The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   butt ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60717-butt-ball.html)

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 719731)
even tho it looked bad I would say it is no more than a jump stop. Even if he jumps and lands on two feet its not a violation. Lands on both feet he just can't use a pivot. If he landed one foot then the other the first to hit the floor is the pivot. It sounds like an ugly play that the fans would scream about if you didn't call it but it wasn't anything more than an ugly legal play. But then again had to see it to really know.

Assuming he gathered the ball in the air, the part in red is wrong.

The only time he can't use a pivot is if he has to land on both feet. If he's allowed to land one foot at a time, but instead lands on both feet, then either foot may be the pivot.

johnsonboys03 Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 719735)
Assuming he gathered the ball in the air, the part in red is wrong.

The only time he can't use a pivot is if he has to land on both feet. If he's allowed to land one foot at a time, but instead lands on both feet, then either foot may be the pivot.

Wait what? I need to re read that rule. That makes a lot more sense, I could never figure out why you wouldn't be allowed but the way I read it you couldn't. That is also the way it is taught here???

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 719737)
Wait what? I need to re read that rule. That makes a lot more sense, I could never figure out why you wouldn't be allowed but the way I read it you couldn't. That is also the way it is taught here???

Three sorts of jump stops.
1. Player gathers in the air and lands on two feet. Same as if he had gather with two feet on the floor. Either foot may be a pivot.

2. Player gathers in the air, lands on one foot, jumps and lands on both feet simultaneously. Neither foot may be a pivot, but either or both may be lifted as long as it/they don't come back down prior to shooting, passing, or asking for a timeout.

3. Player gathers, while moving, with one foot on the floor, jumps and lands on both feet. Same restrictions as #2.

johnsonboys03 Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 719739)
Three sorts of jump stops.
1. Player gathers in the air and lands on two feet. Same as if he had gather with two feet on the floor. Either foot may be a pivot.

2. Player gathers in the air, lands on one foot, jumps and lands on both feet simultaneously. Neither foot may be a pivot, but either or both may be lifted as long as it/they don't come back down prior to shooting, passing, or asking for a timeout.

3. Player gathers, while moving, with one foot on the floor, jumps and lands on both feet. Same restrictions as #2.

Ok yeah that is the way I read it. I guess maybe I just missunderstood what you were saying.

johnsonboys03 Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 719742)
Ok yeah that is the way I read it. I guess maybe I just missunderstood what you were saying.

I missed the gathering in the air part.

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 719743)
I missed the gathering in the air part.

Well then, the part in blue below is wrong. :D That would be a travel.

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 719731)
even tho it looked bad I would say it is no more than a jump stop. Even if he jumps and lands on two feet its not a violation. Lands on both feet he just can't use a pivot. If he landed one foot then the other the first to hit the floor is the pivot. It sounds like an ugly play that the fans would scream about if you didn't call it but it wasn't anything more than an ugly legal play. But then again had to see it to really know.


johnsonboys03 Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 719745)
Well then, the part in blue below is wrong. :D That would be a travel.

OK? Let me make sure I'm not confused lol. In the OP I read that A1 was dribbling then leaped I'm assuming off of one foot and then landed then the ball came loose.

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:49pm

yeah, I think the consensus is he jumps, then gathers the ball, then lands and the ball comes loose. He can recover this fumble and establish a pivot foot based on how he recovers the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1