The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling Question # 623 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6317-traveling-question-623-a.html)

btaylor64 Sun Oct 07, 2007 09:45pm

Does Anybody besides me disagree that ref in PA is wrong in saying that because it is a two handed pass and he goes and retrieves it (without dribbling) that it is a travel?

When did that become illegal? What about power dribbles i.e., post player pounds the ball hard to the floor ONE TIME. That is not an illegal dribble, so what makes this?

The player has every right to go recover the ball w/o being penalized. Maybe I'm missing something here. If so, please enlighten me.

JRutledge Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
Does Anybody besides me disagree that ref in PA is wrong in saying that because it is a two handed pass and he goes and retrieves it (without dribbling) that it is a travel?

His post was almost 5 years ago. Who really cares at this point? :p

Peace

just another ref Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
Does Anybody besides me disagree that ref in PA is wrong in saying that because it is a two handed pass and he goes and retrieves it (without dribbling) that it is a travel?

When did that become illegal?


He did not say it was a travel. He said it was an illegal dribble, which is correct.

In the op, A1 had already used his dribble before the pass attempt.

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
Does Anybody besides me disagree that ref in PA is wrong in saying that because it is a two handed pass and he goes and retrieves it (without dribbling) that it is a travel?

When did that become illegal? What about power dribbles i.e., post player pounds the ball hard to the floor ONE TIME. That is not an illegal dribble, so what makes this?

The player has every right to go recover the ball w/o being penalized. Maybe I'm missing something here. If so, please enlighten me.

What you missing is understanding the rules. A two-handed pass is not a fumble that can be legally recovered.

The player <b>ended</b> his first dribble when he touched it with both hands. If he <b>then</b> did a power dribble ONE TIME, that power dribble sureasheck would be an illegal <b>SECOND</b> dribble.

btaylor64 Mon Oct 08, 2007 05:08pm

Ok yeah, my bad, i didn't read the sitch right. I missed the part about him dribbling. Sorry. Yes definitely an illegal dribble.

Daryl H. Long Mon Oct 08, 2007 06:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Bonus question: In which year was JR resurrected? :D

Nevada. Is this a trick question or do you know something I don't?

JR still lists his location as HELL.

rwest Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:23pm

Power Dribble?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
Does Anybody besides me disagree that ref in PA is wrong in saying that because it is a two handed pass and he goes and retrieves it (without dribbling) that it is a travel?

When did that become illegal? What about power dribbles i.e., post player pounds the ball hard to the floor ONE TIME. That is not an illegal dribble, so what makes this?

The player has every right to go recover the ball w/o being penalized. Maybe I'm missing something here. If so, please enlighten me.

By power dribble do you mean a dribble with two hands on the ball? Why is that legal? Would you allow a point guard bringing the ball up to dribble the ball with two hands? If not, why allow it to the big man in the paint? Is there some rule that allows this?

bob jenkins Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
By power dribble do you mean a dribble with two hands on the ball? Why is that legal? Would you allow a point guard bringing the ball up to dribble the ball with two hands? If not, why allow it to the big man in the paint? Is there some rule that allows this?

I'ts legal if it's only one bounce. You can start the dribble by pushing it to the floor with both hands. You can end the dribble by catching it with both hands. You can't dribble again (unless ...)

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
By power dribble do you mean a dribble with two hands on the ball? Why is that legal?

A power dribble is <b>started</b> with two hands. Perfectly legal. It can also be <b>ended</b> with two hands, also perfectly legal.

rwest Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:39pm

Started only
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
A power dribble is <b>started</b> with two hands. Perfectly legal. It can also be <b>ended</b> with two hands, also perfectly legal.

Ok, so it can be started with both, but a point guard who while bringing the ball up touches the ball with both hands has violated, correct?

Thanks in advance!

bob jenkins Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Ok, so it can be started with both, but a point guard who while bringing the ball up touches the ball with both hands has violated, correct?

Thanks in advance!

The point guard has not yet violated.

rwest Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The point guard has not yet violated.

Why not? He can't dribble with two hands. He can only start a dribble with two. Maybe I wasn't clear. I meant he dribbled with two hands sometime after starting his dribble. I know that the rules apply equally to all players.

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Ok, so it can be started with both, but a point guard who while bringing the ball up touches the ball with both hands has violated, correct?

Nope, touching the ball with both hands simply ends the dribble. It isn't a violation <i>per se</i>.If they dribble again, it is an illegal second dribble. If they end the dribble with a 2-handed fumble, they can go get the ball as long as they also don't dribble again.

Make sense?

rwest Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Nope, touching the ball with both hands simply ends the dribble. If they dribble again, it is an illegal second dribble. If they end the dribble with a 2-handed fumble, they can go get the ball as long as they also don't dribble again.

Make sense?

Yep, I'm with you now!

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
I meant he dribbled with two hands sometime after starting his dribble.

If he ended the dribble by touching the ball with 2 hands, then it would be a violation if he dribbled again....even once.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1