The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Trainwreck, what's the call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60012-trainwreck-whats-call.html)

BillyMac Sun Dec 05, 2010 03:54pm

I Bet All Three Of His Sons Know The Correct Interpretation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 705460)
You're over-thinking the play.

justacoach overthinking? Impossible. justacoach thinking? Also impossible. justacoach underthinking? Possible, but only on a good day.

10.6.11 SITUATION D: A1 is running toward A’s goal but is looking back to
receive a pass. B1 takes a position in the path of A1 while A1 is 10 feet away from
B1. (a) A1 runs into B1 before receiving the ball; or (b) A1 receives the ball and
before taking a step contacts B1. RULING: In both (a) and (b), A1 is responsible
for contact. In (a), B1’s position is legal if A1 has been given two strides prior to
contact. In (b), since the position of B1 is legal when A1 has the ball, the contact
is charging by A1. (4-40)

bob jenkins Sun Dec 05, 2010 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705462)
Humor me, please...
Nutshell question. Is B3, minding his own business, a defender a screener, or neither!!! and can actions beyond his control impact his status?

Neither, but it doesn't matter.

You could, I suppose, have a case for a no-call. If B3 wasn't paying attention, and if the contact wasn't "too bad" you *might* be able to say that B3 wasn't prevented from "normal offensive or defensive maneuvers".

It CANNOT be a foul on B3.

mbyron Mon Dec 06, 2010 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705462)
Humor me, please...
Nutshell question. Is B3, minding his own business, a defender a screener, or neither!!! and can actions beyond his control impact his status?

Your question is intended to imply that he doesn't become a "defender" or "screener" until an opponent with the ball makes contact with him. You're fishing for a way to justify calling a foul on B3.

As the others have said: stop fishing. The time/distance restrictions on screeners apply when the screener is moving, not when an opponent is approaching a stationary player.

Raymond Mon Dec 06, 2010 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705437)
Had the following play recently. Seeking guidance and advice

Both teams in double bonus
B is deployed in 3/4 court zone press
B3 is stationary at division line, 8 ft from sideline, as part of press defense defense
A1 inbounds ball to A5.
A5 throws a lead pass over the head of wing player A2 who runs toward the division line, looking backward while trying to receive pass. A2 muffs the pass and immediately trainwrecks with B3, who never left his spot
Your call

BTW, I had block on B3, A2 to FT line for bonus

Thanks


No, no, no, say it ain't so. :eek: This is why you are 4th best in your family. :)

Adam Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705462)
Humor me, please...
Nutshell question. Is B3, minding his own business, a defender a screener, or neither!!! and can actions beyond his control impact his status?

It doesnt matter if he's an elf, the most that's required of him is two steps time and distance.

GoodwillRef Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:48am

Why would this be a team control foul? No team control in high school on throw-ins and if the player muffed the ball when never had team control...shoot the bonus.

PG_Ref Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 705592)
Why would this be a team control foul? No team control in high school on throw-ins and if the player muffed the ball when never had team control...shoot the bonus.

A1 inbounds ball to A5.
A5 throws a lead pass over the head of wing player A2 who runs toward the division line, looking backward while trying to receive pass.

Adam Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 705592)
Why would this be a team control foul? No team control in high school on throw-ins and if the player muffed the ball when never had team control...shoot the bonus.

This part.

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705437)
A1 inbounds ball to A5.

A5 threw the pass to A3.

GoodwillRef Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 705594)
This part.



A5 threw the pass to A3.

My bad...I read it wrong...forgot about the first pass to A5!

NICK Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:28am

Reading this post, it seems to me that you are justifying your blocking foul call on B3, who had a LGP, cheers

rwest Tue Dec 07, 2010 09:13am

Really?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 705579)
Your question is intended to imply that he doesn't become a "defender" or "screener" until an opponent with the ball makes contact with him. You're fishing for a way to justify calling a foul on B3.

As the others have said: stop fishing. The time/distance restrictions on screeners apply when the screener is moving, not when an opponent is approaching a stationary player.

So, If A2 sets a blind screen and is not moving but does not give B2 a normal step, no foul on A2 because he is stationary? Or if, A2 moves into the path of B2 less than 2 steps in front of A2 but is stationary prior to contact, there is no foul on B2. When a player is moving without the ball time and distance are factors and the defense doesn't have to be moving. The defender must give them time and distance to avoid contact.

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 705798)
So, If A2 sets a blind screen and is not moving but does not give B2 a normal step, no foul on A2 because he is stationary? Or if, A2 moves into the path of B2 less than 2 steps in front of A2 but is stationary prior to contact, there is no foul on B2. When a player is moving without the ball time and distance are factors and the defense doesn't have to be moving. The defender must give them time and distance to avoid contact.

True, and mbyron may have misspoken slightly. That said, the OP is a situation where it seems from his own description that far more than two steps were given from the time B3 took his position.

mbyron Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 705808)
True, and mbyron misspoke slightly.

Did I? rwest gave the game away when he said "A2 sets a blind screen." A2 did that by moving illegally into screening position and thereby violating the screening requirements: subsequent contact is a foul.

I never said it's not a foul if the defender is stationary at contact. I said that "The time/distance restrictions on screeners apply when the screener is moving." If a defender becomes a screener without having moved (the play comes to him), then contact is not a foul by the defense (might be a PC or TC foul).

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 705811)
Did I? rwest gave the game away when he said "A2 sets a blind screen." A2 did that by moving illegally into screening position and thereby violating the screening requirements: subsequent contact is a foul.

I never said it's not a foul if the defender is stationary at contact. I said that "The time/distance restrictions on screeners apply when the screener is moving." If a defender becomes a screener without having moved (the play comes to him), then contact is not a foul by the defense (might be a PC or TC foul).

I have added the applicable qualifier.

rwest Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:40pm

My point is this....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 705811)
Did I? rwest gave the game away when he said "A2 sets a blind screen." A2 did that by moving illegally into screening position and thereby violating the screening requirements: subsequent contact is a foul.

I never said it's not a foul if the defender is stationary at contact. I said that "The time/distance restrictions on screeners apply when the screener is moving." If a defender becomes a screener without having moved (the play comes to him), then contact is not a foul by the defense (might be a PC or TC foul).


The time and distance principle is not just on a screener moving. If A2 sets a screen on B2 and is stationary when contact occurs but did not give B2 time and distance to avoid the contact it is a foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1