The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Tim Higgins (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/64443-tim-higgins.html)

Adam Thu Mar 10, 2011 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 738816)
Walton had good reason to not call the OOB but there was no good reason to not call the traveling...that was his call and his PCA. Unless he's heard a horn or a whistle, he has to assume that the player is still inbounds and that there is time on the clock and make that call.

It would be convenient to try to lay blame on any one or two of the crew but in reality, all three made errors on that play.

It's almost as if something told them the game was over. I'd stick with that, but I heard the live radio call of that play this morning, and I couldn't hear any horn that would indicate that was the case.

Raymond Thu Mar 10, 2011 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 738816)
Walton had good reason to not call the OOB but there was no good reason to not call the traveling...that was his call and his PCA. Unless he's heard a horn or a whistle, he has to assume that the player is still inbounds and that there is time on the clock and make that call.

It would be convenient to try to lay blame on any one or two of the crew but in reality, all three made errors on that play.

After St. John's steals the ball Walton starts running towards SJ's frontcourt but takes his eyes off the player and looks at the clock. When he looks back the player is already OOB and in the midst chucking the ball up in the air. I don't think Earl knew what the hell was going on at that point. He's probably thinking "I hope someone blew a whistle" :eek:

Adam Thu Mar 10, 2011 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 738822)
After St. John's steals the ball Walton starts running towards SJ's frontcourt but takes his eyes off the player and looks at the clock. When he looks back the player is already OOB and in the midst chucking the ball up in the air. I don't think Earl knew what the hell was going on at that point. He's probably thinking "I hope someone blew a whistle" :eek:

The perfect storm, it seems, for really good officials to miss a seemingly easy call.

Camron Rust Thu Mar 10, 2011 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 738822)
After St. John's steals the ball Walton starts running towards SJ's frontcourt but takes his eyes off the player and looks at the clock. When he looks back the player is already OOB and in the midst chucking the ball up in the air. I don't think Earl knew what the hell was going on at that point. He's probably thinking "I hope someone blew a whistle" :eek:

That may be what he did but in doing so he took his eyes off THE play in HIS PCA....not usually a good idea.

Raymond Thu Mar 10, 2011 06:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 738845)
That may be what he did but in doing so he took his eyes off THE play in HIS PCA....not usually a good idea.

Not saying it was. Just noting another contributary action to what went wrong.

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 06:20pm

Who cares about the darn travel? That pales in comparison to the out of bounds call that does not take an issue of when the player might have controlled the ball. We miss travels all the time. We should not miss a player stepping on the line ever that clearly. Now was that a mistake? Of course it was, but I can get over a missed travel as I am sure there were other plays during that game we could argue was a travel, but can we miss an out of bounds? Heck no. We cannot even agree when the player had the darn ball. But we know the player stepped on the line.

Peace

jbduke Thu Mar 10, 2011 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738861)
Who cares about the darn travel? That pales in comparison to the out of bounds call that does not take an issue of when the player might have controlled the ball. We miss travels all the time. We should not miss a player stepping on the line ever that clearly. Now was that a mistake? Of course it was, but I can get over a missed travel as I am sure there were other plays during that game we could argue was a travel, but can we miss an out of bounds? Heck no. We cannot even agree when the player had the darn ball. But we know the player stepped on the line.

Peace

Okay, I think I finally understand the source of our disagreement. You think that the "travel" was close. And I think that the "travel" was beyond obvious.

I'm just glad that I think I understand your argument now.

Referee24.7 Thu Mar 10, 2011 07:39pm

The bottom line is this -- you CANNOT miss impact plays that can possibly alter the outcome of a game -- at any level.

Burr and Higgins are old-school guys and I'm sure they just chalked it up to either "I didn't see it" or they had the clock at 00.0, because Burr walked off like nothing even happened. . .

If they were going to call a travel, it would've been around 2.1, but either way, SOMETHING needed to be called and you can't miss obvious plays.

That, first and foremost, for all of us who wear stripes, trumps everything.

I feel bad for Walton out of all of them, because I'm sure he's going to be put up as the "Lee Harvey Oswald" in this mess that if Burr didn't pick it up, then Higgins should.

