The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Tim Higgins (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/64443-tim-higgins.html)

VaTerp Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 738357)
[/COLOR]

Any one mention that the two coaches did not coach until the end of the game either.

I don't know but if you read Rice's comments he talked about mistakes that he, his staff, and his players made and did not take what would have been an easy route and focus on the officials.

And as an official, it does not matter one bit that the coaches didn't coach until the end of the game (whatever that means). Bottom line is that was a REALLY bad miss at the end of the game by this crew. We all miss calls but one of the main points that they guy who trained me stressed was to always officiate to the end of the game. It seems that this crew did not do that today.

Judtech Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 738361)
.

What would you call someone who would make comments like this *without ever seeing the play or even a recording of the play*?

A Sports radio call in host?

APG Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:07pm

I don't feel it's inappropriate for the coordinator of men's basketball to have a comment on the play if asked.

Rich Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 738364)
I don't feel it's inappropriate for the coordinator of men's basketball to have a comment on the play if asked.

Without seeing the play? The right thing would've been to say, "I'll have a comment after I see the video."

APG Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 738366)
Without seeing the play? The right thing would've been to say, "I'll have a comment after I see the video."

Well you said it was a conference matter and you would have rather the conference supervisor have comment. While it's totally acceptable for him to comment, I don't see a problem with John Adams having an opinion (I'm talking in general here. If it's true that he didn't see the play first, and I have a hard time believe that, then he should have waited to comment).

Judtech Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:14pm

Bilas just commented that Burris made the same "No Call' in Maui at the MSU/Uconn game (?) Anyone remember this?

Rich Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 738367)
Well you said it was a conference matter and you would have rather the conference supervisor have comment. While it's totally acceptable for him to comment, I don't see a problem with John Adams having an opinion (I'm talking in general here. If it's true that he didn't see the play first, and I have a hard time believe that, then he should have waited to comment).

NCAA official head: Finish 'unacceptable' in St. John's win - ESPN

(The video specifically says Adams hadn't seen the play. He made his comments based on a description.)

Adams, reached by phone in Indianapolis where he is sequestered with the men's basketball selection committee for the remainder of the weekend, hadn't seen the video of the final seconds of the game but was going to discuss it with Big East coordinator of officials Art Hyland upon hearing the play-by-play of the final seconds.

"And then we'll notify the guys sometime Sunday if they're working or not," Adams said.

dsqrddgd909 Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 738362)
I don't know but if you read Rice's comments he talked about mistakes that he, his staff, and his players made and did not take what would have been an easy route and focus on the officials.

And as an official, it does not matter one bit that the coaches didn't coach until the end of the game (whatever that means). Bottom line is that was a REALLY bad miss at the end of the game by this crew. We all miss calls but one of the main points that they guy who trained me stressed was to always officiate to the end of the game. It seems that this crew did not do that today.

+1. My training with a great mentor in Michigan stressed that over and over again.

APG Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:26pm

Well he probably shouldn't have had a comment here though I guess one might argue you don't need to see a video of the play as it wasn't a judgement play rather a clear out of bounds violation.

I would rather him not comment until after seeing the video. Still, in general, I have no problem with Adams commenting on plays in addition to conference supervisors. Adams may be more accessible than most supervisors.

APG Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 738357)
[/color]

Any one mention that the two coaches did not coach until the end of the game either.

What does this have to do with the end of game sequence? How we officiate is not dictated by if the coaches "did not coach until the end of the game either," though I'm not sure what you even mean by that.

LeeBallanfant Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 (Post 738371)
+1. My training with a great mentor in Michigan stressed that over and over again.

So Adams is saying basically that Burr, Higgins and Walton deliberately ignored everything that happened in the last 10 seconds. Thats pretty strong and uncalled for and not in keeping with these officials background.

If he says there were terrible calls and no calls in last 10 seconds thats ok and probably right on the mark, but to infer these officials did not want to make calls at end of game to me is libelous.

I can just see officials in the tournament thinking, if you want to advance, make a call in the dying seconds. That will prove I officiated until the end of the game.

26 Year Gap Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:37pm

or.....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 738360)
You do sound like a big prick.

Answers.com - What is a jake turkey

VaTerp Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:42pm

[QUOTE=LeeBallanfant;738377]So Adams is saying basically that Burr, Higgins and Walton deliberately ignored everything that happened in the last 10 seconds. Thats pretty strong and uncalled for and not in keeping with these officials background.

If he says there were terrible calls and no calls in last 10 seconds thats ok and probably right on the mark, but to infer these officials did not want to make calls at end of game to me is libelous.

I can just see officials in the tournament thinking, if you want to advance, make a call in the dying seconds. That will prove I officiated until the end of the game.[/QUOTE]

These are pretty ridiculous statements IMO, particularly the last one. I don't think Adams is saying they ignored everything in the last 10 seconds or that they did not want to make calls at the end of the game. And I'm definitely not saying that. In fact I haven't even seen what others are calling questionable no calls leading up to the throw in with 4.7.

But when a guy CLEARLY steps out of bounds with 1.7 on the clock and there is no whistle then ITS EVIDENT that the officials did not referee until the end of the game. That has nothing to do with wanting or not wanting to make a call. It has to do with refereeing until there are all zeroes on the clock. This crew didn't do that today evidenced by the fact that they allowed a player to clearly step out of bounds with significant time left on the clock.

KMBReferee Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:31pm

Here's the video. I wish I knew how to embed it on this board.

