The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Trainwreck, what's the call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60012-trainwreck-whats-call.html)

justacoach Sun Dec 05, 2010 01:43pm

Trainwreck, what's the call
 
Had the following play recently. Seeking guidance and advice

Both teams in double bonus
B is deployed in 3/4 court zone press
B3 is stationary at division line, 8 ft from sideline, as part of press defense defense
A1 inbounds ball to A5.
A5 throws a lead pass over the head of wing player A2 who runs toward the division line, looking backward while trying to receive pass. A2 muffs the pass and immediately trainwrecks with B3, who never left his spot
Your call

BTW, I had block on B3, A2 to FT line for bonus

Thanks


APG Sun Dec 05, 2010 01:50pm

Charging foul on A1. B1 got to a spot legally first and sounds like he respected the elements of time and distance.

Team control foul.

The R Sun Dec 05, 2010 01:51pm

Coach what did B3 do wrong?

Scrapper1 Sun Dec 05, 2010 01:53pm

I agree that this can't be a foul on B3 if he "never left his spot", but. . .

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 705439)
B1 will be shooting 2 shots for the double bonus.

It's a team control foul, so no free throws.

APG Sun Dec 05, 2010 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 705442)
I agree that this can't be a foul on B3 if he "never left his spot", but. . .


It's a team control foul, so no free throws.

I missed the part about the ball being already inbounded. :o Yes, it would be a team control foul.

justacoach Sun Dec 05, 2010 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 705439)
Charging foul on A1. B1 got to a spot legally first and sounds like he respected the elements of time and distance.

No shots, TC foul.

That's one of my issues. When does B3 become an active factor in the play and become a guard (or screener) and time and distance start to apply? When he first takes position, when the ball gets inbounded, when the pass is released, when A2 approaches or when A2 touches the ball???
B3 was passive during this play til he got splattered by A2, and I consider that he didn't allow A2 the requisite time and distance, ergo Block.

justacoach Sun Dec 05, 2010 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The R (Post 705440)
Coach what did B3 do wrong?

Failed to allow time and distance to moving player without the ball
4-23-5, p 32 Rules, 10.6.11, p-94 Case

Scrapper1 Sun Dec 05, 2010 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705444)
When does B3 become an active factor in the play?

I'm not trying to play "gotcha" or to be sarcastic (unusual for me, I know). But I honestly have no idea what this question means.

If B3 is planted like a tree since last Tuesday, and somebody runs over him, it just can't be a foul on B3, regardless if that other player has the ball or not or saw B3 there or not.

justacoach Sun Dec 05, 2010 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 705449)
I'm not trying to play "gotcha" or to be sarcastic (unusual for me, I know). But I honestly have no idea what this question means.

If B3 is planted like a tree since last Tuesday, and somebody runs over him, it just can't be a foul on B3, regardless if that other player has the ball or not or saw B3 there or not.

I can appreciate that you are serious, I am as well.

Nutshell question. Is B3, minding his own business, a defender a screener, or neither!!! and can actions beyond his control impact his status?
When do we consider B3, with his generic rights to his spot on the floor, to have morphed into a guarder (or screener) of A2 and for B3 to be obliged to yield time and distance to A2, the guardee, or as I prefer, the screenee? see 4-23, 4&5
I contend that B3 has his status changed from innocuously taking up space to a defender (or screener) based on the actions of A2 that draw B3 into the action. When B3 was drawn into the action he impeded A2's continued pursuit of the muffed pass by being in the wrong place at the wrong time.
Conversely, if A2 makes a clean catch, PC all the way

BktBallRef Sun Dec 05, 2010 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 705449)
I'm not trying to play "gotcha" or to be sarcastic (unusual for me, I know). But I honestly have no idea what this question means.

If B3 is planted like a tree since last Tuesday, and somebody runs over him, it just can't be a foul on B3, regardless if that other player has the ball or not or saw B3 there or not.

Agree with Scrapper1. Remember that every player is allowed a spot on the floor, provided he obtained that spot legally. I see nothing in the original post that would indicate he obtained his spot illegally.

Time and distance applies from the time the guard estabishes his position. Since B3 was stationary when the ball was inbounded and never moved, then he gave A2 time and distance to avoid contact.

Charging, team control foul on A2.

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 05, 2010 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 705449)
If B3 is planted like a tree since last Tuesday, and somebody runs over him, it just can't be a foul on B3, regardless if that other player has the ball or not or saw B3 there or not.

And the rules citation to back that statement up is NFHS rule 4-23-1--"Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent." B3 did just that and violated no rules before or after attaining that spot. Forget about guarding, etc. B3 simply had a legal spot on the court.

You're over-thinking the play.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 05, 2010 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705444)
That's one of my issues. When does B3 become an active factor in the play and become a guard (or screener) and time and distance start to apply? When he first takes position, when the ball gets inbounded, when the pass is released, when A2 approaches or when A2 touches the ball???
B3 was passive during this play til he got splattered by A2, and I consider that he didn't allow A2 the requisite time and distance, ergo Block.

The time/distance (if required) is measured from the very instant B3 gets to the spot. If A2 is more than 2 steps away at that point, it can't be a block. Sounds like A2 had several steps and a lot of time to go way around B3 but a bad pass led A2 right into B3. You got this one wrong.

justacoach Sun Dec 05, 2010 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 705460)
And the rules citation to back that statement up is NFHS rule 4-23-1--"Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent." B3 did just that and violated no rules before or after attaining that spot. Forget about guarding, etc. B3 simply had a legal spot on the court.