Nuff said, pencils down, game over.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 10, 2011 07:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 738412)
But , if I recall correctly, a couple of years back when there was a bump in the backcourt in the last second of a tournament game (Georgetown vs. Somebody, maybe?) which caused a player to step out of bounds. The foul was called, the subsequent free throws were the winning margin, and Bilas said the whole thing should have been ignored.

It was G'town vs. Villanova and it was not an NCAA tournament game.
It was a Big East game.

26 Year Gap Thu Mar 10, 2011 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 738810)
That's cuz you're Canadian, and all Americans look alike to you people,eh? :D

Fixed it for ya.:D

26 Year Gap Thu Mar 10, 2011 08:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 738818)
It's almost as if something told them the game was over. I'd stick with that, but I heard the live radio call of that play this morning, and I couldn't hear any horn that would indicate that was the case.

Except that 2 guys would have at least had the LED in their periphery, which is harder to miss than a travel.

Welpe Thu Mar 10, 2011 08:38pm

Does anybody have a foul on the St John's player during the rebounding action after the free throws? It looks like one to me.

The other "missed" foul was a good no call in my opinion.

JugglingReferee Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 738810)
That's cuz you're Canajun, and all Americans look alike to you people, eh?. :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 738901)
Fixed it for ya.:D

Ditto. :P

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:10pm

Interesting story came out in the NY Post this afternoon. According to their sources, the Big East told the crew to either step way from the tournament or they'd do it for them.

Jim Burr, Tim Higgins, Earl Watson asked to step aside as referees by Big East Conference - NYPOST.com

And we may never know whether this is true or not.

JugglingReferee Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:35pm

I can see Gene Steratore making it far in the dance.

Raymond Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 738916)
Interesting story came out in the NY Post this afternoon. According to their sources, the Big East told the crew to either step way from the tournament or they'd do it for them.

Jim Burr, Tim Higgins, Earl Watson asked to step aside as referees by Big East Conference - NYPOST.com

And we may never know whether this is true or not.


Well, considering Earl Watson is/was an NBA player out of UCLA and not an official, who knows? :rolleyes:

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 738879)
Okay, I think I finally understand the source of our disagreement. You think that the "travel" was close. And I think that the "travel" was beyond obvious.

I'm just glad that I think I understand your argument now.

Actually if you need to understand something, then you have not been listening to what I have been saying at all. Travels are always judgment calls and can be debated. You cannot easily debate a foot on the line so clearly out of bounds like this one.

If you think the travel was obvious, what tape were you looking at?

Peace

VaTerp Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 738492)
This really can't be argued imo also. They screwed up and that fact won't change. They also deserve the flak they're getting for their officiating mistake. What they don't deserve is the personal crap some people are throwing at them. Saying their careers should be over for something like this is just plain ridiculous imo, especially when it comes from so-called fellow officials who have never worked on a stage like that.

Officials are human, not machines.

Agree with all of the above.

My somewhat educated guess as to what happened is the crew was tired after working a close, competitive, Big East post season game. When they saw St. Johns come up with the loose ball after the long inbound pass they likely exhaled, lost mental focus for a second, and before they knew it the kid did something goofy.

Oh shhhh..... there's time on the clock, he's clearly out of bounds, and .......nobody has a whistle.

I'm not gonna personally attack anyone and that crew has done more in officiating than I can even hope to right now BUT they had a mental lapse at a critical time on a significant stage. And IMHO it's likely was due to fatigue and their age doesnt help with that. Burr and Higgins both should have had an OOB there. PERIOD. All of us have missed calls and had mental lapses and all of us know this increases when you are fatigued.

I actually got on talk radio today about this today and my three points were:

1) Mike Rice is a good coach (IMSBO) and went above and beyond to NOT blame the officials.

2) As a basketball official the only thing I'm going to question is the OOB. It's the most difficult sport to officiate, there's a lot of judgement, etc. but to miss the OOB there is an inexcusable moment for that crew and not a good moment for the craft.

3) Younger officials need to be brought up into the big time mix a little/lot more. Because I do think that there are SOME older officials who are still getting a full schedule of the highest level of ball when they should probably be getting a few more nights off.

