The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 07, 2002, 04:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Ok, if the foul by A1 is flagrant (or intentional, for that matter), then it is not a player control foul. Part of the definition of a PC foul is that it's a common foul by a player in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter. So it's not a PC foul.

So. . . if he shoots the ball, then he punches B1 and then the ball goes in, do you count the basket? If the foul were a PC foul, the answer is obviously no. But if it's not a PC foul, then the ball remains live. I would want to wipe away the basket, but it looks from the rule as though you would count it.

If the ball doesn't go in, then it's easy. Eject A1, give B1 2 FTs and then give B the ball at the spot of the foul.

I will ask my board interpreter about this tomorrow, and see what I'm missing.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1