The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS rules on scoring into an opponent's goal (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61419-nfhs-rules-scoring-into-opponents-goal.html)

sseltser Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 723628)
Interesting, is the rule worded so that any attempt at the wrong basket is a violation; or only those where the player knows it's the wrong basket?

2 things:

I thought that Robinson's "shot" was a fraction of a second after the horn, which is why id didn't count. Maybe a violation was called, but I don't remember it.

I think the purpose of the violation is to prevent players from getting the phantom 10th rebound when nobody is around to complete their triple or double - double.

26 Year Gap Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser (Post 723642)
2 things:

I thought that Robinson's "shot" was a fraction of a second after the horn, which is why id didn't count. Maybe a violation was called, but I don't remember it.

I think the purpose of the violation is to prevent players from getting the phantom 10th rebound when nobody is around to complete their triple or double - double.

But, if it isn't a try, then there cannot be a rebound.

Adam Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 723650)
But, if it isn't a try, then there cannot be a rebound.

Right, the existing rules at the NCAA and NFHS level would prevent this, too. I believe Ricky Davis tried this a few years ago to no avail. A travel or illegal dribble call will quickly work on this.

APG Sun Jan 30, 2011 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 723628)
Interesting, is the rule worded so that any attempt at the wrong basket is a violation; or only those where the player knows it's the wrong basket?

NBA
Rule 5, Section I

d. A field goal accidentally scored in an opponent’s basket shall be added to the opponent’s score, credited to the opposing player nearest the player whose actions caused the ball to enter the basket.

e. It is a violation for a player to attempt a field goal at an opponent’s basket. The opposing team will be awarded the ball at the free throw line extended.

sselter, you may be correct when you say the play was after the buzzer. But that play would of most definitely been waved off if there was more time on the clock.

26, you're right in that it wouldn't be counted as a rebound. There was a situation in the NBA, a few years back where Ricky Davis was attempting to get the last rebound for a triple double and tried tossing it off an opponent's basket thinking he'd get a rebound for it.

<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/MezCclCSjNw" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="390" width="480"></iframe>

Interesting enough, this should of been a traveling violation since he picked up the pivot foot before he released the ball for a dribble. And sorry for the lame music in the video.

bearclause Sun Jan 30, 2011 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 723628)
Interesting, is the rule worded so that any attempt at the wrong basket is a violation; or only those where the player knows it's the wrong basket?

I was looking up the NCAA rules, and they have some interesting language on this possibility, if they inadvertently go in the wrong direction. Apparently any scoring that happened in the wrong baskets count as if they had gone in the correct direction.

Quote:

Rule 5. Section 1. Art. 3. When the official(s) permits a team to go in the wrong direction, and when the error is discovered all activity and time consumed shall count as though each team had gone in the proper direction. Play shall be resumed with each team going in the proper direction.
Sounds somewhat like I heard the way baseball used to operate in its infancy, although the BB rule seems to state it would be inadvertent to allow players to "choose" the wrong direction. If the bases were empty a batter could optionally head for 1st base or 3rd base. Once the bases had players, they went in a defined direction until the bases were cleared.

BillyMac Sun Jan 30, 2011 03:00pm

Buy Me Some Peanuts And Cracker Jack ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bearclause (Post 723754)
If the bases were empty a batter could optionally head for 1st base or 3rd base.

Certainly takes one advantage of being a left handed hitter away.

Adam Sun Jan 30, 2011 06:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bearclause (Post 723754)
I was looking up the NCAA rules, and they have some interesting language on this possibility, if they inadvertently go in the wrong direction. Apparently any scoring that happened in the wrong baskets count as if they had gone in the correct direction.

Yep, and the rule is the same in high school (NFHS).

bob jenkins Sun Jan 30, 2011 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 723628)
Interesting, is the rule worded so that any attempt at the wrong basket is a violation; or only those where the player knows it's the wrong basket?

Called so it doesn't affect the betting line. (Team up by 20 points; line is 19; player shoots at wrong basket as time expires and team wins by 18 -- someone is mad).

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 723284)
Yes. Anytime a live ball enters the hoop, points are credited to the appropriate team.

Not true. a throw-in is a live ball, and no points are scored if the ball enters the basket.

BillyMac Sun Jan 30, 2011 09:48pm

Just A Guess ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 724003)
Called so it doesn't affect the betting line.

The Tim Donaghy Rule?

zakman2005000 Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 723284)
Yes. Anytime a live ball enters the hoop, points are credited to the appropriate team.

The inference on this statement is that anytime a live ball enters the basket that points are awarded. Surely that isn't what you meant?

APG Mon Jan 31, 2011 01:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zakman2005000 (Post 724049)
The inference on this statement is that anytime a live ball enters the basket that points are awarded. Surely that isn't what you meant?

Err...you are correct. A live ball from inbounds is the correct.

APG Mon Jan 31, 2011 01:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 724014)
The Tim Donaghy Rule?

This rule has been in the book before the Tim Donaghy situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1