JMO

26 Year Gap Fri Mar 11, 2011 09:41am

+1 ^ We've all made mistakes. We've all had bad games. It doesn't mean we are bad officials. Fortunately, most of us will not have those mistakes analyzed, re-analyzed, second-guessed & criticized nearly to the extent that these guys have experienced in the past few days. The down side of course, is that "Don Denkinger Syndrome" could kick in. And that would be a shame. And this, from a Royals fan.

fullor30 Fri Mar 11, 2011 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 738879)
Okay, I think I finally understand the source of our disagreement. You think that the "travel" was close. And I think that the "travel" was beyond obvious.

I'm just glad that I think I understand your argument now.

You can't have both, when he travelled, he was OB, I agree with Jeff. travels can be open to scrutiny, OB is OB.

fullor30 Fri Mar 11, 2011 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 738816)
Walton had good reason to not call the OOB but there was no good reason to not call the traveling...that was his call and his PCA. Unless he's heard a horn or a whistle, he has to assume that the player is still inbounds and that there is time on the clock and make that call.

It would be convenient to try to lay blame on any one or two of the crew but in reality, all three made errors on that play.

Can agree on travel call from Walton.......

fullor30 Fri Mar 11, 2011 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 738777)
After St. John's stole the ball it became Burr's line. But Burr was not in position to see the line b/c of how he set up on the initial throw-in. Higgins should have had secondary help on the line.

Why is it Burr's line? Not familar with NCAA PCA, isn't it new trail's (Higgin's)?

26 Year Gap Fri Mar 11, 2011 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 739010)
Why is it Burr's line? Not familar with NCAA PCA, isn't it new trail's (Higgin's)?

Go back and look at the pictures and ask Rut for help in telling those two apart. Burr, apparently, IS the new trail, although he is not visible in the video.

Raymond Fri Mar 11, 2011 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 739010)
Why is it Burr's line? Not familar with NCAA PCA, isn't it new trail's (Higgin's)?

When the play started (b/c throw-in by Rutgers) Burr was the new lead 94' away in the frontcourt under the basket. In the video shown from St. John's frontcourt you will see him running to get over to the sideline from the paint after the pass is stolen. Higgins is in front of St. John's bench along the sideline.

Spence Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:28am

If this has already been discussed I missed it so...

The player with the ball who appeared to travel and step OOB was in the process of chucking the ball while stepping OOB.

Let's say the whistle blew on the step OOB while he was in the process of chucking the ball into the air. Anything for the chuck? DOG?

Adam Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 739036)
If this has already been discussed I missed it so...

The player with the ball who appeared to travel and step OOB was in the process of chucking the ball while stepping OOB.

Let's say the whistle blew on the step OOB while he was in the process of chucking the ball into the air. Anything for the chuck? DOG?

Let's say you stuck him for DoG. How would you justify it in the rules?

Spence Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 739040)
Let's say you stuck him for DoG. How would you justify it in the rules?

In reading NFHS 3-47 now I'm not sure I can give him a DOG warning.

Are you saying you would stick him for unsporting act? Or is it nothing? Wouldn't it be like a kid who dunks right after a travel call ie judgment call?

Adam Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 739047)
In reading NFHS 3-47 now I'm not sure I can give him a DOG warning.

Are you saying you would stick him for unsporting act?

Nah, I wouldn't do either. There is a possibility of a T if his actions actually delay the game, but if they'd called this travel, they would have been looking at the monitor to determine the proper time left on the clock.

No way I'd go unsporting, either, unless he's looking at me ask for the ball and then throws it away.

On this play, it's nothing.

jbduke Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738924)
Actually if you need to understand something, then you have not been listening to what I have been saying at all. Travels are always judgment calls and can be debated. You cannot easily debate a foot on the line so clearly out of bounds like this one.

If you think the travel was obvious, what tape were you looking at?

Peace

And if your writing in some of your previous posts in this thread had been one-tenth as clear as the above, you wouldn't have had multiple asking you what the hell you were talking about.

Raymond Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 739036)
If this has already been discussed I missed it so...

The player with the ball who appeared to travel and step OOB was in the process of chucking the ball while stepping OOB.

Let's say the whistle blew on the step OOB while he was in the process of chucking the ball into the air. Anything for the chuck? DOG?

Already addressed by John Adams in ESPN article. Even it there had been a whistle the player thought game was over so no T for action.

