The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Now what do we do? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60314-now-what-do-we-do.html)

ranjo Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:11am

Now what do we do?
 
This situation occured during a GV Christmas tournament tonight.

To start the second half, the referee of the two person crew blew his whistle, handed the ball to A1 at the division line. The ball was inbounded to A2 who dribbled toward her own goal, attemped a shot, and was fouled in the process. The calling official then looked up at the clock and notices it is still counting down from 10 seconds remaining in the halftime break.

I will stop the action following this opps moment to comment; Yes, the officials were wrong to put the ball in play without checking that the clock had been reset and showed 8:00. Yes, the table should have recognized the error and blown the horn before the ball had been inbounded, but none of this happened.

What should happened next has been the subject of a debate in the officials locker room. One side says this is a do-over, and the second half should be re-started since the halftime period had not ended. The other side says both teams, the coaches, and the officials were ready to go and nobody was put at disadvantage by the starting of the second half even though the clock was not properly reset. The offended player should be awarded her free throws, and some amount of time should be removed from the clock beyond the 8:00 mark.

I agree with the second senerio, but haven't put in the effort to justify it with a rules backup except I've always been told "there are no do-overs in basketball"

So esteemed members of the forum - What is your take on this?

BktBallRef Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:14am

To my knowledge, it's not covered by the rules. What does that tell you? :)

I would count all the action and take time off the clock if I had definite knoeledge.

TimTaylor Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 711078)
To my knowledge, it's not covered by the rules. What does that tell you? :)

I would count all the action and take time off the clock if I had definite knowledge.

agree

just another ref Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:19am

Years ago, we had this happen to start the second half of a local jr. high boys game. Visitors had the ball. Home stole the throw-in pass, and the buzzer sounded. Play stopped. We whistled the play dead, took one second off the clock, and gave home the ball. Inexcusable, yes, but really of no great consequence, this time.

Camron Rust Fri Dec 31, 2010 03:50am

Just like any other clock error, you fix the clock, if you have definite knowledge, and continue where you stopped the game to deal with the clock. No do over.

chseagle Fri Dec 31, 2010 04:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bktballref (Post 711078)
to my knowledge, it's not covered by the rules. What does that tell you? :)

i would count all the action and take time off the clock if i had definite knoeledge.

+1

26 Year Gap Fri Dec 31, 2010 08:51am

Administering official for the throw-in should make visual contact with partner[s] AND timer prior to putting the ball in play. Doesn't always happen, but it can help avoid situations like in the OP.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 31, 2010 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 711078)
To my knowledge, it's not covered by the rules. What does that tell you? :)

I would count all the action and take time off the clock if I had definite knoeledge.

I'd use case 5.7.3 (last year's reference) to set the clock at 8:00, and continue play from the FTs.

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 711134)
I'd use case 5.7.3 (last year's reference) to set the clock at 8:00, and continue play from the FTs.

5.7.3 SITUATION: Following a violation in the first extra period, the timer beckons
the referee to the table. The timer informs the referee that by mistake the period
started with: (a) more; or (b) less than four minutes on the clock. RULING: In
(a), if the mistake is discovered before the clock reaches four minutes, the clock
shall be set at four minutes and play resumes. If discovered after reaching four
minutes, no correction is allowed. In (b), the appropriate amount of time shall be
added to reflect a four-minute period. (2-5-5)

stiffler3492 Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranjo (Post 711076)
This situation occured during a GV Christmas tournament tonight.

To start the second half, the referee of the two person crew blew his whistle, handed the ball to A1 at the division line. The ball was inbounded to A2 who dribbled toward her own goal, attemped a shot, and was fouled in the process. The calling official then looked up at the clock and notices it is still counting down from 10 seconds remaining in the halftime break.

When I first read this, I took it to mean that she went the wrong way. Then I read the definition of a shot, and it says an attempt at a team's own goal.

Let's say, hypothetically, that A1 took the ball and ran the wrong way in this situation. B1, also confused, follows A1 to the basket and fouls her, thinking she's supposed to be defending that particular basket.

Would I be correct in ruling that since A1 shot at the wrong basket, it's not a try, therefore the foul would result in a designated spot throw in for A (assuming A1 misses the shot)?

The aforementioned timing issues don't apply to my hypothetical.

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:21pm

Team Fouls, Free Throws ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 711182)
Would I be correct in ruling that since A1 shot at the wrong basket, it's not a try, therefore the foul would result in a designated spot throw in for A (assuming A1 misses the shot)?

Later in the half, it could be a one and one, or a double bonus.

tjones1 Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 711182)
When I first read this, I took it to mean that she went the wrong way. Then I read the definition of a shot, and it says an attempt at a team's own goal.

Let's say, hypothetically, that A1 took the ball and ran the wrong way in this situation. B1, also confused, follows A1 to the basket and fouls her, thinking she's supposed to be defending that particular basket.

Would I be correct in ruling that since A1 shot at the wrong basket, it's not a try, therefore the foul would result in a designated spot throw in for A (assuming A1 misses the shot)?

The aforementioned timing issues don't apply to my hypothetical.

Yes - it doesn't matter what the ball does. Since it's not a try the ball is dead. Unless Team A is in the bonus they don't shoot free throws.

stiffler3492 Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 711185)
Later in the half, it could be a one and one, or a double bonus.

Good point.

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:26pm

Still Dead ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 711186)
It doesn't matter what the ball does. Since it's not a try the ball is dead.

Ball in flight?

justacoach Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 711182)
When I first read this, I took it to mean that she went the wrong way. Then I read the definition of a shot, and it says an attempt at a team's own goal.

Let's say, hypothetically, that A1 took the ball and ran the wrong way in this situation. B1, also confused, follows A1 to the basket and fouls her, thinking she's supposed to be defending that particular basket.

Would I be correct in ruling that since A1 shot at the wrong basket, it's not a try, therefore the foul would result in a designated spot throw in for A (assuming A1 misses the shot)?

The aforementioned timing issues don't apply to my hypothetical.

Yes and even if A1 "made" the "shot", if the foul occurred before the ball passed thru the goal, the foul rendered the ball dead. Can't score with a dead ball and continuous motion does not apply since we have no try.
Thanks for the reminder..

Adam Fri Dec 31, 2010 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 711192)
Ball in flight?

Is it a "try?"

BktBallRef Fri Dec 31, 2010 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 711078)
To my knowledge, it's not covered by the rules. What does that tell you? :)

I would count all the action and take time off the clock if I had definite knoeledge.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 711134)
I'd use case 5.7.3 (last year's reference) to set the clock at 8:00, and continue play from the FTs.

I think you'd still have to use 2-3 to apply 5.7.3, :)

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 08:43pm

Dead Or Alive ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 711309)
Is it a "try?"

No. So, the the ball is "shot" dead when the player is fouled.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1