The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 19, 2002, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 504
In our association we are instructed to only switch on shooting fouls. When we call a foul, we are to clear the players to a point where we have a clear line of sight with the table (but at least past the free-throw line extended).

For a TO, the official who grants also reports to the table. The official "with the ball" handles the throw-in when play resumes. So, if the ball is in my area and I grant a timeout; I report it to the table, place the ball where the throw-in will occur (unless it is in front of the bench) and take my designated position (top of key for 30 sec., low box opposite side if full).

So in your situation, if it is a shooting foul that was reported, the partner would be taking care of the ball, I just report and go to my spot. If it is a non-shooting foul, I would still go to my spot but what I do after the TO would depend on where the ball was when play was stopped by my whistle.

Do I have you sufficiently confused?
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault...I said I was going to blame you.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1