The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Spot throw-in question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6014-spot-throw-question.html)

Camron Rust Tue Oct 15, 2002 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
I have to agree with PAULH1, It is not a violation to retrieve a FUMBLE.
That is true for a ball that is inbounds. However, I don't think it excuses the designated spot restrictions. If they can recover the ball and not violate any other rule, then yes, they may retrieve the fumble.

Bart Tyson Tue Oct 15, 2002 03:16pm

I think this has been ruled on by the powers above. Sorry i can't give you the reference.

rainmaker Wed Oct 16, 2002 02:25pm

Two points:

1. On a free throw, we are authorized to blow dead a fumbled ball, and start over. Why not on a throw-in?

2. What if another player stepped out of bounds and recovered the ball and threw it to the thrower-in? What about a bench player, or an opponent? A coach or a score table person?

Camron Rust Thu Oct 17, 2002 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Two points:

1. On a free throw, we are authorized to blow dead a fumbled ball and start over. Why not on a throw-in?

My thoughts...The fumble on a throw-in may be induced by defensive pressure. A1 starts to throw the ball but retracts it as the defense cuts off the intended pass. A1 fumbles it. Caused by the defense. Why would we give A another chance when it was good defense that caused it. If it looks like the throwin will be unsucessful, A1 could, in order to get another chance on a throwin, "purposely fumble" the ball.

On a FT, it's just clumsy hands and there is no defense. There is no potential advantage to fumbling the ball.

Quote:


2. What if another player stepped out of bounds and recovered the ball and threw it to the thrower-in? What about a bench player, or an opponent? A coach or a score table person?

I'm not too sure....thinkig on my feet....Unless it is still within reach of the box, throwin violation. If it goes that far from the box, I'll either judge it a throw, albeit a bad one, or the player will have left the box. Just as we allow the thrower A1 to dribble, we must expect A1 to dribble without bouncing it off their foot.

If it could have been grabbed by the player and thrown in when an out-of-bounds non-player grabs the ball, I'll whistle and give a new throwin...perhaps with an instruction to not touch the ball unless there is a whistle. If it is a player, it will either be a throw-in violation or a delay of game for reaching through the plane...perhaps a T.

mick Thu Oct 17, 2002 01:43pm

Careful here!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
If it could have been grabbed by the player and thrown in when an out-of-bounds non-player grabs the ball, I'll whistle and give a new throwin...perhaps with an instruction to not touch the ball unless there is a whistle. If it is a player, it will either be a throw-in violation or a delay of game for reaching through the plane...perhaps a T.

Rule 7-6-3
The Opponent(s)... until the ball has been released.... ;)

Camron Rust Thu Oct 17, 2002 04:22pm

Re: Careful here!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
If it could have been grabbed by the player and thrown in when an out-of-bounds non-player grabs the ball, I'll whistle and give a new throwin...perhaps with an instruction to not touch the ball unless there is a whistle. If it is a player, it will either be a throw-in violation or a delay of game for reaching through the plane...perhaps a T.

Rule 7-6-3
The Opponent(s)... until the ball has been released.... ;)

...on a throwin pass.

If it was a fumble, it was not a pass. The opponents may not reach through and grab a fumble.

mick Thu Oct 17, 2002 09:40pm

Re: Re: Careful here!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
If it could have been grabbed by the player and thrown in when an out-of-bounds non-player grabs the ball, I'll whistle and give a new throwin...perhaps with an instruction to not touch the ball unless there is a whistle. If it is a player, it will either be a throw-in violation or a delay of game for reaching through the plane...perhaps a T.

Rule 7-6-3
The Opponent(s)... until the ball has been released.... ;)

...on a throwin pass.

If it was a fumble, it was not a pass. The opponents may not reach through and grab a fumble.

Camron,
I agree with the premise, but cannot find a source.
Are we to assume a fumble, assume a pass since the ball had started to be passed, or do we judge a fumble because it was that too. I see nothing I can take to the bank. :)

Bart Tyson Fri Oct 18, 2002 08:17am

We make judgement calls all game. This is no different, if we judge a fumble, then he may retrieve the ball. If we judge he/she started to pass and could not control the ball because the player changed their mind, then its a bad pass.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1