![]() |
Looking to clarify rule 5-8-3a...............
The way I interpret the rule, if a ball is being passed from A1 to A2 (ie.- the ball's left A1's hands, and is on it's way to A2), a timeout cannot be granted until A2 gains control of the ball. Am I reading this rule correctly? Thanks. |
Quote:
There is team, but not player control during a pass. For there to be player control, a player must be either dribbling or holding a live ball inbounds. |
Mr. Padgett is, as usual, completely correct. Player control ends during a pass and time-out cannot be granted when there is no player control.
|
Someone pointed this out to me after I had thought I'd found a devious way to avoid a turnover -- quickly call timeout after throwing a bad pass before someone else touches the ball.
Preventing my devious play, I think, is the reason for the rule. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53am. |