The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dead ball Holding - sitch (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6094-dead-ball-holding-sitch.html)

Dan_ref Fri Oct 25, 2002 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Test time: Team B is in the bonus. A1 has the ball for
the throw-in. A2 holds B2 to get A3 open for the inbounds
pass. Foul is called. What happens next under NF & NCAA
rules?
You bury the survivors in Canada!
Thanks. Now I have to clean adult beverage off my monitor, and keyboard, and desk....:D

Geez!
Pass the Windex. :(
[/B]
I'm still trying to figure out why I can't pass the last guy in the race.

http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/mica/monk.gif

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 25, 2002 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
I'm still trying to figure out why I can't pass the last guy in the race.[/B][/QUOTE]Oooooh,that'd be painful!:eek:

May I suggest a mild laxative?

DrakeM Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:09pm

Thanks Chuck.:D
Thinking more about this play, the ball HAD been released by the thrower.
And while I absolutely agree about not being "over-officious", like I said, the defender had hold of the offensive players jersey and it was stretched quite far.
By rule ( and trust me, I'm not a "rule book" official)
and intentional foul is one where an "obvious advantage" is gained. That's what happened on this play. (I went right to my rule book after the game, ready to sho the coach the "rule" if he wanted to "talk."
By the way, even though we don't want to be over-officious,
we also can't be afraid to make the tough call when it is the RIGHT call, and needs to be made, NO MATTER WHAT THE TIME AND SCORE IS! IMO:)


Dan_ref Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
I'm still trying to figure out why I can't pass the last guy in the race.[/B]
Oooooh,that'd be painful!:eek:

May I suggest a mild laxative? [/B][/QUOTE]

Looks like it's just we 2 here now...I weighed Woody the
other day, 70 lbs! 6 months old...quite a pooch. he's
loving the brisk weather & the falling leaves.

ChuckElias Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DrakeM
Thanks Chuck.:D
Thinking more about this play, the ball HAD been released by the thrower.

Drake, I know we usually talk NCAA and NF, but by the NBA book (or WNBA book) does it matter if the ball has been released? I don't have my Q&A with me. Even if the throw-in has been released, would it still be considered an away-from-the-play foul? I just can't remember if the away-from-the-play provision ends when the ball is released or when it is touched inbounds.

Quote:

even though we don't want to be over-officious,
we also can't be afraid to make the tough call when it is the RIGHT call, and needs to be made, NO MATTER WHAT THE TIME AND SCORE IS! IMO:)

Couldn't agree more. Well said.

Chuck

ChuckElias Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Test time: Team B is in the bonus. A1 has the ball for
the throw-in. A2 holds B2 to get A3 open for the inbounds
pass. Foul is called. What happens next under NF & NCAA
rules?
1)NF-Personal foul on A2. B2 will shoot bonus FT's.
2)NCAA-team control foul on A2.B gets ball OOB for throw in.(I think).

How'd I do on the NCAA one,Slappy? [/B]
Ya done good, JR. Dan is napping, I think. :p But you're exactly right about the NCAA ruling. If, as in the original scenario, the official still had the ball, then it would be an intentional technical foul and B would shoot 2 FTs and get the ball at midcourt.

Chuck

DrakeM Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:33pm

Actually on THIS particular play, whether or not the ball
had been released WOULD factor into the play. If the ball had been released, then this would be just a normal foul, since the ball was intended for the player that was held.
If the ball was not released, then we could have an away from the play foul, or if the foul was committed across the floor on someone "not involved in the play".
Or if we're not under two minutes, then we have the "foul before the ball is released" option, which is two shots regardless of the penalty situation.;)

DrakeM Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:36pm

By the way Chuck,
Did you ever get paid for your USBL game?

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
Looks like it's just we 2 here now...I weighed Woody the
other day, 70 lbs! 6 months old...quite a pooch. he's
loving the brisk weather & the falling leaves. [/B][/QUOTE]Wow!! I was gonna ask ya how my favorite little ball-less buddy was doing.Ever notice how eunuchs really pile on the weight after....?
Seriously,you thought of getting a saddle for him for the kids? Or maybe when Chuck comes to visit?

I am now running for cover!:D Nighty-night!

ChuckElias Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:59pm

Drake, yes, I got paid for that last USBL game. Got the check about a month ago. Maybe I'll go back after all :)

Where is the rule for getting two shots on a foul committed before the ball is released on a throw-in with more than 2 minutes left in the game? I don't remember ever hearing or reading that. Help me out? Thanks

DrakeM Fri Oct 25, 2002 10:40pm

Chuck,
Rule 12B Sec I-(8)

DrakeM Fri Oct 25, 2002 10:42pm

The exception is the away from the play foul.

ChuckElias Sat Oct 26, 2002 10:38am

Found it, Drake. Thanks. Also pulled out my Q&A and the foul under 2 minutes after the ball has been released on the throw-in is the very first first question in the book. LOL. Common foul. Good call.

Chuck

Stan Sat Oct 26, 2002 11:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Lead is about to administer an endline throw-in to Team A, but Lead is still holding the ball.
A2 prematurely starts her part of the "In-bound" play and gets grabbed by B2.
Center made a holding call.

What's your call?

No call because of 4-19-1-note, this rule may also apply to another post discussing false double fouls.

Jurassic Referee Sat Oct 26, 2002 11:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by Stan
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Lead is about to administer an endline throw-in to Team A, but Lead is still holding the ball.
A2 prematurely starts her part of the "In-bound" play and gets grabbed by B2.
Center made a holding call.

What's your call?

No call because of 4-19-1-note, this rule may also apply to another post discussing false double fouls.

Reference is not applicable,Stan,unless you combine it with R4-19-5c.Correct call is an intentional technical foul because the ball is dead in this sitch.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1