I mean, it's kind of hard to defend "missing" that OOB. He's right there, whistle in hand, looking down the pipe at the sideline. His whole foot was almost entirely OOB; in fact, the outer edge was the only thing that was touching the line.

The only defense he could have for missing it, was his vision may have been blocked by the St. John's player and the coach, who was entirely out of his box and was right at the division line.

ODJ Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:32pm

"Finishing" games will be a POE next year, with major talk about the philosophy of "let the kids decide the game." (i.e., swallowing the whistle.)

We get paid for the final minutes. (And all the other minutes.)

Plus, NCAA will expand reviewable situations.

JRutledge Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KMBReferee (Post 738395)
Here's the video. I wish I knew how to embed it on this board.

Here it is.

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/YlOWkNBxlTo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Raymond Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 738364)
I don't feel it's inappropriate for the coordinator of men's basketball to have a comment on the play if asked.

It's inappropriate for him to single out one official as good or bad and have no comments on the other 2.

mightyvol Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 738334)
And you're proud of that? You're also the one who's crapped all over Ted Hillary, Steve Welmer and a few other officials in the course of your posting history.

What D1 conferences have you worked in?

And who the hell made you king? You sound as if you are best buds with these guys. I started the thread asking about his health. I think he is beyond his years of keeping up. You can kiss my ***!

just another ref Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 738368)
Bilas just commented that Burris made the same "No Call' in Maui at the MSU/Uconn game (?) Anyone remember this?

But , if I recall correctly, a couple of years back when there was a bump in the backcourt in the last second of a tournament game (Georgetown vs. Somebody, maybe?) which caused a player to step out of bounds. The foul was called, the subsequent free throws were the winning margin, and Bilas said the whole thing should have been ignored.

Raymond Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:35am

Why is Burr 94' from the throw-in? He is standing on the endline in the middle of the paint. He is no help on the play. If he had set up free throw line extended to help with the catch and any 3-point attempts he would have been in position to view the OOB.

Raymond Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 738412)
But , if I recall correctly, a couple of years back when there was a bump in the backcourt in the last second of a tournament game (Georgetown vs. Somebody, maybe?) which caused a player to step out of bounds. The foul was called, the subsequent free throws were the winning margin, and Bilas said the whole thing should have been ignored.

Yes, the fanboys were blasting that call. It was G-Town/Villanova regular season game.

jbduke Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 738412)
But , if I recall correctly, a couple of years back when there was a bump in the backcourt in the last second of a tournament game (Georgetown vs. Somebody, maybe?) which caused a player to step out of bounds. The foul was called, the subsequent free throws were the winning margin, and Bilas said the whole thing should have been ignored.

Not really. The game you're thinking of was Georgetown-Villanova two seasons ago. Bilas never even acknowledged the possibility that the foul had been called because the ball-handler was bumped out of bounds. Replays were ultimately inconclusive, but they did show Bob Donato in perfect position to referee the play. I'll go to my grave convinced that he called the foul because he saw the Georgetown player step out of bounds. Perfectly officiated play.

VaTerp Thu Mar 10, 2011 01:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 738357)
[/COLOR]

Any one mention that the two coaches did not coach until the end of the game either.

And I just heard all of Rice's comments in the post game press conference. He was a class act and went way above and beyond to take the blame off the officials, praised them, and said "we have the best officials in America."

Makes the comment above even more absurd.

Camron Rust Thu Mar 10, 2011 01:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 738271)
Exactly ... There was NO TRAVEL. Can't somebody tell Digger Phelps and the gang this!

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738295)
You cannot have a travel when the players are out of bounds. And I did see it more than once. ;)



The question is when did he actually have the ball? He knocked the ball down to the floor when he first had the ball.

....

And he said that 3 officials missed it. Three officials are not looking at this play. Maybe two of them were, but more likely 1 in this specific play.

Peace

It should have been either a travel, if inbounds, or an OOB violation.

The "travel" was obvious...after the dribble, the ball was caught, the player then stepped with the right, the left and then the right again....then thew the ball.

It wasn't actually traveling however since the left foot step was OOB....as was the last right foot step. But since the OOB violation wasn't called, the ball was still live and the traveling was still possible.

Either way, all 3 officials are at fault. The L and the T for the line coverage and the C for the travel....the C has the mid-court area from sideline to sideline in such situations and should have had the travel even if he couldn't (and shouldn't) know that the player was OOB.

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 738434)
It should have been either a travel, if inbounds, or an OOB violation.

The "travel" was obvious...after the dribble, the ball was caught, the player then stepped with the right, the left and then the right again....then thew the ball.

It wasn't actually traveling however since the left foot step was OOB....as was the last right foot step. But since the OOB violation wasn't called, the ball was still live and the traveling was still possible.

Actually he bounced the ball twice. The first time you could say he batted the ball away from ball handler and the second one was an actual dribble. Then he gathered the ball (this is judgment of course) and put his foot down on the division line. The second foot landed out of bounds. You are right that this could have been a travel of the out of bounds was not called, but that assumes that they knew the clock was still running in their minds.

Peace

jbduke Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738445)
Actually he bounced the ball twice. The first time you could say he batted the ball away from ball handler and the second one was an actual dribble. Then he gathered the ball (this is judgment of course) and put his foot down on the division line. The second foot landed out of bounds. You are right that this could have been a travel of the out of bounds was not called, but that assumes that they knew the clock was still running in their minds.
Peace

I don't follow. If you think it's a travel, you blow the whistle. Period. If after doing so, you think that the final horn clearly beat your whistle, fine: ballgame. But blowing the whistle is the only chance you have there to completely eliminate the possibility of a dreadful mistake.