JRutledge Fri Mar 11, 2011 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 739055)
And if your writing in some of your previous posts in this thread had been one-tenth as clear as the above, you wouldn't have had multiple asking you what the hell you were talking about.

It seems like you are one of the only people having a problem understanding my point on this play. Many have read and either agreed or disagreed with my point and were not trying to figure out what I was saying. Maybe your lack of understanding is and example of not understanding of the mechanics or rules very well. I do not know and will not try to guess. I think you made your mind up and you only wanted to debate why the travel was not called.

Peace

jbduke Fri Mar 11, 2011 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 739064)
It seems like you are one of the only people having a problem understanding my point on this play. Many have read and either agreed or disagreed with my point and were not trying to figure out what I was saying. Maybe your lack of understanding is and example of not understanding of the mechanics or rules very well. I do not know and will not try to guess. I think you made your mind up and you only wanted to debate why the travel was not called.

Peace

Yeah, Rut, your writing is always clear, coherent, and logically consistent.

APG Fri Mar 11, 2011 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 739097)
Yeah, Rut, your writing is always clear, coherent, and logically consistent.

Take it for what it's worth, but I was able to understand Rut's initial point.

JRutledge Fri Mar 11, 2011 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 739097)
Yeah, Rut, your writing is always clear, coherent, and logically consistent.

I did not say it was always wonderful at all times. This is an internet forum, not a Master's Thesis or PhD Dissertation writing center. I think you made your mind up and I differing opinion was not what you wanted to hear. I also do not think you read every response from me. Do not blame that on me when you could not seem to understand others that made the same point as well. Again, there were others that debate with me and others on the points of the play, not how we wrote our responses. If you did not truly understand then you would have said what you did not understand. This is not my first rodeo here. ;)

Peace

Jurassic Referee Fri Mar 11, 2011 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 739097)
Yeah, Rut, your writing is always clear, coherent, and logically consistent.

I think the content is more important than the delivery, and that's really all that needs to be judged.

But that's just me......:)

Adam Fri Mar 11, 2011 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 739100)
This is not my first rodeo here. ;)

You do rodeo, too?

JRutledge Fri Mar 11, 2011 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 739105)
You do rodeo, too?

I do last longer than 8 seconds. ;)

Peace

fullor30 Fri Mar 11, 2011 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 739011)
Go back and look at the pictures and ask Rut for help in telling those two apart. Burr, apparently, IS the new trail, although he is not visible in the video.

HaHa! I stand corrected!!

Raymond Sat Mar 12, 2011 04:31pm

A positive finish for an officiating crew:

ACC officials supervisor praises Kersey, crew - Teel time - dailypress.com

JugglingReferee Sat Mar 12, 2011 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 739341)

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/kTMPZIGw8g4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

APG Sat Mar 12, 2011 06:03pm

That's about as close as it gets...I've only seen one other time in an NBA game where replay was that close!

JugglingReferee Sat Mar 12, 2011 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 739352)
That's about as close as it gets...I've only seen one other time in an NBA game where replay was that closel

That's what you call.....

< puts on sunglasses >

officiating until the last second.

YYYEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

APG Sat Mar 12, 2011 07:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 739366)
That's what you call.....

< puts on sunglasses >

officiating until the last second.

YYYEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Until the last second you say...ironic given the thread. ;)

Judtech Sat Mar 12, 2011 07:54pm

I can't believe the officials didn't let the players decide this game!:cool:
Its sad that the players have the game taken away from them b/c of some stupid rule and the use of technology.
(Yes, I actually heard that argument today!)

refiator Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:14pm

I have nothing more to say. Just wanted to be a part of a post with 250 replies:)

canuckrefguy Sun Mar 13, 2011 03:15pm

Thanks to stiffler for the redirect....

I actually think the OOB is the least of their concerns in the last couple minutes of that game.

Just goes to show you that even the very best f-up too.

BktBallRef Mon Mar 14, 2011 06:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 739349)
<IFRAME title="YouTube video player" height=390 src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/kTMPZIGw8g4" frameBorder=0 width=640 allowfullscreen></IFRAME>

That was the closest last second shot I've ever seen, plus it really looked good in real time. Ouch!

