The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling Question # 623 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6317-traveling-question-623-a.html)

Adam Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Ok, so it can be started with both, but a point guard who while bringing the ball up touches the ball with both hands has violated, correct?

Thanks in advance!

Not until he dribbles again. Doesn't matter if it's the pg or the center.

bob jenkins Tue Oct 09, 2007 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Why not? He can't dribble with two hands. He can only start a dribble with two. Maybe I wasn't clear. I meant he dribbled with two hands sometime after starting his dribble. I know that the rules apply equally to all players.

Here's the problem: "Dribbled with two hands" is not a basketball official's phrase. We care about when a dribble starts (and whether it's leagal to do so), and how a dribble ends.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1