![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
We stay table side after reporting foul, so I wound up almost in front of his bench for the 1-1 attempts - could've forced a switch and in hindsight probably should have. I suppose I could have ignored the "question" as loaded as it was, but it was a question so I replied to it as concisely as I could. |
|
|||
|
I forget who said it in another thread, RSBQ maybe helps you to understand it better but it is just camp speak for advantage/disadvantage. Hand checking is one of those things that I know it when I see it and I will call it.
|
|
|||
|
2010-2011 POE
Can someone explain to this 2nd year official, how to interpret #3? I understand all contact is not a foul. 3. PERIMETER PLAY. Two illegal actions are taking place on the perimeter of the court that are particularly problematic. First, defensive players are illegally using their hands to “check” the ball handler/dribbler. Secondly, offensive players are palming the ball to elude the defender. Both of these illegal tactics are going uncalled, which in turn, promotes further illegal actions (see Point of Emphasis #1). A. Hand checking. 1) Hand checking is any tactic using the hands or arms that allows a player, on offense or defense, to control (hold, impede, push, divert, slow or prevent) the movement of an opposing player. 2) Hand checking is a foul and is not incidental contact. 3) Defensive players shall not have hand(s) on the offensive player. When a player has a hand on, two hands on or jabs a hand or forearm on an opponent, it is a foul. 4) When a player contacts an opponent with his or her hands as an aid in starting, stopping, driving around, defending a screen, controlling or anticipating the opponent’s next move, it is a foul. Players may not place their hands on an opponent with or without the ball. 5) Much of the roughness in the interscholastic game today is a direct result of not assessing the proper penalty when illegal contact with the hand(s) occurs. |
|
|||
|
NCAAW has made it clear that "handchecking" does NOT require RSBQ / Displacement / Ad-disad to be a foul. A hand remaining on, two hands, continuous hands, an extended arm-bar is a foul. A single "hot stove" touch is allowed, as long as it does not displace / impede / reroute.
Given who is in charge, I wouldn't be surprised to see that philosophy trickle down. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I thought we refereed the result of contact ![]() But I'm versatile, I can adjust depending upon what a particular boss wants from night to night.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Well said. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I think you need to either ignore the comment or issue the T there (with the first the better option imo). You gave him enough rope for him to hang himself with. Ultimately his fault, but we should avoid handing out the rope if we can. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Game management doesn't include looking for a reason not to call these "book" fouls. The rules have been in place for umpty-ump years. There's no reason for teams not to know what their pre-game responsibilities are. |
|
|||
|
Snaqs, after reading some of the posts this morning, all I'm wondering is whatever happened to "forget about worrying what the coaches and fans think or want and just call the damn game the way the rulesmakers want us to"? It ain't rocket surgery.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|