The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2002, 12:18pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Ron
Looking to clarify rule 5-8-3a...............

The way I interpret the rule, if a ball is being passed from A1 to A2 (ie.- the ball's left A1's hands, and is on it's way to A2), a timeout cannot be granted until A2 gains control of the ball. Am I reading this rule correctly? Thanks.
Yes - and you are interpreting it correctly, too. To legally have a timeout granted, the ball must either be in player control or at the disposal of a player or be dead ( the ball, not the player )

There is team, but not player control during a pass. For there to be player control, a player must be either dribbling or holding a live ball inbounds.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1