The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Nova / Syracuse rescinded intentional (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/63034-nova-syracuse-rescinded-intentional.html)

BktBallRef Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 732729)
You sure? I saw Jamie Luckie on the floor.

No, you didn't.

Syracuse Orange vs Villanova Wildcats - February 21, 2011 - College Basketball - StatSheet.com

http://suathletics.syr.edu/documents...21.pdf?id=4862

stiffler3492 Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:17am

Fair enough, my bad. They look alike. You should tell Sean McDonough then too.

jbduke Tue Feb 22, 2011 01:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 732740)
Fair enough, my bad. They look alike. You should tell Sean McDonough then too.

It wasn't your bad. Doesn't matter what any website or box score says, Ed Corbett was not on that court tonight, at least not during any highlights ESPN showed.

Crew was indeed Cahill, Luckie, and Stephens. And FWIW, Luckie was the C to Stephens's L on the rescinded intentional foul.

stiffler3492 Tue Feb 22, 2011 01:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 732747)
It wasn't your bad. Doesn't matter what any website or box score says, Ed Corbett was not on that court tonight, at least not during any highlights ESPN showed.

Crew was indeed Cahill, Luckie, and Stephens. And FWIW, Luckie was the C to Stephens's L on the rescinded intentional foul.

Now I'm just plain confused. The box score and Stat Sheet says Ed Corbett, but you and Sean McDonough say Jamie Luckie...

jbduke Tue Feb 22, 2011 01:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 732751)
Now I'm just plain confused. The box score and Stat Sheet says Ed Corbett, but you and Sean McDonough say Jamie Luckie...


One of these men has probably the second-sleightest build of any of the top-level DI officials (Mike Sanzere). The other is Jamie Luckie.

Mistaking Corbett for Luckie would be like mistaking John Stockton for Billy Paultz.

In other words, I know who I saw;)

GoodwillRef Tue Feb 22, 2011 06:56am

It was Luckie...not Corbett.

mbyron Tue Feb 22, 2011 07:45am

Video here (don't see an embed code, sorry):

Syracuse Orange vs. Villanova Wildcats - Recap - February 21, 2011 - ESPN

Jurassic Referee Tue Feb 22, 2011 07:57am

Oh My.....
 
According to this report, the official denied making the intentional foul call in the first place. Unfortunately for him, his signal for that call was caught on tape. The speculation was that he was over-ruled.

The disappearing intentional foul: Syracuse's win over Villanova was full of bizarre plays | syracuse.com

Adam Tue Feb 22, 2011 08:36am

Is it possible he signaled, then retracted the intentional right away only to go look at the tape?

Jurassic Referee Tue Feb 22, 2011 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 732833)
Is it possible he signaled, then retracted the intentional right away only to go look at the tape?

Who knows? The only facts we know for sure is that he gave the signal for an intentional foul but an intentional foul was never assessed. And that's what looks bad. Methinks he was awfully lucky that Syracuse ended up winning. That lessens the speculation.

stiffler3492 Tue Feb 22, 2011 09:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 732833)
Is it possible he signaled, then retracted the intentional right away only to go look at the tape?

They went to the video after they retracted the intentional to determine whether or not it was flargrant.

Raymond Tue Feb 22, 2011 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 732675)
That's my point. And I thought it was a perfectly appropriate intentional call, too. And the L clearly, *clearly* signaled the intentional.

My guess is that the C talked the L out of it and it was never reported to the table. Then they usedthe review to see if they should "upgrade" it back to an intentional or to a flagrant. If that's considered an OK way to back out of an intentional, well, what's the point of the preliminary signal in the first place?

I'd love to see Adams take on these calls.

If this is what they did then he would not be happy. He put out a video in which an official signalled a foul (apparent elbow foul) and then after replay review they rescinded the foul altogther. He didn't like that at all.

upprdeck Tue Feb 22, 2011 09:56am

why did they not call the violation in the game when the Vill player reached over the end line and stopped the inbounds pass? Triche was asking for the call to be made. I dont think i have ever seen it called in a game and it happens all the time under the basket. in our local games this year we have had several times where the D has knocked the ball out of the in bounds players hands with no call.. seems like a pretty simple rule to enforce but seldom does.

Adam Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by upprdeck (Post 732850)
why did they not call the violation in the game when the Vill player reached over the end line and stopped the inbounds pass? Triche was asking for the call to be made. I dont think i have ever seen it called in a game and it happens all the time under the basket. in our local games this year we have had several times where the D has knocked the ball out of the in bounds players hands with no call.. seems like a pretty simple rule to enforce but seldom does.

Didn't see the play, so this is just a question: Did the defender reach across before or after the pass was released?

Also, WRT your local games; usually what happens when it's no-called is the thrower has reached the ball over the OOB plane.

Indianaref Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by upprdeck (Post 732850)
why did they not call the violation in the game when the Vill player reached over the end line and stopped the inbounds pass? Triche was asking for the call to be made. I dont think i have ever seen it called in a game and it happens all the time under the basket. in our local games this year we have had several times where the D has knocked the ball out of the in bounds players hands with no call.. seems like a pretty simple rule to enforce but seldom does.

High School rules it would be a Tech, not a violation, if a player reaches across and knocks ball out of thrower's hands. It is nothing if a player reaches across and knocks down a inbound pass when the ball is out of the thrower's hands. Not sure what NCAA is.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1