![]() |
|
|
|||
NevadaRef had a great explanation some time ago.
From what I recall from that post, free throws only cancel with free throws due to the same nature of the penalty. So the penalties from the on-court players only cancel with the penalties from the on-court players, and the penalties from the off-court players only cancel with the penalties from the off-court players. So yes, I believe that A shoots 2, then B shoots, then B get the throw-in.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
-Josh |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Case Book 10.4.5 A deals with a Fight situation in which the T's are equal in number, and therefore off-setting. The ball will be put into play at the POI.
10.4.5 B deals with a situation in which the T's on the players involved are off-setting, but a T is charged to A's coach, and B will shoot 2 and get the ball at the division line opposite the table. 10.4.5 C, E and F deal with off-setting numbers of T's, and POI for the resumption of play. 10.4.5 D indicates how to cancel the off-setting T's, with a remaining T causing 2 shots, and a division-line throw-in opposite the table, for the T that has no corresponding simultaneous T by an opponent. |
|
|||
that is (or was) his opinion. I disagree, and would offset "across" categories. So, I'd have no FTs and POI in the OP.
|
|
|||
Case (e) implies that simultaneous refers to the substitutes coming off of bench.
So then this demands that simultaneous in (d) could only apply to a corresponding substitute player. It can then be inferred that a fight on-court and substitutes leaving their bench are not deemed to be simultaneous. So if my first statement is correct, then Nevada was correct. Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
But one (and possibly two) of the on-court players was fighting during a live-ball.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() By definition, simultaneous fouls occur at approximately the same time, not the exact same time. Six flagrant fouls, all occurring within a few seconds of each other. Sure sounds like approximately the same time to me. The rules say nothing about player techs being penalized separately from substitute technicals. It makes no difference whatsoever. Sure sounds like simultaneous fouls to me.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
Rather, I would be interested to know your thoughts on the language used and the conclusion in my post #8.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fight! Fight! | lrpalmer3 | Basketball | 18 | Wed Jun 13, 2007 08:24pm |
Cat Fight! | LarryS | Basketball | 29 | Fri Jan 26, 2007 06:19pm |
fight | ChrisSportsFan | Basketball | 8 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 09:37am |
Nearly a Fight! | JeffRef | Basketball | 36 | Wed Jul 18, 2001 09:16am |
Fight Situation - NCAA rule | hoopsrefBC | Basketball | 9 | Tue Dec 19, 2000 03:21am |