The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 06, 2002, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray
as I read the rule, it allows the defender to break the plane after the ball has been released "on a throw-in pass"; the passing of the ball between A1 and A2 in your sitch is not a throw-in pass, so I would call the T

Originally posted by BigJoe
if you attempt to pass behind the endline after a made basket, that is not an attempt to throw in the ball. Any touching of the ball by the defender would be a T. On the other hand, if they touch it after B2 attempts the throw-in, it isn't a T. We don't write the rules, just try to interpret and enforce them.
Gentlemen, please notice, however, that nowhere does the rule say that the player is allowed to touch the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass. The defender is allowed to break the boundary plane, perhaps due to his momentum carrying him toward the inbounder. But nowhere is the prohibition on touching the ball while it is still on the OOB side of the boundary plane lifted.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1