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 14, 2011 06:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 739989)
That was the closest last second shot I've ever seen, plus it really looked good in real time. Ouch!

Y U.P. Me too. I just don't know what I would rule in real-time.

What went through my mind when I saw this clip was that I bet NCAA officials across the land, unfortunately, had a very crisp pre-game that particularly dealt with officiating until the end.

Can you imagine a second crew not working til the last buzzer?

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 14, 2011 06:58pm

Also, not that it would have mattered had the attempt been released in time, but I see the slot signalling a three. When I paused the clip, the left foot is definitely crossing the inner-most 3-point arc.

26 Year Gap Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 740001)
Also, not that it would have mattered had the attempt been released in time, but I see the slot signalling a three. When I paused the clip, the left foot is definitely crossing the inner-most 3-point arc.

Only 2 points were credited initially.

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 740003)
Only 2 points were credited initially.

Ok, gotcha.

The camera zoomed in, so I didn't see if the C signalled a made 3 or not.

He signalled the attempt, so if we assume that he signalled a touchdown, and the table only awarded 2, then obviously we need CHSeagle working the tournament because he knows proper procedure. :D

BktBallRef Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 739999)
Y U.P. Me too. I just don't know what I would rule in real-time.

Bryan Kersey had the initial call, as well as the video review. He had the shot but not the red backboard light, based on his stance/view. Using the buzzer alone makes it a difficult call.

Quote:

What went through my mind when I saw this clip was that I bet NCAA officials across the land, unfortunately, had a very crisp pre-game that particularly dealt with officiating until the end.

Can you imagine a second crew not working til the last buzzer?
Y.U.P. That would have been ugly. At least the Big East deal didn't cost somebody a tournament bid, and pretty much died since the crew didn't work again and St Johns got beat the next game.

Raymond Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 740001)
Also, not that it would have mattered had the attempt been released in time, but I see the slot signalling a three. When I paused the clip, the left foot is definitely crossing the inner-most 3-point arc.

Look at the still above your post. Bryan is signalling that it is a "2".

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 740022)
Look at the still above your post. Bryan is signalling that it is a "2".

I can buy that, though I can't see for certain that he's got just 2 fingers.

And why I like the mechanic of signalling the 2 clearly down to the floor if ruling that the shot is not a 3.

Tio Tue Mar 15, 2011 06:23pm

I am not sure any of us have the right to criticize an official with Tim's resume. We should be supportive of our fraternity.

Remember - We get all our calls right from the stands.

APG Tue Mar 15, 2011 06:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 740345)
I am not sure any of us have the right to criticize an official with Tim's resume. We should be supportive of our fraternity.

Remember - We get all our calls right from the stands.

Just because an official has been at it a long time doesn't mean he's immune to criticism...especially on a blown call this bad.

JRutledge Tue Mar 15, 2011 07:14pm

I have no problem with the criticism, I just do not like the way we all are critical. This should be a learning situation for all of us. Do not assume anything and unfortunately I think this official did. He is not the only one that made such a mistake and certainly will not be the last one for sure.

Peace

Adam Tue Mar 15, 2011 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 740351)
I have no problem with the criticism, I just do not like the way we all are critical. This should be a learning situation for all of us. Do not assume anything and unfortunately I think this official did. He is not the only one that made such a mistake and certainly will not be the last one for sure.

Peace

Agreed. Figure out why he missed it, or what contributed, and strive to avoid it.

Raymond Tue Mar 15, 2011 09:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 740362)
Agreed. Figure out why he missed it, or what contributed, and strive to avoid it.

Exactly

Quote:

When the play started (b/c throw-in by Rutgers) Burr was the new lead 94' away in the frontcourt under the basket. In the video shown from St. John's frontcourt you will see him running to get over to the sideline from the paint after the pass is stolen. Higgins is in front of St. John's bench along the sideline...

After St. John's stole the ball it became Burr's line. But Burr was not in position to see the line b/c of how he set up on the initial throw-in. Higgins should have had secondary help on the line...

After St. John's steals the ball Walton starts running towards SJ's frontcourt but takes his eyes off the player and looks at the clock. When he looks back the player is already OOB and in the midst chucking the ball up in the air. I don't think Earl knew what the hell was going on at that point. He's probably thinking "I hope someone blew a whistle" :eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1