The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorktown Va.
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Upward ref
first t

had my first "t" last night. Girls JV , On a throw in H54 defending and steady screaming BALL BALL BALL and doing contortionist jumping jacks, which was unnerving enough for me and the thrower. H54 then reaches through with her hands.. Me : tweet, and warning to the scorer (pretty sure I reported it properly although my partner wasn't aware of this apparently) A few minutes later into the first period h54 defending again on a throw in for V15. I motion along the end line plane as a warning and hand the ball to the thrower . H54 screaming BALL BALL BALL again and she reaches through to swat at the ball and has both feet out of bounds also. Me : tweet, and report a T to the scorer. Head coach ( at the top of her lungs): "It's going to be a long night girls! Partner comes running over with a whats up ? look ,so I say she reached through after a warning already , thats a T right ? partner administers 2 shots with the lane cleared and a division line throw in. it was a long night for me with my other screw ups but no more reaching through !
The other memorable part was a 1 and 1 bonus free throw. I motion 1 and 1 ,say 1 and 1 , and bounce the ball to v10. she shoots and misses . everybody on both teams stands there looking around (including me ) until my partner whistles,comes running in (laughing ) yelling "red ball" and I hear him explaining they can go for the rebound etc. I'm standing there waiting for my fan hecklers to get started on me and wondering what I messed up this time. And why the ball to the free throwers team ?
__________________
Upward ref
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 10:55pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upward ref View Post
had my first "t" last night. Girls JV , On a throw in H54 defending and steady screaming BALL BALL BALL and doing contortionist jumping jacks, which was unnerving enough for me and the thrower. H54 then reaches through with her hands.. Me : tweet, and warning to the scorer (pretty sure I reported it properly although my partner wasn't aware of this apparently) A few minutes later into the first period h54 defending again on a throw in for V15. I motion along the end line plane as a warning and hand the ball to the thrower . H54 screaming BALL BALL BALL again and she reaches through to swat at the ball and has both feet out of bounds also. Me : tweet, and report a T to the scorer. Head coach ( at the top of her lungs): "It's going to be a long night girls! Partner comes running over with a whats up ? look ,so I say she reached through after a warning already , thats a T right ? partner administers 2 shots with the lane cleared and a division line throw in. it was a long night for me with my other screw ups but no more reaching through !
The other memorable part was a 1 and 1 bonus free throw. I motion 1 and 1 ,say 1 and 1 , and bounce the ball to v10. she shoots and misses . everybody on both teams stands there looking around (including me ) until my partner whistles,comes running in (laughing ) yelling "red ball" and I hear him explaining they can go for the rebound etc. I'm standing there waiting for my fan hecklers to get started on me and wondering what I messed up this time. And why the ball to the free throwers team ?
You say H54 reached through to swat the ball...I'm assuming she did not hit the ball. If she did, you'd have a player T to H54 (as well as a delay-of-game warning if one hadn't been issued earlier). If all she did was break the plane, then you handled the play correctly.

In the second situation, did your partner see you clearly say 1 and 1? If I saw this, I would not have come in with a whistle...a player is going to finally get what's going on and play will ensue. I've had this happen a few times and this always happens.

But since your partner did come in with a whistle. What was his reasoning for giving it to red? I'm assuming he used the AP and it was pointing to red.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2010, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorktown Va.
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Upward ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
You say H54 reached through to swat the ball...I'm assuming she did not hit the ball. If she did, you'd have a player T to H54 (as well as a delay-of-game warning if one hadn't been issued earlier). If all she did was break the plane, then you handled the play correctly.

In the second situation, did your partner see you clearly say 1 and 1? If I saw this, I would not have come in with a whistle...a player is going to finally get what's going on and play will ensue. I've had this happen a few times and this always happens.

But since your partner did come in with a whistle. What was his reasoning for giving it to red? I'm assuming he used the AP and it was pointing to red.
correct, no hit.
I'm sure my partner saw the signal. he gave all of them to me every time .
must have been the ap arrow . A great partner , he does varsity, and college and was VERY patient and helpful.
__________________
Upward ref
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,235
Sounds like you could of had a second T after you reported the first.

Gotta love those 1-and-1's and both teams brain fart. Never seen anyone whistle this play dead before though. Its usually just a seemingly long wait while we wait for someone to come out of their coma.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
My guess is that your partner simply killed "the play" and awarded an AP throw-in to red (NFHS 4-36-2c)

I've never seen a play (or lack thereof) quite like that one. I'd be interested to know how others would handle it. Me? At first, I'd just stand there and see if anybody would catch on. If that got no response, I might say something like, "That ball is still live" or "It was a one and one". I think I would only whistle it dead as a last resort and not until beyond the point where anyone with half a clue would have to realize that something is up.

BTW, righteous T. Her out of control defense is her problem. However, if even your partner didn't realize you had a delay warning...you need to find a way to communicate it more clearly.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 11:08pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
My guess is that your partner simply killed "the play" and awarded an AP throw-in to red (NFHS 4-36-2c)

I've never seen a play (or lack thereof) quite like that one. I'd be interested to know how others would handle it. Me? At first, I'd just stand there and see if anybody would catch on. If that got no response, I might say something like, "That ball is still live" or "It was a one and one". I think I would only whistle it dead as a last resort and not until beyond the point where anyone with half a clue would have to realize that something is up..
I'd simply stand there...especially if I was lead cause it'd be my partner who'd have to have his hand raised up the entire time!