As the C, Walton would have been completely justified in banging a travel there. But it appears that almost immediately after the St. John's player controlled the ball, Walton looked away for some reason. I don't think he saw the whole play, so I'd be shocked if he thought that a travel was even a remote possibility there.

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 738448)
I don't follow. If you think it's a travel, you blow the whistle. Period. If after doing so, you think that the final horn clearly beat your whistle, fine: ballgame. But blowing the whistle is the only chance you have there to completely eliminate the possibility of a dreadful mistake.

So you call traveling when the clock has run out? Really??? And since you quoted what I said and highlighted, you must did not read it. You do not call anything if you are under the impression the game is over. They obviously thought the game was over or they would have looked at the monitor to see how much time to put on the clock. They did not do that, so they must have figured the game was over.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 738448)
As the C, Walton would have been completely justified in banging a travel there. But it appears that almost immediately after the St. John's player controlled the ball, Walton looked away for some reason. I don't think he saw the whole play, so I'd be shocked if he thought that a travel was even a remote possibility there.

The person that would have called this was the Lead and that was Jim Burr. He has the ball, the feet and the line all in sight, much better than anyone across the court. Sorry, I am not making that call for an assumption. And across the court that is probably an assumption as you need to judge control. Burr had a much better look if he was looking there. Not sure how Higgins (the Trail) would see he is looking at the back of the player at best.

Peace

Camron Rust Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738449)
So you call traveling when the clock has run out?

By what indication was time expired? The horn? A backboard light? A partner's whistle? Until one of those happens, they should officiate the play.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738449)



The person that would have called this was the Lead and that was Jim Burr. ...
Not sure how Higgins (the Trail) would see he is looking at the back of the player at best.

Peace

After the turnover, Burr was the Trail, Higgins (white hair) was the lead. Burr was looking at the back with Higgins having the best line view.

Camron Rust Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738445)
Actually he bounced the ball twice. The first time you could say he batted the ball away from ball handler and the second one was an actual dribble. Then he gathered the ball (this is judgment of course) and put his foot down on the division line. The second foot landed out of bounds. You are right that this could have been a travel of the out of bounds was not called, but that assumes that they knew the clock was still running in their minds.

Peace

I know he bounced it twice...once was a bat away from the other players, the other was a dribble. Everything I mentioned was after he picked it up which was after both bounces.

There was no reason to think the clock wasn't running unless someone sounded a fake horn...and I haven't seen any indication of that.

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 738451)
By what indication was time expired? The horn? A backboard light? A partner's whistle? Until one of those happens, they should officiate the play.

And what part did you read where I said they should not still be officiating? But I am sure you have been in gyms you have not heard any of those things. I know I could not tell many of these things in my little corner of the world just this week. I think they assumed that the game was over and stopped paying attention. They were obviously wrong but the only real explanation for what took place. How do you not see a kid step out of bounds and throw the ball in the air and still have time on the clock. Heck, Steve Lavin was acting like the game was over.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 738451)
After the turnover, Burr was the Trail, Higgens (white hair) was the lead. Burr was looking at the back with Higgins having the best line view.

You know they look alike to me. :)

Peace

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 738452)
I know he bounced it twice...once was a bat away from the other players, the other was a dribble. Everything I mentioned was after he picked it up which was after both bounces.

There was no reason to think the clock wasn't running unless someone sounded a fake horn...and I haven't seen any indication of that.

You really need to go back and look at the video. The St. John's player clearly did not grab the ball until he was touching the division line. The next step was out of bounds. That is two steps and if the trail thinks the game is over he is not going to make that call or guess if he has control. Just look at the video I embedded in this thread, that is clear. And the officials immediately leave the court as they clearly think the game is over. They do not even waste time as Burr is the first one in the tunnel and walks as if nothing is an issue.

Peace

just another ref Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738449)
So you call traveling when the clock has run out? Really???

So you don't make a call because you think the clock might have run out? Really? Better to make this call after the buzzer than to miss/ignore it with more than a second left.

jbduke Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 738277)
Going back and seeing the final play, I can see why a travel wasn't called by the center. I'd be fine with the no call. Still don't know how the trail and lead miss the out of bounds call.

Could you elaborate on why you think a travel wasn't called by the C?

If the center saw the whole play (I don't think he did; I think he looked away for a moment after the SJU player gained control), why wouldn't he have a travel there? He has to assume that the player is in bounds, and he hasn't heard a horn or seen an LED light. If you move the sideline over another foot, it's an obvious travel.

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 04:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 738455)
So you don't make a call because you think the clock might have run out? Really? Better to make this call after the buzzer than to miss/ignore it with more than a second left.

I do not know about you, but when the game is over, I do not blow the whistle and make an additional call. As a matter of fact when I think the game is over, I might indicate the game is over. Now based on previous posts you do not work three person it is not common for the C to make this call across the court even if time had been in play. The only person that would have likely made this call would have been the T or C and only if they had a clear view. I cannot recall ever making a call like this when the line is at play and I would call a travel completely across the court.

Peace

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 04:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 738459)
Could you elaborate on why you think a travel wasn't called by the C?

