![]() |
Roll over = travel
I've always found the passage about rolling over with the ball (NFHS 4.44.5) to be a bit vague. At what point does a roll become a travel?
Certainly, you're not going to allow a player to do a 360 or even a 180 while holding the ball. Still, is there a point where a lean becomes a slight roll or a travel? Where do you draw the line? |
Rocking around a bit is not rolling...and not traveling. How far is too far? Well, tumbling in the process of diving for the ball and coming to a stop, even if that tumble involves a rotation of 360 degrees or more, is not traveling. But, if the turn not part of the dive/tumble but is to protect the ball from being taken by the opponent, even 90 degrees is enough for me to call a travel. If they're on their back and roll to their side to protect the ball...travel. There are no hard limits on how far is too far. You just have to see it and judge whether their actions fit the spirit of the rule.
|
If they're sitting on the floor with the ball and they "rock" from side to side, it's not a travel. If the opposing coach complains, tell him the player didn't move his pivot cheek. :cool:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
We had a long discussion on this previously.
I stated then that 180 is the cut-off point. This allows a player to turn from side to side, but not roll over. I still call it that way and haven't had any problems doing so. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I don't see anyone rushing to give a clear-cut answer, so I suppose this whole thing will remain clear as dishwater. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Screen name: Pivot Cheek
... still available. Make a statement in 2011!
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25pm. |