The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 30, 2010, 01:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
I too have never done this , but I've heard of officials whistling a foul but then realizing its not a foul and converting it to an inadvertent whistle. Of course, I've never done that either! . The fact is this is not directly covered by any rule or case play that I know of. If there is an official interp I don't know about it and even if there is there is a precedent for ignoring official interps on this forum. Notice the smiley guys!

Use rule 2.3 to fix this and move on.
Do you agree that there is ever a point that it becomes too late to fix it? If so, when? There has to be some point where it becomes too late.

There are other cases of erroneously called infractions that establish when it is too late to correct the call. For example, a throwin to the wrong team can not be corrected once the ball was thrown in. If you call a travel by mistake and put the ball back in play (throw in ends), it is too late.

You're never going to get the rule/case book to detail every possibility. You have to use the rules/cases you've got to derive the answer. 2.3 is not an option when we've got cases that already cover when it is too late to correct an incorrectly called infraction.

Basically, once "recordable" game action has occurred, you can only correct bookkeeping errors (until the score is approved) or correctable errors (within their defined limits). By recordable game action, I'm referring to the clock starting or a FT being taken. So, once you administer the FT, you've already moved on and there is nothing you can do.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 30, 2010, 01:50am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
2.3 is not an option when we've got cases that already cover when it is too late to correct an incorrectly called infraction.
Is there a case which deals with anything close to this?

Official calls improper technical due to erroneous information from the scorer.

As you say, everything cannot be covered in the books. Sometimes you just have to do something because it makes sense.
I would probably rescind the T at any time this information was brought to my attention. The free throws are covered by rule.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove

Last edited by just another ref; Thu Dec 30, 2010 at 01:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 30, 2010, 05:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Is there a case which deals with anything close to this?

Official calls improper technical due to erroneous information from the scorer.

As you say, everything cannot be covered in the books. Sometimes you just have to do something because it makes sense.
I would probably rescind the T at any time this information was brought to my attention. The free throws are covered by rule.
We have the general throwin case where the wrong team is given the ball...it is too late once the ball is touched inbounds (clock starts).

I think we also have a case where an AP situation is administered by giving the wrong team the ball...either due to erroneous info from the scorer or the officials just not heeding the information provided. Once the ball is inbounds, it is too late.

Is there ANY case that covers removing a reported foul from the book? Or for that matter, is there ANY case that involves canceling an infraction (violation or foul) after it has called and penalized? No, there is the opposite....once the ball is in play, it is too late.

So, we have 1-2 cases that declare it too late to fix a mistake once the ball is in play and we have 0 that support canceling an infraction after the ball has been put in play.

I'd say the onus is upon those that say you can, by rule, wipe a reported and penalized foul away to provide something other than 2.3 to support that claim.

I'm aware that until it is penalized, you can declare an inadvertent whistle...but once you administer the penalty (i.e., a throw-in completed or free throw taken, there is no going back).

If I find out after the fact that I'm improperly called a T that resulted in an indirect on the coach, I would be inclined to reinstate his coaching box, but not wipe the T.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 30, 2010, 08:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Not applicable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
We have the general throwin case where the wrong team is given the ball...it is too late once the ball is touched inbounds (clock starts).

I think we also have a case where an AP situation is administered by giving the wrong team the ball...either due to erroneous info from the scorer or the officials just not heeding the information provided. Once the ball is inbounds, it is too late.

Is there ANY case that covers removing a reported foul from the book? Or for that matter, is there ANY case that involves canceling an infraction (violation or foul) after it has called and penalized? No, there is the opposite....once the ball is in play, it is too late.

So, we have 1-2 cases that declare it too late to fix a mistake once the ball is in play and we have 0 that support canceling an infraction after the ball has been put in play.

I'd say the onus is upon those that say you can, by rule, wipe a reported and penalized foul away to provide something other than 2.3 to support that claim.

I'm aware that until it is penalized, you can declare an inadvertent whistle...but once you administer the penalty (i.e., a throw-in completed or free throw taken, there is no going back).

If I find out after the fact that I'm improperly called a T that resulted in an indirect on the coach, I would be inclined to reinstate his coaching box, but not wipe the T.
Nothing you have quoted here is applicable. This is not a throw-in. Those cases don't apply. You can't take one rule that covers one scenario and then use it in a different scenario. We have rule 2.3 cover scenarios such as this. And if you can't wipe out the T you can't restore the coaching box.

Do you have a rule that specifically covers this exact scenario?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how messy can a game get? zeedonk Basketball 6 Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:26am
Situation WinterWillie Softball 11 Fri Jul 25, 2008 11:27pm
Messy AP PLay MOFFICIAL Basketball 8 Tue Jan 22, 2008 08:52am
messy time out daveg144 Basketball 5 Mon Jan 21, 2008 07:47pm
Messy situation, rule mistake zebraman Basketball 21 Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1