![]() |
Now what do we do?
This situation occured during a GV Christmas tournament tonight.
To start the second half, the referee of the two person crew blew his whistle, handed the ball to A1 at the division line. The ball was inbounded to A2 who dribbled toward her own goal, attemped a shot, and was fouled in the process. The calling official then looked up at the clock and notices it is still counting down from 10 seconds remaining in the halftime break. I will stop the action following this opps moment to comment; Yes, the officials were wrong to put the ball in play without checking that the clock had been reset and showed 8:00. Yes, the table should have recognized the error and blown the horn before the ball had been inbounded, but none of this happened. What should happened next has been the subject of a debate in the officials locker room. One side says this is a do-over, and the second half should be re-started since the halftime period had not ended. The other side says both teams, the coaches, and the officials were ready to go and nobody was put at disadvantage by the starting of the second half even though the clock was not properly reset. The offended player should be awarded her free throws, and some amount of time should be removed from the clock beyond the 8:00 mark. I agree with the second senerio, but haven't put in the effort to justify it with a rules backup except I've always been told "there are no do-overs in basketball" So esteemed members of the forum - What is your take on this? |
To my knowledge, it's not covered by the rules. What does that tell you? :)
I would count all the action and take time off the clock if I had definite knoeledge. |
Quote:
|
Years ago, we had this happen to start the second half of a local jr. high boys game. Visitors had the ball. Home stole the throw-in pass, and the buzzer sounded. Play stopped. We whistled the play dead, took one second off the clock, and gave home the ball. Inexcusable, yes, but really of no great consequence, this time.
|
Just like any other clock error, you fix the clock, if you have definite knowledge, and continue where you stopped the game to deal with the clock. No do over.
|
Quote:
|
Administering official for the throw-in should make visual contact with partner[s] AND timer prior to putting the ball in play. Doesn't always happen, but it can help avoid situations like in the OP.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
the referee to the table. The timer informs the referee that by mistake the period started with: (a) more; or (b) less than four minutes on the clock. RULING: In (a), if the mistake is discovered before the clock reaches four minutes, the clock shall be set at four minutes and play resumes. If discovered after reaching four minutes, no correction is allowed. In (b), the appropriate amount of time shall be added to reflect a four-minute period. (2-5-5) |
Quote:
Let's say, hypothetically, that A1 took the ball and ran the wrong way in this situation. B1, also confused, follows A1 to the basket and fouls her, thinking she's supposed to be defending that particular basket. Would I be correct in ruling that since A1 shot at the wrong basket, it's not a try, therefore the foul would result in a designated spot throw in for A (assuming A1 misses the shot)? The aforementioned timing issues don't apply to my hypothetical. |
Team Fouls, Free Throws ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Still Dead ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
Thanks for the reminder.. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01am. |