The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 09, 2011, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemer View Post
Are you saying they called a violation?

BTW Dan, I was reading through another post in which you said a varsity coach had been removed from the freshman game and then allowed to coach the varsity game. Any chance that happed at RHS?
No violation was called.

And no...not at Richland. But, it was at RVHS...a visiting coach.

BTW...might be in your neck of the woods in a couple weeks.
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 09, 2011, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Just ask if anybody can get it down. When they do, it's basket interference. Administer the next free throw.
Then wouldn't you have T-time under 10-9-3? (Presuming it's a defender, of course.)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 09, 2011, 02:02pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
Then wouldn't you have T-time under 10-9-3? (Presuming it's a defender, of course.)
Nope. Read the rule again carefully. What's the T for? Did that happen in our scenario? Why or why not?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 09, 2011, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Nope. Read the rule again carefully. What's the T for? Did that happen in our scenario? Why or why not?
Oops. Meant to type 10-3-9 anyway.

So upon re-reading definitions are we saying this wouldn't be considered "outside the cylinder" during a FTA? (4-22) Ergo no GT? Thus no 10-3-9 infraction?

Or is it that 4-6-1 (or 4-6-3) applies here to make it BI? Still a bit
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 09, 2011, 02:19pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
Or is it that 4-6-1 applies here to make it BI? Still a bit
Correct. No T, because it's not GT. It is BI. Ball is on the basket (ring, flange, or net), so touching the basket or the ball is basket interference.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 09, 2011, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Correct. No T, because it's not GT. It is BI. Ball is on the basket (ring, flange, or net), so touching the basket or the ball is basket interference.
Thanks for the reminder. For some reason this didn't ever come into play even once in my girls feeder or freshmen games last weekend.
Some day, some day ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big sigh or relief......... gordon30307 Basketball 23 Wed Sep 03, 2008 05:39pm
Officiating.com Relief Fund Brad Softball 0 Fri Sep 14, 2001 12:25pm
Officiating.com Relief Fund Brad Football 0 Fri Sep 14, 2001 12:25pm
Officiating.com Relief Fund Brad Baseball 0 Fri Sep 14, 2001 12:24pm
Officiating.com Relief Fund Brad Basketball 0 Fri Sep 14, 2001 12:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1