If the center saw the whole play (I don't think he did; I think he looked away for a moment after the SJU player gained control), why wouldn't he have a travel there? He has to assume that the player is in bounds, and he hasn't heard a horn or seen an LED light. If you move the sideline over another foot, it's an obvious travel.

Because the ball was on the other side of the court and there is a Lead or Trail that can clearly see the ball much better than the C. We cannot even agree here when the guy had possession and the view across the court is not as clear as it appears the ball handler grabbed the ball with his right arm away from the C.

Peace

just another ref Thu Mar 10, 2011 04:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738460)
I do not know about you, but when the game is over, I do not blow the whistle and make an additional call. As a matter of fact when I think the game is over, I might indicate the game is over.


But apparently that was the whole problem here. For some reason, they thought the game was over when it wasn't. Making one of the calls in this play, then finding out it was after the buzzer, would have been infinitely better than what actually happened.

APG Thu Mar 10, 2011 04:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 738459)
Could you elaborate on why you think a travel wasn't called by the C?

If the center saw the whole play (I don't think he did; I think he looked away for a moment after the SJU player gained control), why wouldn't he have a travel there? He has to assume that the player is in bounds, and he hasn't heard a horn or seen an LED light. If you move the sideline over another foot, it's an obvious travel.

Because I believe the new lead (after the turnover) would have the best view of when the dribble ended as opposed to the center who wouldn't have a clear view of the gather because the player gathered it on the side furthest from him. This is a call the new L and even the new T should have made.

GoodwillRef Thu Mar 10, 2011 06:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 738267)
In the video, Timmy managed to beat the young guy (Walton) in the race to the locker room.

+1...Nice!

If you but a different face and name on Tim Higgins right now and had him go to camp nobody would hire him. It is so hard for guys to say goodbye especially with the money out there...this is a tough call for the assigner to let veteran (Final Four) officials go.

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 10, 2011 07:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 738362)
And as an official, it does not matter one bit that the coaches didn't coach until the end of the game (whatever that means). Bottom line is that was a REALLY bad miss at the end of the game by this crew. We all miss calls but one of the main points that they guy who trained me stressed was to always officiate to the end of the game. It seems that this crew did not do that today.

This really can't be argued imo also. They screwed up and that fact won't change. They also deserve the flak they're getting for their officiating mistake. What they don't deserve is the personal crap some people are throwing at them. Saying their careers should be over for something like this is just plain ridiculous imo, especially when it comes from so-called fellow officials who have never worked on a stage like that.

Officials are human, not machines.

JugglingReferee Thu Mar 10, 2011 07:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KMBReferee (Post 738395)
Here's the video. I wish I knew how to embed it on this board.

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="1280" height="750" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/YlOWkNBxlTo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Rich Thu Mar 10, 2011 07:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 738494)
Check it out again. You've got them reversed. As Jeff said, it was Burr's sideline with the play coming right at him.

In 3-person that sideline belongs to the trail. Since it's in transition should the lead help? Of course.

Walton had the clock, though. He could've called a travel and he should've known there was time left.

biz Thu Mar 10, 2011 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 738494)
Check it out again. You've got them reversed. As Jeff said, it was Burr's sideline with the play coming right at him.

Incorrect. On the prior FT Higgins is the L Burr is the T and Walton is the C. So on the ensuing throw in Burr is new L and Higgins is administering the throw in as the T. When posession changes (when the St. Johns player makes the steal) Now Higgins becomes the new L and Burr is the new T.

The problem might have been (no way to know for sure, of course) that the person who was in the best position to see the OOB was the new L (Higgins - he was right on the sideline with the play coming toward him) but as we all know that's not his line, but if you look at the replay that is from behind the basket the new T (Burr) is (for some reason) coming up the floor from the middle of the paint. He isn't in a good position to see his line.

I think this COULD be a case where in transition everyone needs to expand their coverage areas and cover each others backs to make sure that the crew gets the call right. Of course there's no way to know if this is truly what happened, but I could see this being the case.

Just my $.02

Judtech Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 738499)
In 3-person that sideline belongs to the trail. Since it's in transition should the lead help? Of course.

Walton had the clock, though. He could've called a travel and he should've known there was time left.

Point of edification here, for me and I know we have discussed it BUT: When you have the "clock" at the end of a game, do you blow your whistle when time expires/horn sounds/LED light is shown? Early in my career I was told to always hit your whistle to signal the end of the game rather than just have to horn sound. Do you think that would have helped in this case? I did not see the "C" make any signal when the game was over. Since the "official" criticism was they stopped officiating a signal here would have helped abate that criticism. IMO, I would have liked to have seen the "C" come across with SOMETHING, either waving the game over, a travel or at very least an innocuous raised hand. Again, IMO, it looked like he THOUGHT something funky had happened but didn't know what and at least this would have given them a chance to huddle and sort things out before they left. Just pondering.

Raymond Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by biz (Post 738513)
Incorrect. On the prior FT Higgins is the L Burr is the T and Walton is the C. So on the ensuing throw in Burr is new L and Higgins is administering the throw in as the T. When posession changes (when the St. Johns player makes the steal) Now Higgins becomes the new L and Burr is the new T.

The problem might have been (no way to know for sure, of course) that the person who was in the best position to see the OOB was the new L (Higgins - he was right on the sideline with the play coming toward him) but as we all know that's not his line, but if you look at the replay that is from behind the basket the new T (Burr) is (for some reason) coming up the floor from the middle of the paint. He isn't in a good position to see his line.

