The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Guys read the article (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/62301-guys-read-article.html)

agr8zebra Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:53am

Guys read the article
 
Guys and Gals,
Post what you would have done, point out the errors...

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/7...r-victory.html

agr8zebra Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:54am

High school boys basketball: Refs' error leads to Green River victory | Deseret News

BillyMac Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:07am

Mr. Peabody's Wayback Machine ???
 
7-6-6: When the ball is awarded to the wrong team, the mistake must be
rectified before the throw-in ends.

SNIPERBBB Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:11am

Once the throw-in ended, its too late to correct the error. It is not a correctable error situation. The points shouldn't of been erased or reinstated as correctable error does apply.

APG Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:13am

Sounds like a bunch of people that don't know the rule.

This is not a correctable error. Once the throw-in has ended, we can not correct the error of the wrong team in bounding the ball. The 3 point basket that resulted can not be taken back because it doesn't fit any of the five correctable error criteria. The fact that the association thought the initial ruling was correct is alarming.

Second, there's no way I'm even entertaining a principal bringing out a rule book for us to read...much less five minutes later.

SNIPERBBB Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:31am

I' m guessing the reporter didnt talk to the association's interpreter. Not exactly sure why the association would of talked to the reporter to start with.

SAJ Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 729250)
The fact that the association thought the initial ruling was correct is alarming.

this information came directly from the losing coach...not the association

"After a conversation with the UHSAA on Friday, Baldwin (losing coach) said it was the opinion of the association that the first ruling was correct."

APG Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAJ (Post 729268)
this information came directly from the losing coach...not the association

"After a conversation with the UHSAA on Friday, Baldwin (losing coach) said it was the opinion of the association that the first ruling was correct."

You are correct. I would think the writer would get a quote from the appropriate person with the UHSAA...especially if a coach is going to go on the record as saying they supported a clear misapplication of a rule.

bainsey Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:06pm

First of all, communicate. Know the direction and team color after every single time out and intermission, and communicate it with your partner(s).

More importantly, know the damn rules! How can varsity officials not know that you can't correct throw-in errors such as these?! To miss a call or two is one thing. To have a principal pull out the book and school you on the rules is inexcusable.

BillyMac Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:36pm

Left, Right, Front, Back ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 729282)
First of all, communicate. Know the direction and team color after every single time out and intermission, and communicate it with your partner(s).

We've been taught to hold the ball on on either side, or in front of us, or behind us, during timeouts. It feels silly holding the ball behind us, but everytime I hear one of these horror stories, it makes it a little bit easier to do it.

bainsey Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 729286)
It feels silly holding the ball behind us, but everytime I hear one of these horror stories, it makes it a little bit easier to do it.

+1

I had to show a rookie that mechanic this year. It's awkward, but effective.

Just make sure there aren't any buddies behind you either. The ball tends to get poked.

rockyroad Sat Feb 12, 2011 01:24pm

So they mess up on who gets the throw-in. Then they have a "do over" and take points off/put time back on. Then they have a "do over do over" and put the points back on. Does that about sum it all up?

My thoughts/comments: WTF???:eek:

AKOFL Sat Feb 12, 2011 01:28pm

I like how the article ended with they will use officials from "out of the area". Like they were somehow biased to one team. That kind of stuff gets the hackles up.:mad:

agr8zebra Sat Feb 12, 2011 01:41pm

This was a 1A game, The Smallest Class in Utah, I know this was just a 2-man game. The officials could be from Utah but I would bet they were from CO, AZ or NM as this school is in extreme SE Utah near the 4-Corners area where they get the official from those other states because of proximity.

I think any official should know the new rule regarding the inbound and then again know rule 2-10 and removing points from the scorebook.

Sounds like the communication wasn't the best, but then the story is just one-side.

Morale to the story: acknowledge TO, report the TO, then communicate to your partner(s) the direction we will be going following the TO and the position on the court where we will inbound.

Adam Sat Feb 12, 2011 07:03pm

Love the "leads to Green River victory" part of the headline. As if a 3 point shot in the third quarter is that big of a deal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1