The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Time out (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60269-time-out.html)

Camron Rust Thu Dec 30, 2010 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 710637)
Again, how are you going to rule on this play.

PLAY
A1 has the ball and B1 attempts to grab it. Obviously, there's going to be a held ball. The trail blows the whistle as Coach A has requested a timeout. A second later, the lead blows his whistle for a held ball.
Are you honestly going to tell me that you're going to ignore the first whistle and go with the second whistle?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 710687)
You play is ambiguous. No one can know that the call should be with the information given. It appears that you may be saying the ball is not yet held, so a timeout would be correct. But, I can't tell what the sequence of events is from what you posted.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 710875)
Not sure why, Snaq and Rookiedude didn't have any trouble with the sequence. A whistle for a TO and a second later, a whistle for a held ball. Very clear.

Your play only says that their is GOING to be a held ball when the first whistle for a TO is blown. It sounds like that someone is anticipating the play, not describing what has occurred. Seeing that a held ball is about to occur is irrelevant. We you saying that there actually was a held ball and the official just blew the whistle really late, after the timeout whistle, or was there not really a held ball yet until after the timeout whistle. The instant that matters is the one where the defender grabs the ball, not where you anticipate a held ball.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 30, 2010 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 710687)
It seems that basic common sense is all you need to know that a player doesn't have player control of a ball held by another player.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 710875)
Even if it's contrary to the rules, right? :rolleyes:

You mean the rule that says if a player is holding the ball, they have player control? Doesn't that apply to any player on the court? Even a defender? How can you call time out if a player of the other team has player control? :confused:

BktBallRef Thu Dec 30, 2010 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 710982)
You mean the rule that says if a player is holding the ball, they have player control?

Yes, which is why we grant the timeout to A1, because he has player control. Works against your argument.

Quote:

Doesn't that apply to any player on the court? Even a defender?
A defender can't have player control, as by definition, a defender is on the team that does not have the ball. Further, there's no such thing as dual player control, as you attempted to claim earlier in the thread.

Quote:

How can you call time out if a player of the other team has player control? :confused:
You can't. But you can grant a timeout to Coach A since A1 has player control until the held ball is whistled.

Hope that clears that up for you.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 710981)
Your play only says that their is GOING to be a held ball when the first whistle for a TO is blown. It sounds like that someone is anticipating the play, not describing what has occurred. Seeing that a held ball is about to occur is irrelevant. We you saying that there actually was a held ball and the official just blew the whistle really late, after the timeout whistle, or was there not really a held ball yet until after the timeout whistle. The instant that matters is the one where the defender grabs the ball, not where you anticipate a held ball.

You don't have to be Einstein to understand that one official whistles a timeout a split second before the second official whistles a held ball.

My question to you is are you going to go with the timeout or the held ball?

It's a real SIMPLE question. But I understand why you're playing dumb. You don't want to answer my play because it will prove my point.

Thanks, I have your answer. :)

BktBallRef Thu Dec 30, 2010 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 710939)
That works well also by rule. And it's basically all that Tony was saying.

It's the same delay between the official hearing the TO request and then blowing the whistle to grant the TO request as recognizing the held ball and then blowing the whistle to call that held ball.

If there's a problem, the officials have to get together and decide who recognized what first----> the TO request or the held ball.

But for some reason, Cam refuses to see it.

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 30, 2010 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 710981)
The instant that matters is the one where the defender grabs the ball, not where you anticipate a held ball.

The instance that really matters is what came first...the TO request or the held ball. That's the decision the officials have to jointly make. In both cases the actual whistle is irrelevant.

The play isn't really different than a player in the air making a TO request before he lands OOB. YOU have to decide if the TO request was made before the player landed OOB. In the situation being discussed, just replace "landed OOB" with a "held ball". You call 'em both the same way.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 30, 2010 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 710986)
Yes, which is why we grant the timeout to A1, because he has player control. Works against your argument.

A defender can't have player control, as by definition, a defender is on the team that does not have the ball. Further, there's no such thing as dual player control, as you attempted to claim earlier in the thread.

You can't. But you can grant a timeout to Coach A since A1 has player control until the held ball is whistled.

What is the definition of player control? It simply says that a player who is holding a live ball inbound has player control. Is there any reference to defense/offense? No, the rule that defines player control applies equally to every player on the court. Player control establishes who is on offense/defense, not the other way around.

If BOTH A1 and B1 have their hands on the ball in a similar manner, by definition, you have two choices. They either both have player control or neither does. If you say that A1 has PC, then you're also saying B1 has PC. If you're saying B1 doesn't have PC, you're saying that A1 doesn't have PC. The definition of player control doesn't support any other set of options.

Then you add the held ball rule which establishes that neither player has control when they both have their hands on the ball.

So, no one can call timeout once both players have their hands on the ball....neither has player control. Player control and being in control of the ball are synonymous.


If the timeout request comes BEFORE team B gets their hands on the ball...timeout. That is simple...the order of the whistles doesn't matter. Your play implies it does and your play doesn't indicate WHEN team B actually got their hands on the ball relative to the timeout request. The officials have to figure out which occurred first, not who blew thier whistle the quickest.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1