...

Because of this:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 738415)
Why is Burr 94' from the throw-in? He is standing on the endline in the middle of the paint. He is no help on the play. If he had set up free throw line extended to help with the catch and any 3-point attempts he would have been in position to view the OOB.


Judtech Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 738415)
Why is Burr 94' from the throw-in? He is standing on the endline in the middle of the paint. He is no help on the play. If he had set up free throw line extended to help with the catch and any 3-point attempts he would have been in position to view the OOB.

+1 I was wondering if it was a new mechanic thing. It looked like he went to the middle of the lane to get a good angle to officiate the long throw. But IMO, he would have had a better angle FT line extended. It would have given him a great look had there been a drive to the basket, would have given him great position to see if there was a foul (which I don't think there was) and put him in PRIMO position for the end of the game kerfluffel.

biz Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 738522)
+1 I was wondering if it was a new mechanic thing. It looked like he went to the middle of the lane to get a good angle to officiate the long throw. But IMO, he would have had a better angle FT line extended. It would have given him a great look had there been a drive to the basket, would have given him great position to see if there was a foul (which I don't think there was) and put him in PRIMO position for the end of the game kerfluffel.

Totally agree.

I wonder if Higgins swallowed his whistle because it techincally isn't his call?

I hope that's not the case, but it might be.

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by biz (Post 738513)
Incorrect. On the prior FT Higgins is the L Burr is the T and Walton is the C. So on the ensuing throw in Burr is new L and Higgins is administering the throw in as the T. When posession changes (when the St. Johns player makes the steal) Now Higgins becomes the new L and Burr is the new T.

Upon further review, you're completely right and I had 'em reversed.

Maybe Jeff was right. All those tubby white guys do look alike. :D

Rich Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 738517)
Point of edification here, for me and I know we have discussed it BUT: When you have the "clock" at the end of a game, do you blow your whistle when time expires/horn sounds/LED light is shown? Early in my career I was told to always hit your whistle to signal the end of the game rather than just have to horn sound. Do you think that would have helped in this case? I did not see the "C" make any signal when the game was over. Since the "official" criticism was they stopped officiating a signal here would have helped abate that criticism. IMO, I would have liked to have seen the "C" come across with SOMETHING, either waving the game over, a travel or at very least an innocuous raised hand. Again, IMO, it looked like he THOUGHT something funky had happened but didn't know what and at least this would have given them a chance to huddle and sort things out before they left. Just pondering.

Yes. We always, ALWAYS have a whistle and either a stop-clock signal (if there's no shot) or a wave off if there is and it's too late. Obviously, if a shot's off in time, we have nothing until the shot either scores or doesn't (and if it doesn't we THEN blow a whistle).

I've noticed that NCAAM officials don't use their whistles as often as the NCAAW (or NFHS officials that I work with) do. Subs, for example, frequently come in without a whistle in NCAAM games that I see and I *always* whistle subs in and so do my partners.

Rich Thu Mar 10, 2011 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 738529)
Upon further review, you're completely right and I had 'em reversed.

Maybe Jeff was right. All those tubby white guys do look alike. :D

I thought maybe you were deleting old posts to keep yourself at 19999. :D

26 Year Gap Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:25am

It very well could be a PCA issue. Both new L and new T certainly had a clear view in periphery of the LED. "Be late, be needed & be right" probably should have been employed here. "Thanks for saving my butt" is a phrase I have used on occasion when someone has gotten something in my PCA because I was either straight-lined or out of position.

If any of you guys know much about Sir Alex Ferguson, then you can imagine that the supervisor might just have employed the "hair dryer treatment" in the post-game.

Just re-watched. New L looks straight-lined by SJ player AND THE COACH WHO WAS WAY OUT OF HIS BOX. Plus, a Rutgers player may have been obstructing a clear view. There must be some other views that are not on the video because I cannot see the new T anywhere. Or even the end line.

Adam Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rulesmaven (Post 738275)
Just curious and trying to learn -- what's the rule? I know there's a rule for DoG that requires a warning first. And I know that there are admin techs that can be given to "followers" for preventing the ball from being made live. But what's the rule that would allow a T for a checked in player throwing the ball into the stands during a time out if no warning had been given?

Edit -- sorry, don't know why I said "time out". I meant after the violation.

10-5-a (player T) in high school. I think (but I'm not sure) the NCAA rule is similar.

The four warnings are separate: 10-1-5c-f (under team T).

cmathews Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:12am

hmmmmm
 
Source: Officials from Rutgers-St. John's game withdraw from Big East tournament - ESPN

biz Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:31am

Not surprising...veteran guys who either did the right thing for the tournament on their own or were "asked" to do this. Either way it's the right way for it to be settled IMHO. Especially for 2 guys like Higgins and Burr who between them have about 25 Final Four appearances.

I would guess after Mr. Adams' earlier statements that Burr is in next week, but Higgins and Walton are out for the NCAA tourney.

26 Year Gap Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by biz (Post 738599)
Not surprising...veteran guys who either did the right thing for the tournament on their own or were "asked" to do this. Either way it's the right way for it to be settled IMHO. Especially for 2 guys like Higgins and Burr who between them have about 25 Final Four appearances.

I would guess after Mr. Adams' earlier statements that Burr is in next week, but Higgins and Walton are out for the NCAA tourney.

Not sure why Burr would be in if the other two are out except that none of the three events [OOB, coach way out of box, ball hurled into air] occurred in his PCA.