What usually happens is either one players realizes what's happening and scores an easy basket/gets an easy fastbreak, or a player will grab the ball and toss it to the lead. Move out of the way and whistle the out of bounds violation (I've actually had this happen before).
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2010, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorktown Va.
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Upward ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
My guess is that your partner simply killed "the play" and awarded an AP throw-in to red (NFHS 4-36-2c)

I've never seen a play (or lack thereof) quite like that one. I'd be interested to know how others would handle it. Me? At first, I'd just stand there and see if anybody would catch on. If that got no response, I might say something like, "That ball is still live" or "It was a one and one". I think I would only whistle it dead as a last resort and not until beyond the point where anyone with half a clue would have to realize that something is up.

BTW, righteous T. Her out of control defense is her problem. However, if even your partner didn't realize you had a delay warning...you need to find a way to communicate it more clearly.
I just stood there thinking " I didn't mess up this one "

I'm trying my best, but my reporting and mechanics are still lousy and lack confidence.
__________________
Upward ref
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2010, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upward ref View Post
I just stood there thinking " I didn't mess up this one "
Yep, you surely didn't mess that one up. You were a teenager once, so you know they can be looking right at you and appear to be acknowledging you, without ever hearing a word you're saying

I have a theory (based on personal experience being an ADD kid): kids that are only half listening, if they remember anything at all, will remember only the very last thing they hear. So, when I tell them how many shots I try to always end with the number. (e.g., "Two times, guys...Two!"). It's no miracle cure mechanic, but it has worked very well for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Upward ref View Post
I'm trying my best, but my reporting and mechanics are still lousy and lack confidence.
This is great news! Why? Because mechanics and presentation is one of the very few aspects of officiating that is entirely within your control. In just 10 minutes, starting right this second, you can do something that can make a significant, positive difference.

Reporting and signalling is all about muscle memory. Get in front of a mirror and practice, practice, practice. Every time you hit the men's room at work, call a foul on the guy in the mirror. Keep at it until you like what you see. Practice the whole sequence from whistle, prelim, movement to the table, stopping, reporting. (Yes, my men's room is 84 x 50) Then do it with your eyes closed, opening them at random times to ensure you look the way you should. We can't see ourselves on the court, we have to rely on feel. So learn what it feels like to do it right.

Also, get somebody to video one of your games. Watch the video and take notes. Anything that looks funny or weak, fix it.

Good luck!
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2010, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 255
I spent alot of time in front of the mirror practicing my mechanics and prior to each season I do ti all over again to refresh myself. My biggest porblem early on was that i though I had my arm raised up high only to see I was still not as high as it should be. Took me a while to get it down but now when the whistle blows, my arm goes up high. The other thing I had to work on was the bird dogging on fouls. What I mean is so that my pointer arm doesn't go out as soon as my other arm goes up. Now I blow the whistle, raise the arm, pause and then point, pause again and then show the push or hack or whatever the foul is. I have found this is cleaner and creates less confusion for my partner and the players/coach, etc
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 11:18pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upward ref View Post
H54 then reaches through with her hands.. Me : tweet, and warning to the scorer (pretty sure I reported it properly although my partner wasn't aware of this apparently)
Don't forget, you have to report the delay of game warning to both the official scorer and the offending team's coach.

If you have a younger/inexperienced scorekeeper, take a second to walk him through it, "write D.O.G. warning at the bottom of that team's page."

Expect the occasional coach objection, especially if they're younger. ("It's only a middle school game.") The players won't learn if you don't enforce.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 11:35pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
I had a similar 1 and 1 situation happen during a JV boys game this year while I was administering the free throws. The first shot is no good but nobody reacts. A Team A player grabs the ball and throws it to me just as his coach starts screaming that it is a live ball. I stepped aside, let the ball go out and pointed the other way.

I clearly announced one and one, so I have no idea what was going on there. I even confirmed with my partner that I had announced it. Guess they weren't quite ready to play on a Saturday morning.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2010, 12:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 259
It goes both ways

I have had about 15 instances the other way in about 30 games so far this year. We announce 1 and 1, shooter makes the first and everyone thinks we are done. Team that was on offense heads back on defense and the other team starts to take the ball out.

Boy they have short memories!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2010, 09:40am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
I had a similar 1 and 1 situation happen during a JV boys game this year while I was administering the free throws. The first shot is no good but nobody reacts. A Team A player grabs the ball and throws it to me just as his coach starts screaming that it is a live ball. I stepped aside, let the ball go out and pointed the other way.

I clearly announced one and one, so I have no idea what was going on there. I even confirmed with my partner that I had announced it. Guess they weren't quite ready to play on a Saturday morning.
Had something similar happen again last night during a girl's 8th grade game. We line up for 1 and 1 and I very clearly announce it as such. The first shot misses, is rebounded by an A team player who hands the ball to a B team player. B team player takes off the other direction and away we go.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2010, 10:16am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Had something similar happen again last night during a girl's 8th grade game. We line up for 1 and 1 and I very clearly announce it as such. The first shot misses, is rebounded by an A team player who hands the ball to a B team player. B team player takes off the other direction and away we go.
I think the question everyone is asking here is, "Did B1 get credit for a steal."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2010, 10:37am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
I forgot to check with the statistician.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1