The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling Question # 623 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6317-traveling-question-623-a.html)

Larks Tue Nov 19, 2002 03:21pm

A1 is dribbling while running in transition and attempts a pass to A2. A1 does not stop running as he makes the pass.

A2 does not see the pass and the ball becmoes loose. A1 recovers the ball about 15 feet away from where he made the pass attempt. At this point, A1 does not pick up either foot or dribble.

whaddya got?

Larks
VIT


RookieDude Tue Nov 19, 2002 03:24pm

Traveling...

RD

Ref in PA Tue Nov 19, 2002 04:01pm

traveling
 
two handed pass - illegal dribble upon recovery
ball came to rest in one hand for a pass - illegal dribble
ball batted toward teammate - nothing.

This all assumes that no one else touched the ball other than A1 - you say the ball became "loose".

Camron Rust Tue Nov 19, 2002 06:42pm

Re: traveling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Ref in PA
two handed pass - illegal dribble upon recovery
ball came to rest in one hand for a pass - illegal dribble
ball batted toward teammate - nothing.

This all assumes that no one else touched the ball other than A1 - you say the ball became "loose".

And, as you implied, if it did touch someone else, there is no call to be made.

JO Sun Nov 24, 2002 09:53am

Traveling
 
Read casebook 9.5.3 for support....once a pass has touched a "player"...doesn't matter whether the player is an opponent or a team mate...a new dribble may be started.

Hope this Helps...JO

BktBallRef Sun Nov 24, 2002 12:29pm

That's what Camron said...5 days ago! :D

JO Sun Nov 24, 2002 02:48pm

AND what I added was a rule book notation....what did you add with your last comment?

Hope this helps...JO

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 24, 2002 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JO
AND what I added was a rule book notation....what did you add with your last comment?

Hope this helps...JO

A little bit of humor maybe,JO.Note the "smilie" that was attached to the post.

Hope this helps...JR.

Coach Bill Fri Oct 05, 2007 03:52pm

What if in Lark's example, A1 attempted to pick up the ball with both hands before making a pass, but fumbled it 15 feet away. Can he go pick it up, but not dribble? Is that what's called an interrupted dribble?

Thanks,

Coach Bill

Camron Rust Fri Oct 05, 2007 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill
What if in Lark's example, A1 attempted to pick up the ball with both hands before making a pass, but fumbled it 15 feet away. Can he go pick it up, but not dribble? Is that what's called an interrupted dribble?

Thanks,

Coach Bill

He may pick it up. But, it's not considered an interrupted dribber, its a fumble.

Adam Fri Oct 05, 2007 06:14pm

Had this exact play last season in a varsity game. A1 is racing down the court and attempts to grab the ball for a two-handed pass to A2. The ball slips out of his hand and momentum carries them both about 15 feet down court before he retrieves it and passes to A3.

I was trail, and the play happened right in front of the C as it was transitioning into his area from mine; he'd just crossed half court. B coach caught me on my way back down court after that and asked if it I thought it was a travel.

My answer was easy; looked like a fumble from my angle, coach. He nodded his head and dropped the topic.

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 05, 2007 09:01pm

Did anybody notice that this thread has been resurrected from 2002?

Splute Fri Oct 05, 2007 09:40pm

Yep... thought that was very interesting. :)

Nevadaref Fri Oct 05, 2007 11:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Did anybody notice that this thread has been resurrected from 2002?

Bonus question: In which year was JR resurrected? :D

JRutledge Sat Oct 06, 2007 02:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Did anybody notice that this thread has been resurrected from 2002?

That would mean that if Larks asked that question today, it would be "Traveling Question #1,873,234."

Peace

btaylor64 Sun Oct 07, 2007 09:45pm

Does Anybody besides me disagree that ref in PA is wrong in saying that because it is a two handed pass and he goes and retrieves it (without dribbling) that it is a travel?

When did that become illegal? What about power dribbles i.e., post player pounds the ball hard to the floor ONE TIME. That is not an illegal dribble, so what makes this?

The player has every right to go recover the ball w/o being penalized. Maybe I'm missing something here. If so, please enlighten me.

JRutledge Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
Does Anybody besides me disagree that ref in PA is wrong in saying that because it is a two handed pass and he goes and retrieves it (without dribbling) that it is a travel?

His post was almost 5 years ago. Who really cares at this point? :p

Peace

just another ref Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
Does Anybody besides me disagree that ref in PA is wrong in saying that because it is a two handed pass and he goes and retrieves it (without dribbling) that it is a travel?

When did that become illegal?


He did not say it was a travel. He said it was an illegal dribble, which is correct.