Larks Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:40am

Seen just now on twitter: "That's the best call they've made in 24 hours." :rolleyes:

(You have to admit, that is kinda funny)

biz Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 738603)
Not sure why Burr would be in if the other two are out except that none of the three events [OOB, coach way out of box, ball hurled into air] occurred in his PCA.

Adams went out of his way to compliment Burr on the season he was having and then "no commented" on Higgins and Walton. You don't have to read between the lines too hard to come up with the conclusion that Burr will get an NCAA assignment and the other two won't.

I would disagree with you too. Burr as the new Trail has responsibility for the line that Brownlee stepped out on so that is in his PCA, although I agree that in transition Higgins should have helped him on the OOB call.

Here's another comment from Mr. Adams, nothing earth shattering though.


NCAA supervisor pledges that refs will get younger - College Basketball News | FOX Sports on MSN

Jeremy Hohn Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:48am

Well I heard this line from a coach one time when asked why he was using aged officials that physically couldn't maintain the level of play IMO of the 5A ball that was on the floor..


"Jeremy, a s--tty known is better than an unknown..."

I think sometimes in the NCAA the same principles apply....

Rich Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by biz (Post 738607)
Adams went out of his way to compliment Burr on the season he was having and then "no commented" on Higgins and Walton. You don't have to read between the lines too hard to come up with the conclusion that Burr will get an NCAA assignment and the other two won't.

I would disagree with you too. Burr as the new Trail has responsibility for the line that Brownlee stepped out on so that is in his PCA, although I agree that in transition Higgins should have helped him on the OOB call.

Here's another comment from Mr. Adams, nothing earth shattering though.


NCAA supervisor pledges that refs will get younger - College Basketball News | FOX Sports on MSN

The last line of that article is complete horsesh!t.

dsqrddgd909 Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 738610)
The last line of that article is complete horsesh!t.

I watched this a number of times. Are you saying there wasn't contact or that the contact was incidental on the play?

Adam Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 738603)
Not sure why Burr would be in if the other two are out except that none of the three events [OOB, coach way out of box, ball hurled into air] occurred in his PCA.

The fact that Adams made the statement without having seen the video means he's probably already made up his mind about Burr and this game isn't going to affect much.

Adam Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 (Post 738613)
I watched this a number of times. Are you saying there wasn't contact or that the contact was incidental on the play?

He's saying calling it a "clear foul" is horse sht.

I still have yet to see a video of the fouls that were allegedly missed.

Rich Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 (Post 738613)
I watched this a number of times. Are you saying there wasn't contact or that the contact was incidental on the play?

I'm saying that I think the offense initiated the contact and that I thought a no call was the proper call on the play.

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 738499)
In 3-person that sideline belongs to the trail. Since it's in transition should the lead help? Of course.

Walton had the clock, though. He could've called a travel and he should've known there was time left.

In my experience the Lead and the Trail always help each other out on these plays. They are spread out all over the court and it might be who has the better look. There are not primaries the same way there are in transition.

Peace

dsqrddgd909 Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 738619)
I'm saying that I think the offense initiated the contact and that I thought a no call was the proper call on the play.

Rich, Thank you. I'm still a pup and am trying to learn how to judge contact on a play like that.

Judtech Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:22pm

The only foul I think MIGHT have been missed was the push on the rebound. But the drive to the basket and the long pass/catch were realy good No Calls IMO

Rich Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 738633)
The only foul I think MIGHT have been missed was the push on the rebound. But the drive to the basket and the long pass/catch were realy good No Calls IMO

Really? See, I think the long pass/catch was probably the one I would've called a foul (from the comfort of my stool at Hooters, which is where I actually watched the ending). Looked like the St. John's player went right through the Rutgers player to knock the ball clear.

Just goes to show that the no calls weren't simply "the Big East philosophy of no amputation, no foul" but were difficult plays to rule on.

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 738648)
Really? See, I think the long pass/catch was probably the one I would've called a foul (from the comfort of my stool at Hooters, which is where I actually watched the ending). Looked like the St. John's player went right through the Rutgers player to knock the ball clear.

They both jumped into each other. Not sure who you would call the foul on. Neither had the ball and the contact put neither at a big advantage or disadvantage. It was a poorly executed play.

Peace

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 10, 2011 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 738619)
I'm saying that I think the offense initiated the contact and that I thought a no call was the proper call on the play.

And I was on record yesterday agreeing with that. Good, experienced officials aren't going to bail out a shooter jumping into somebody. And if the defender isn't knocked down,you won't see a charge either.

When they get their evaluations on this game, that no-call will be a + imo.

Rich Thu Mar 10, 2011 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738657)
They both jumped into each other. Not sure who you would call the foul on. Neither had the ball and the contact put neither at a big advantage or disadvantage. It was a poorly executed play.

Peace

And I can see the reason for passing on it. To me, it appeared the Rutgers player had position and was bumped from behind.

We can nitpick the other stuff to death -- the only thing that got really messed up was the last 1.7 seconds.

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 10, 2011 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 738683)
We can nitpick the other stuff to death -- the only thing that got really messed up was the last 1.7 seconds.

Amen. If the last play gets called, the officiating never gets mentioned.

Adam Thu Mar 10, 2011 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 738691)
Amen. If the last play gets called, the officiating never gets mentioned.

Except by Jay Bilas who seemed more focussed on the alleged fouls that were missed in the last minute.

