The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   butt ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60717-butt-ball.html)

rsl Wed Jan 19, 2011 01:42am

butt ball
 
A player jumps and tries to make behind the back pass off the dribble, and ends up planting the ball squarely on his butt. As he lands, he drops the ball and then recovers it.

Is this a violation?

I called travel because the ball never left his hand and his pivot foot returned to the floor.

But, he did momentarily loose control when he essentially blocked his own pass with his backside, so now I am wondering.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 19, 2011 04:59am

Travel. While he didn't have general purpose control of what he was trying to do, he did have "player control" since the ball never left his hand(s).

SamIAm Wed Jan 19, 2011 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsl (Post 718734)
A player jumps and tries to make behind the back pass off the dribble, and ends up planting the ball squarely on his butt. As he lands, he drops the ball and then recovers it.

Is this a violation?

I called travel because the ball never left his hand and his pivot foot returned to the floor.

But, he did momentarily loose control when he essentially blocked his own pass with his backside, so now I am wondering.

When did the dribble end, before or after he jumped?

bob jenkins Wed Jan 19, 2011 08:55am

I read it as a fumble, but I think a better description of the timing would help.

rsl Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 718915)
When did the dribble end, before or after he jumped?

The attempted pass came off the dribble, just before he jumped. The return to the floor is what caused the ball to come loose.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsl (Post 719060)
The attempted pass came off the dribble, just before he jumped. The return to the floor is what caused the ball to come loose.

Yabut.....

You can pass without ending a dribble.

We still don't know if/when the dribble ended. That info is needed to give a definitive answer.

Adam Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsl (Post 719060)
The attempted pass came off the dribble, just before he jumped. The return to the floor is what caused the ball to come loose.

Well then, the ground can't cause a fumble.

First Down!

JRutledge Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:58am

I got nothing until I get more information.

Peace

rsl Wed Jan 19, 2011 02:25pm

I gotta admit, I don't know when the dribble ended.

Ball bounces up and contacts hand, he jumps. At that point he could still push the ball back down, but instead whips the ball around his back for the pass and pins it on his back. Then he lands, and the ball falls to the floor, he turns around and grabs it.

Given that I can't say when the dribble ended, JRut is probably right- I should have had nothing.

How does that saying go- Just 'cause it looks funny doesn't mean it is illegal.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 19, 2011 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsl (Post 719182)
I gotta admit, I don't know when the dribble ended.

Ball bounces up and contacts hand, he jumps. At that point he could still push the ball back down, but instead whips the ball around his back for the pass and pins it on his back.

Dribble might end here.

Quote:

Then he lands,
allowable

[quote and the ball falls to the floor,[/quote]

fumble

Quote:

he turns around and grabs it.
Allowed to recover fumble.

rsl Wed Jan 19, 2011 05:51pm

Thanks!

BktBallRef Wed Jan 19, 2011 06:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 719077)
Well then, the ground can't cause a fumble.

No, but it can cause an incomplete pass. :)

Cobra Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 719330)
No, but it can cause an incomplete pass. :)

In football the ground can cause fumbles.

Welpe Thu Jan 20, 2011 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 719077)
Well then, the ground can't cause a fumble.

First Down!

Yes it can. :D

It seems to me the dribble ended when it was pinned to the player's back.

johnsonboys03 Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:00pm

even tho it looked bad I would say it is no more than a jump stop. Even if he jumps and lands on two feet its not a violation. Lands on both feet he just can't use a pivot. If he landed one foot then the other the first to hit the floor is the pivot. It sounds like an ugly play that the fans would scream about if you didn't call it but it wasn't anything more than an ugly legal play. But then again had to see it to really know.

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 719731)
even tho it looked bad I would say it is no more than a jump stop. Even if he jumps and lands on two feet its not a violation. Lands on both feet he just can't use a pivot. If he landed one foot then the other the first to hit the floor is the pivot. It sounds like an ugly play that the fans would scream about if you didn't call it but it wasn't anything more than an ugly legal play. But then again had to see it to really know.

Assuming he gathered the ball in the air, the part in red is wrong.

The only time he can't use a pivot is if he has to land on both feet. If he's allowed to land one foot at a time, but instead lands on both feet, then either foot may be the pivot.

johnsonboys03 Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 719735)
Assuming he gathered the ball in the air, the part in red is wrong.

The only time he can't use a pivot is if he has to land on both feet. If he's allowed to land one foot at a time, but instead lands on both feet, then either foot may be the pivot.

Wait what? I need to re read that rule. That makes a lot more sense, I could never figure out why you wouldn't be allowed but the way I read it you couldn't. That is also the way it is taught here???

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 719737)
Wait what? I need to re read that rule. That makes a lot more sense, I could never figure out why you wouldn't be allowed but the way I read it you couldn't. That is also the way it is taught here???

Three sorts of jump stops.
1. Player gathers in the air and lands on two feet. Same as if he had gather with two feet on the floor. Either foot may be a pivot.

2. Player gathers in the air, lands on one foot, jumps and lands on both feet simultaneously. Neither foot may be a pivot, but either or both may be lifted as long as it/they don't come back down prior to shooting, passing, or asking for a timeout.

3. Player gathers, while moving, with one foot on the floor, jumps and lands on both feet. Same restrictions as #2.

johnsonboys03 Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 719739)
Three sorts of jump stops.
1. Player gathers in the air and lands on two feet. Same as if he had gather with two feet on the floor. Either foot may be a pivot.

2. Player gathers in the air, lands on one foot, jumps and lands on both feet simultaneously. Neither foot may be a pivot, but either or both may be lifted as long as it/they don't come back down prior to shooting, passing, or asking for a timeout.

3. Player gathers, while moving, with one foot on the floor, jumps and lands on both feet. Same restrictions as #2.

Ok yeah that is the way I read it. I guess maybe I just missunderstood what you were saying.

johnsonboys03 Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 719742)
Ok yeah that is the way I read it. I guess maybe I just missunderstood what you were saying.

I missed the gathering in the air part.

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 719743)
I missed the gathering in the air part.

Well then, the part in blue below is wrong. :D That would be a travel.

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 719731)
even tho it looked bad I would say it is no more than a jump stop. Even if he jumps and lands on two feet its not a violation. Lands on both feet he just can't use a pivot. If he landed one foot then the other the first to hit the floor is the pivot. It sounds like an ugly play that the fans would scream about if you didn't call it but it wasn't anything more than an ugly legal play. But then again had to see it to really know.


johnsonboys03 Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 719745)
Well then, the part in blue below is wrong. :D That would be a travel.

OK? Let me make sure I'm not confused lol. In the OP I read that A1 was dribbling then leaped I'm assuming off of one foot and then landed then the ball came loose.

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:49pm

yeah, I think the consensus is he jumps, then gathers the ball, then lands and the ball comes loose. He can recover this fumble and establish a pivot foot based on how he recovers the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1