View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 07, 2002, 05:09pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Ok, if the foul by A1 is flagrant (or intentional, for that matter), then it is not a player control foul. Part of the definition of a PC foul is that it's a common foul by a player in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter. So it's not a PC foul.

So. . . if he shoots the ball, then he punches B1 and then the ball goes in, do you count the basket? If the foul were a PC foul, the answer is obviously no. But if it's not a PC foul, then the ball remains live. I would want to wipe away the basket, but it looks from the rule as though you would count it.
Chuck,
I agree with your assessment.
With the explicit exception of a player-contol foul, once the ball is in flight, the ball continues in flight on it's own merit.
  • "If the ball goes through the basket before or after a player-control foul, the goal shall not be counted."

    If the shooter is charged with an intentional or flagrant foul (batting a defender up-side the head on the way down, pushing a defender after jumping on him), then I think we no longer consider the player an airborne shooter, but merely an "off-the-floor thug".
    I further agree that I would enjoy cancelling the basket, but, like you, I think we may not.
    The reason this is not a casebook play, I imagine, is that it would be very lucky for a shooter to score while intending to foul a defender on the way down. It would be very rare indeed.
    mick

  • Reply With Quote