26 Year Gap Thu Mar 10, 2011 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by biz (Post 738607)
Adams went out of his way to compliment Burr on the season he was having and then "no commented" on Higgins and Walton. You don't have to read between the lines too hard to come up with the conclusion that Burr will get an NCAA assignment and the other two won't.

I would disagree with you too. Burr as the new Trail has responsibility for the line that Brownlee stepped out on so that is in his PCA, although I agree that in transition Higgins should have helped him on the OOB call.

Here's another comment from Mr. Adams, nothing earth shattering though.


NCAA supervisor pledges that refs will get younger - College Basketball News | FOX Sports on MSN

I'm with Rut. Who is the guy in front of the St John's bench? Higgins or Burr? THAT is the guy who was apparently straight-lined.

mbyron Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:01pm

The previously posted video showed just 1:09 of coverage; this one shows 3 minutes. It also shows the plays, one under each basket, that many feel were missed foul calls.

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/eKw6jgZVONI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

biz Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 738709)
I'm with Rut. Who is the guy in front of the St John's bench? Higgins or Burr? THAT is the guy who was apparently straight-lined.

Higgins is in front of the St John's bench.

For clarification:

Jim Burr

http://images1.statsheet.com/images/...jpg?1293797735

Tim Higgins

http://images4.statsheet.com/images/...jpg?1299501652

APG Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:06pm

On the dribble drive by the Rutgers player, I most definitely have a foul on the defender.

mbyron Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 738723)
On the dribble drive by the Rutgers player, I most definitely have a foul on the defender.

That's what I was thinking. A still photo doesn't prove anything, but this one is suggestive:

http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/790...10310at208.png

APG Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 738727)
That's what I was thinking. A still photo doesn't prove anything, but this one is suggestive:

http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/790...10310at208.png

That to me was the second easiest call. I was absolutely shocked there was no call and a bit confused how some are defending the no call on this one.

Raymond Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by biz (Post 738721)
Higgins is in front of the St John's bench.

For clarification:

Jim Burr

http://images1.statsheet.com/images/...jpg?1293797735

Tim Higgins

http://images4.statsheet.com/images/...jpg?1299501652

Why no picture of Earl Walton? :D

OldFanDan Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:24pm

http://images1.statsheet.com/images/...jpg?1299501652

Earl Walton

http://images1.statsheet.com/images/...jpg?1299501652

JugglingReferee Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:26pm

Those 3 look alike to me.

btaylor64 Thu Mar 10, 2011 02:57pm

I like the no call on the dribble drive and on the half court pass. They both look like tweeners to me. I would have been ok with a foul as well. I really like the no call on the rebounding action on the free throws, I just think the ball last goes off the white team player from behind. Just wanted to throw my .02 in on this 13 page thread! ha

Judtech Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 738728)
That to me was the second easiest call. I was absolutely shocked there was no call and a bit confused how some are defending the no call on this one.

Even in that picture the defender has a whole lot of ball. The reason I liked it being passed on was b/c of who initiated the contact. The Rutgers player was standing hands up when the SJ player, IMO, jumped into him first. Usually, if I have my hands in the air and someone pokes me in the gut,my hands go down. That is what I think happened on this play.
As for the rebounding foul, the principle of "How did the player end up on the ground" comes into play. IMO, had the State University of New Jersey player not been contacted by the SJ player, he would have NOT gone to the ground. Thus, the SJ player pushed the Rutgers player.

APG Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 738744)
Even in that picture the defender has a whole lot of ball. The reason I liked it being passed on was b/c of who initiated the contact. The Rutgers player was standing hands up when the SJ player, IMO, jumped into him first. Usually, if I have my hands in the air and someone pokes me in the gut,my hands go down. That is what I think happened on this play.
As for the rebounding foul, the principle of "How did the player end up on the ground" comes into play. IMO, had the State University of New Jersey player not been contacted by the SJ player, he would have NOT gone to the ground. Thus, the SJ player pushed the Rutgers player.

See I have the defender bring his hands down before the contact occurred. It looked like a whole of arm to me.

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 738727)
That's what I was thinking. A still photo doesn't prove anything, but this one is suggestive:

http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/790...10310at208.png

You're right. A still photo doesn't prove anything. I just watched it again several times and all that did was re-inforce my original impression of the play.

You can't use verticality when a shooter jumps into a defender with LGP. As always, it's a judgment call, bit imo they made the right judgment when they no-called it. You shouldn't bail out any shooter who jumps into their defender imo.

26 Year Gap Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by biz (Post 738721)
Higgins is in front of the St John's bench.

For clarification:

Jim Burr

http://images1.statsheet.com/images/...jpg?1293797735

Tim Higgins

http://images4.statsheet.com/images/...jpg?1299501652

Thanks. Then we are in agreement. I just had the names mixed up. Higgins was straight-lined and was unable to assist Burr, who should have been in position to see the violation. Walton, for his part, not seeing the first OOB step, surely could have whistled the second. And a whistle, even slightly after 1.7, could have allowed the proper amount of time to be put on the clock.

Judtech Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:22pm

:eek:
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 738753)
You're right. A still photo doesn't prove anything. I just watched it again several times and all that did was re-inforce my original impression of the play.

You can't use verticality when a shooter jumps into a defender with LGP. As always, it's a judgment call, bit imo they made the right judgment when they no-called it. You shouldn't bail out any shooter who jumps into their defender imo.

