![]() |
Hmmm, I wasn't thinking in terms of last second (not sure why, so don't ask.) 5-2-5 says nothing about multiple touches, it only says a player can't gain control. I'm not sure you can discount the basket if the last touch happens before the horn sounds.
|
Quote:
You are also, correctly, now stating that "it does not say two players CAN tap the ball and still score." ...I with Snaq's...HMMMMM... Having said that...I'm probably NOT allowing the basket because I had some kind of count on. |
All the rule says is that a player cannot gain control, and that only a tap can score. If the two taps are close enough together, I see no reason to disallow the basket.
I also would have a count, and if I get to "one thousand" in my mind between taps, no basket. |
I guess you can say per 5-2-5:
"In this situation only A tap could score." A meaning singular as opposed to plural? Edit: Of course the first touch may not have been a tap? |
You could say that, but even without your edit, I think it's a stretch to think the rules committee was that precise on purpose here.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Let's hope that never evolves. |
Quote:
Same concept as if there were 3.2 seconds on the clock. I count to 4. |
Quote:
I AM NOW DAN...with 21 years officiating experience...and still learning!:D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the taps are sufficiently close together such that the time from the first touch to the final touch is less than 0.3, the shot counts. If the final touch is by the defense, only the first tap must beat the 0.3 time. The only thing this rule is intended to preclude is a catch and shoot. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
but, aren't you the one that started your sentence with "How the He11"... seems kinda, how do you say it? Snarky to me...just saying.;) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43am. |