![]() |
Guys read the article
Guys and Gals,
Post what you would have done, point out the errors... http://www.deseretnews.com/article/7...r-victory.html |
|
Mr. Peabody's Wayback Machine ???
7-6-6: When the ball is awarded to the wrong team, the mistake must be
rectified before the throw-in ends. |
Once the throw-in ended, its too late to correct the error. It is not a correctable error situation. The points shouldn't of been erased or reinstated as correctable error does apply.
|
Sounds like a bunch of people that don't know the rule.
This is not a correctable error. Once the throw-in has ended, we can not correct the error of the wrong team in bounding the ball. The 3 point basket that resulted can not be taken back because it doesn't fit any of the five correctable error criteria. The fact that the association thought the initial ruling was correct is alarming. Second, there's no way I'm even entertaining a principal bringing out a rule book for us to read...much less five minutes later. |
I' m guessing the reporter didnt talk to the association's interpreter. Not exactly sure why the association would of talked to the reporter to start with.
|
Quote:
"After a conversation with the UHSAA on Friday, Baldwin (losing coach) said it was the opinion of the association that the first ruling was correct." |
Quote:
|
First of all, communicate. Know the direction and team color after every single time out and intermission, and communicate it with your partner(s).
More importantly, know the damn rules! How can varsity officials not know that you can't correct throw-in errors such as these?! To miss a call or two is one thing. To have a principal pull out the book and school you on the rules is inexcusable. |
Left, Right, Front, Back ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
I had to show a rookie that mechanic this year. It's awkward, but effective. Just make sure there aren't any buddies behind you either. The ball tends to get poked. |
So they mess up on who gets the throw-in. Then they have a "do over" and take points off/put time back on. Then they have a "do over do over" and put the points back on. Does that about sum it all up?
My thoughts/comments: WTF???:eek: |
I like how the article ended with they will use officials from "out of the area". Like they were somehow biased to one team. That kind of stuff gets the hackles up.:mad:
|
This was a 1A game, The Smallest Class in Utah, I know this was just a 2-man game. The officials could be from Utah but I would bet they were from CO, AZ or NM as this school is in extreme SE Utah near the 4-Corners area where they get the official from those other states because of proximity.
I think any official should know the new rule regarding the inbound and then again know rule 2-10 and removing points from the scorebook. Sounds like the communication wasn't the best, but then the story is just one-side. Morale to the story: acknowledge TO, report the TO, then communicate to your partner(s) the direction we will be going following the TO and the position on the court where we will inbound. |
Love the "leads to Green River victory" part of the headline. As if a 3 point shot in the third quarter is that big of a deal.
|
Quote:
|
I have been emailing the writer, she spoke with our Association Dude and I am asking her about her conversation with our Assoc. Dude. I asked her to clarify something, once I get that clarification I will post some more on this.
From the comments of the Article I have learned, It wasn't a principal who went to the table with the rule book but an Official from the Green River Area, who happened to be at the game with a rule book in his car. Thus the time span from the error in the 3rd Qtr to presenting of the Rule Book at the start of the 4th Qtr, the guy had to go to the car. I sure wouldn't want to work with this Official, he might be over talking to coaches while I am administering FT's and saying about me that I don't know what and do or something like that. The only thing I have ever done to help correct and error was at a State Playoff game where the table had the Possession Arrow pointing the wrong direction, BTW this hurt my home school as they would have gotten the ball had I not brought this to the attention of my buddies working the game. |
If an official whom I don't know were to bring me a rule book during the game, he could finish reading it from his car.
"Bye bye azzhole." Understandable why this jerk wasn't working that night, and instead drove to an away game that took hours to drive. |
Quote:
Losing coach is reported to have said: "I can't say we lost on that one call, we can always do things better, but it was a momentum swing and I'm disappointed in how it was handled." That seems a (surprisingly) fair statement to me. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38pm. |