Apropos of nothing, as I read this there was a bright flash of lightening and a loud crack of thunder. Seriously. Maybe I should change my thoughts on the play and bring the universe back into alignment

26 Year Gap Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 738753)
You're right. A still photo doesn't prove anything. I just watched it again several times and all that did was re-inforce my original impression of the play.

You can't use verticality when a shooter jumps into a defender with LGP. As always, it's a judgment call, bit imo they made the right judgment when they no-called it. You shouldn't bail out any shooter who jumps into their defender imo.

+1 Offensive player initiated the contact. And once that happened, to call something on the defender who had LGP would be wrong. It really is not different from a foul cannot cause a violation.

SE Minnestoa Re Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:25pm

I've reffed high school for over 30 years. Never had a desire to be a college ref although I have filled in a few times at the Division 3 level. So I know I am not in these guys league. I am also certain, if there were four TV cameras at every game I have worked and we had this many people reviewing and reviewing, I have likely made awful calls at the end of a close game that would make this one look good.

However since I haven't seen video, ignorance is bliss.

26 Year Gap Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:25pm

That guy looks just like Rut to me. ;)

Camron Rust Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 738759)
+1 Offensive player initiated the contact. And once that happened, to call something on the defender who had LGP would be wrong. It really is not different from a foul cannot cause a violation.

Only if you judge that the contact by the shooter caused the defender to give up the vertical position. The defender doesn't have the right to collapse on the shooter just because there was legal contact.

fullor30 Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 738757)
Thanks. Then we are in agreement. I just had the names mixed up. Higgins was straight-lined and was unable to assist Burr, who should have been in position to see the violation. Walton, for his part, not seeing the first OOB step, surely could have whistled the second. And a whistle, even slightly after 1.7, could have allowed the proper amount of time to be put on the clock.



It was Higgin's line and I disagree he was straightlined. If a player blocked his view(which didn't happen since he was on the court by about 5-6 feet) that's different. Straightlined to me is a competitive match up which you are unable to have an angle on offense/defense. This wasn't the case. I don't see how Walton could make an across the court OOB call, it would be a guess, and he did the right thing, he trusted his partners.

fullor30 Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 738728)
That to me was the second easiest call. I was absolutely shocked there was no call and a bit confused how some are defending the no call on this one.

I can live with the call either way. To echo others, the dribbler initiates contact.

Raymond Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 738766)
It was Higgin's line and I disagree he was straightlined. If a player blocked his view(which didn't happen since he was on the court by about 5-6 feet) that's different. Straightlined to me is a competitive match up which you are unable to have an angle on offense/defense. This wasn't the case. I don't see how Walton could make an across the court OOB, it would be a guess and he did the right thing, he trusted his partners.

After St. John's stole the ball it became Burr's line. But Burr was not in position to see the line b/c of how he set up on the initial throw-in. Higgins should have had secondary help on the line.

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:41pm

Darnnit, you beat me to it!!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 738762)
That guy looks just like Rut to me. ;)

I was just about to say "I am surprised no one said I was working the game." After all people say that to me all the time. :D

Peace

26 Year Gap Thu Mar 10, 2011 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 738766)
It was Higgin's line and I disagree he was straightlined. If a player blocked his view(which didn't happen since he was on the court by about 5-6 feet) that's different. Straightlined to me is a competitive match up which you are unable to have an angle on offense/defense. This wasn't the case. I don't see how Walton could make an across the court OOB call, it would be a guess, and he did the right thing, he trusted his partners.

It appears to me that there were 3 people in the line of sight for Higgins: 1) the St John's player near Higgins, 2) the Rutgers player near the spot of the uncalled OOB violation, and 3) Lavin out of his box. Higgins was not on the line, but without the benefit of his angle, it is difficult to tell if 1, 2 and/or 3 interfered with his view. He did not appear to move to improve. I will defer to college officials as far as whose line it was, as I am not familiar with NCAA PCAs with respect to differences from NFHS. Without knowing it, I think Higgins had secondary responsibility there.

Adam Thu Mar 10, 2011 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738779)
I was just about to say "I am surprised no one said I was working the game." After all people say that to me all the time. :D

Peace

Crap, I thought I saw you at the grocery store yesterday in Denver, but that's a whole other thread.

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2011 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 738795)
Crap, I thought I saw you at the grocery store yesterday in Denver, but that's a whole other thread.

I think I see you at the local store all the time. Not just yesterday. :D

Peace

Adam Thu Mar 10, 2011 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 738798)
I think I see you at the local store all the time. Not just yesterday. :D

Peace

Just like Higgins, only younger and with darker hair.

I don't joke about this with everyone since it might offend some I don't know well, but I have a white colleage in my guard unit, whose husband is black, and we joke about it all the time.

Her: "Did you see my husband earlier?"

Me: "How would I know?"

mbyron Thu Mar 10, 2011 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 738732)
Those 3 look alike to me.

That's cuz you're Canadian, and all Americans look alike to you people. :D

Camron Rust Thu Mar 10, 2011 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 738766)
I don't see how Walton could make an across the court OOB call, it would be a guess, and he did the right thing, he trusted his partners.

Walton had good reason to not call the OOB but there was no good reason to not call the traveling...that was his call and his PCA. Unless he's heard a horn or a whistle, he has to assume that the player is still inbounds and that there is time on the clock and make that call.

It would be convenient to try to lay blame on any one or two of the crew but in reality, all three made errors on that play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1