of the rule needs to be amended to specify that if the throw-in which was interrupted was an AP throw-in, then the ensuing throw-in is also an AP throw-in for that same team. A simple note would do it. (The same should be said for an end line throw-in.)

Lastly, to BNR and APG, please be careful with referencing the NCAA rules for an intentional personal foul during an end line throw-in. The ruling is NOT the same as that of the NFHS. The NCAA allows the retaining of the end line following the FTs while the NFHS does not due to a change about five seasons ago when the word "common" was added to 7-5-7 in the NFHS book. Personally, I thought it was a poor change and deprived the non-offending team of something. I think that the NCAA has it right.

JugglingReferee Wed Mar 30, 2011 07:27am

Isn't it Mary Struckhoff?

Adam Wed Mar 30, 2011 09:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 745165)
Isn't it Mary Struckhoff?

There is that, but Nevada makes a good point with which I only slightly disagree. Mary's answer is consistent with what appears to be the intent of the relatively new wording of the POI rule. Oddly enough, the point was to move from AP on all DFs to simply resuming where you left off.

I disagree, slightly, that the wording of the rule contradicts Mary's answer. I personally think the wording is ambiguous on the point, and Mary's answer provided a clarification that should, I think, be made in the actual rule.

Raymond Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 745135)
...Lastly, to BNR and APG, please be careful with referencing the NCAA rules for an intentional personal foul during an end line throw-in. The ruling is NOT the same as that of the NFHS. The NCAA allows the retaining of the end line following the FTs while the NFHS does not due to a change about five seasons ago when the word "common" was added to 7-5-7 in the NFHS book. Personally, I thought it was a poor change and deprived the non-offending team of something. I think that the NCAA has it right.

I actually had not thought of the implications of an IF during an endline throw-in but I can understand why the NFHS made a distinction.

Adam Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 745218)
I actually had not thought of the implications of an IF during an endline throw-in but I can understand why the NFHS made a distinction.

I think they're change was with the IF in mind, not the DF. Sloppy, IMO.

RandyBrown Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 745135)

They did a poor job specifying their desires.

The case play querry and response sent to the NFHS committee member and answered by Mark Struckhoff went directly against the written rule, so obviously the committee intended to simply restore the situation to as it was at the time of the DF.

The NFHS committee may certainly have desired to restore the same circumstances as prior to the DF,

(although I concede that is the basic intent of the rule),

The bottom line is that once again we have detected an instance of the darn rule not saying what the committee wanted it to say because they didn't draft it well.

Could you please state your source for the "true" desires and intents of the Rules Committees regarding rules. My understanding is that these are expressed in only two ways: 1) the language of the rules, themselves, and 2) model rules interpretations, which I thought are what comprise the Case Book.

Adam Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 745497)
Could you please state your source for the "true" desires and intents of the Rules Committees regarding rules. My understanding is that these are expressed in only two ways: 1) the language of the rules, themselves, and 2) model rules interpretations, which I thought are what comprise the Case Book.

Sometimes, recognizing the history of the rules helps to ascertain the intent of the changes. Also, when the changes are announced, they sometimes are accompanied by such explanations.

That said, if you want it, you'll have to research it yourself (unless Nevadaref or someone else wants to help). The fact that you're alone in your interpretation should be telling. If it's not, that is telling. And for the record, RefMag's opinion doesn't mean you're not alone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1