In the op, A1 had already used his dribble before the pass attempt.

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
Does Anybody besides me disagree that ref in PA is wrong in saying that because it is a two handed pass and he goes and retrieves it (without dribbling) that it is a travel?

When did that become illegal? What about power dribbles i.e., post player pounds the ball hard to the floor ONE TIME. That is not an illegal dribble, so what makes this?

The player has every right to go recover the ball w/o being penalized. Maybe I'm missing something here. If so, please enlighten me.

What you missing is understanding the rules. A two-handed pass is not a fumble that can be legally recovered.

The player <b>ended</b> his first dribble when he touched it with both hands. If he <b>then</b> did a power dribble ONE TIME, that power dribble sureasheck would be an illegal <b>SECOND</b> dribble.

btaylor64 Mon Oct 08, 2007 05:08pm

Ok yeah, my bad, i didn't read the sitch right. I missed the part about him dribbling. Sorry. Yes definitely an illegal dribble.

Daryl H. Long Mon Oct 08, 2007 06:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Bonus question: In which year was JR resurrected? :D

Nevada. Is this a trick question or do you know something I don't?

JR still lists his location as HELL.

rwest Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:23pm

Power Dribble?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
Does Anybody besides me disagree that ref in PA is wrong in saying that because it is a two handed pass and he goes and retrieves it (without dribbling) that it is a travel?

When did that become illegal? What about power dribbles i.e., post player pounds the ball hard to the floor ONE TIME. That is not an illegal dribble, so what makes this?

The player has every right to go recover the ball w/o being penalized. Maybe I'm missing something here. If so, please enlighten me.

By power dribble do you mean a dribble with two hands on the ball? Why is that legal? Would you allow a point guard bringing the ball up to dribble the ball with two hands? If not, why allow it to the big man in the paint? Is there some rule that allows this?

bob jenkins Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
By power dribble do you mean a dribble with two hands on the ball? Why is that legal? Would you allow a point guard bringing the ball up to dribble the ball with two hands? If not, why allow it to the big man in the paint? Is there some rule that allows this?

I'ts legal if it's only one bounce. You can start the dribble by pushing it to the floor with both hands. You can end the dribble by catching it with both hands. You can't dribble again (unless ...)

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
By power dribble do you mean a dribble with two hands on the ball? Why is that legal?

A power dribble is <b>started</b> with two hands. Perfectly legal. It can also be <b>ended</b> with two hands, also perfectly legal.

rwest Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:39pm

Started only
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
A power dribble is <b>started</b> with two hands. Perfectly legal. It can also be <b>ended</b> with two hands, also perfectly legal.

Ok, so it can be started with both, but a point guard who while bringing the ball up touches the ball with both hands has violated, correct?

Thanks in advance!

bob jenkins Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Ok, so it can be started with both, but a point guard who while bringing the ball up touches the ball with both hands has violated, correct?

Thanks in advance!

The point guard has not yet violated.

rwest Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The point guard has not yet violated.

Why not? He can't dribble with two hands. He can only start a dribble with two. Maybe I wasn't clear. I meant he dribbled with two hands sometime after starting his dribble. I know that the rules apply equally to all players.

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Ok, so it can be started with both, but a point guard who while bringing the ball up touches the ball with both hands has violated, correct?

Nope, touching the ball with both hands simply ends the dribble. It isn't a violation <i>per se</i>.If they dribble again, it is an illegal second dribble. If they end the dribble with a 2-handed fumble, they can go get the ball as long as they also don't dribble again.

Make sense?

rwest Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Nope, touching the ball with both hands simply ends the dribble. If they dribble again, it is an illegal second dribble. If they end the dribble with a 2-handed fumble, they can go get the ball as long as they also don't dribble again.

Make sense?

Yep, I'm with you now!

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
I meant he dribbled with two hands sometime after starting his dribble.

If he ended the dribble by touching the ball with 2 hands, then it would be a violation if he dribbled again....even once.

Adam Tue Oct 09, 2007 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Ok, so it can be started with both, but a point guard who while bringing the ball up touches the ball with both hands has violated, correct?

Thanks in advance!

Not until he dribbles again. Doesn't matter if it's the pg or the center.

bob jenkins Tue Oct 09, 2007 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Why not? He can't dribble with two hands. He can only start a dribble with two. Maybe I wasn't clear. I meant he dribbled with two hands sometime after starting his dribble. I know that the rules apply equally to all players.

Here's the problem: "Dribbled with two hands" is not a basketball official's phrase. We care about when a dribble starts (and whether it's leagal to do so), and how a dribble ends.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1