![]() |
|
|
|||
She wanted too. The girl wasnt even on the bench and was in street clothes. According to 4-33-4, "A team member is a member of bench personnel who is in uniform and is eligible to become a player"
Why yes a manager is bench personnel, but she was not a team member by this rule. Unless I am misreading, which I could be. And is it legal for her to grab someone's jersey who is already listed in the book as that number? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I don't see why not. All you would have to do is ensure that the old 21 has her number changed in the book.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Okay. The situation seemed unfair to me. In allowing the team to add a manager. One of our veteran guys here said it should not be allowed also. But everyones comments here are appreciated. Thanks
|
|
|||
Just because a guy is a veteran doesn't mean he knows the rules well. I worked with a veteran one night - he was the R and I was U1. Had I not known the rules that night we would have had a disaster because a situation came up that he did not know how to handle but it was a textbook case. Our assigner and supervisor was advised of the situation and he found out that the R didn't know the rule - how embarrassing!! (I am scheduled to call with him this week - I will be the R this time even thought he as several years of calling games on me (we are assigned the R position usually due to experience - the most experienced get the R slot but obviously not always). So just because a guy has many years of "experience" doesn't mean he really knows the game that well.
|
|
|||
Quote:
We as officials don't get to call the game according to what we think might be fair or not. Like 'em or not, we're supposed to follow the rules. In this situation, you went directly against NFHS rules and made up your very own rules. That's always wrong. I hope the comments that you got here were more than appreciated. I hope they'll stop you from doing anything like that in the future. |
|
|||
Yes, she can. The coach told you 21 was injured and that the manager would be taking that uniform. You add the name, give the 21 to the new player and assess the T. The injured player is not returning.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Deaf School | CDurham | Basketball | 26 | Tue Feb 01, 2011 03:12pm |
Deaf Tournaments | Ref Ump Welsch | Softball | 12 | Sun Apr 05, 2009 02:36pm |
T on a Deaf Coach | SMEngmann | Basketball | 15 | Wed Dec 15, 2004 06:59pm |
Deaf Ref | ChuckElias | Basketball | 4 | Mon Feb 10, 2003 04:51pm |
Profanity and a deaf ear! | AK ref SE | Basketball | 35 | Sun Mar 04, 2001 11:40pm |