You're over-thinking the play.

Humor me, please...
Nutshell question. Is B3, minding his own business, a defender a screener, or neither!!! and can actions beyond his control impact his status?

reffish Sun Dec 05, 2010 03:13pm

Overthinking
 
Again, you are over thinking the play. B3 is a defender as team A is on offense ergo players from team B are on defense; B3 is a defender. He can also be a screener, and that status can be on offense or defense. You made the point that if A2 caught the ball and crashed into B3, then you call PC. The only difference between your block or PC is the status of the ball. This action beyond the control of B3, does not impact the status of B3. He is still legal. PC.

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 05, 2010 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705462)
Nutshell question. Is B3, minding his own business, a defender a screener, or neither!!! and can actions beyond his control impact his status?

Justa, under the rules his status simply doesn't matter except for whether B3 has established or didn't establish a legal position on the court prior to the contact. It's the same principle as any player on the floor rebounding. All 10 players on the court can establish a legal position during that rebound and their opponents can't run into 'em or push 'em away from that position once it was legally established.

BillyMac Sun Dec 05, 2010 03:54pm

I Bet All Three Of His Sons Know The Correct Interpretation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 705460)
You're over-thinking the play.

justacoach overthinking? Impossible. justacoach thinking? Also impossible. justacoach underthinking? Possible, but only on a good day.

10.6.11 SITUATION D: A1 is running toward A’s goal but is looking back to
receive a pass. B1 takes a position in the path of A1 while A1 is 10 feet away from
B1. (a) A1 runs into B1 before receiving the ball; or (b) A1 receives the ball and
before taking a step contacts B1. RULING: In both (a) and (b), A1 is responsible
for contact. In (a), B1’s position is legal if A1 has been given two strides prior to
contact. In (b), since the position of B1 is legal when A1 has the ball, the contact
is charging by A1. (4-40)

bob jenkins Sun Dec 05, 2010 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705462)
Humor me, please...
Nutshell question. Is B3, minding his own business, a defender a screener, or neither!!! and can actions beyond his control impact his status?

Neither, but it doesn't matter.

You could, I suppose, have a case for a no-call. If B3 wasn't paying attention, and if the contact wasn't "too bad" you *might* be able to say that B3 wasn't prevented from "normal offensive or defensive maneuvers".

It CANNOT be a foul on B3.

mbyron Mon Dec 06, 2010 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705462)
Humor me, please...
Nutshell question. Is B3, minding his own business, a defender a screener, or neither!!! and can actions beyond his control impact his status?

Your question is intended to imply that he doesn't become a "defender" or "screener" until an opponent with the ball makes contact with him. You're fishing for a way to justify calling a foul on B3.

As the others have said: stop fishing. The time/distance restrictions on screeners apply when the screener is moving, not when an opponent is approaching a stationary player.

Raymond Mon Dec 06, 2010 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705437)
Had the following play recently. Seeking guidance and advice

Both teams in double bonus
B is deployed in 3/4 court zone press
B3 is stationary at division line, 8 ft from sideline, as part of press defense defense
A1 inbounds ball to A5.
A5 throws a lead pass over the head of wing player A2 who runs toward the division line, looking backward while trying to receive pass. A2 muffs the pass and immediately trainwrecks with B3, who never left his spot
Your call

BTW, I had block on B3, A2 to FT line for bonus

Thanks


No, no, no, say it ain't so. :eek: This is why you are 4th best in your family. :)

Adam Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705462)
Humor me, please...
Nutshell question. Is B3, minding his own business, a defender a screener, or neither!!! and can actions beyond his control impact his status?

It doesnt matter if he's an elf, the most that's required of him is two steps time and distance.

GoodwillRef Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:48am

Why would this be a team control foul? No team control in high school on throw-ins and if the player muffed the ball when never had team control...shoot the bonus.

PG_Ref Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 705592)
Why would this be a team control foul? No team control in high school on throw-ins and if the player muffed the ball when never had team control...shoot the bonus.

A1 inbounds ball to A5.
A5 throws a lead pass over the head of wing player A2 who runs toward the division line, looking backward while trying to receive pass.

Adam Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 705592)
Why would this be a team control foul? No team control in high school on throw-ins and if the player muffed the ball when never had team control...shoot the bonus.

This part.

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 705437)
A1 inbounds ball to A5.

A5 threw the pass to A3.

GoodwillRef Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 705594)
This part.



A5 threw the pass to A3.

My bad...I read it wrong...forgot about the first pass to A5!

NICK Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:28am

Reading this post, it seems to me that you are justifying your blocking foul call on B3, who had a LGP, cheers

rwest Tue Dec 07, 2010 09:13am

Really?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 705579)
Your question is intended to imply that he doesn't become a "defender" or "screener" until an opponent with the ball makes contact with him. You're fishing for a way to justify calling a foul on B3.

As the others have said: stop fishing. The time/distance restrictions on screeners apply when the screener is moving, not when an opponent is approaching a stationary player.

So, If A2 sets a blind screen and is not moving but does not give B2 a normal step, no foul on A2 because he is stationary? Or if, A2 moves into the path of B2 less than 2 steps in front of A2 but is stationary prior to contact, there is no foul on B2. When a player is moving without the ball time and distance are factors and the defense doesn't have to be moving. The defender must give them time and distance to avoid contact.

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 705798)
So, If A2 sets a blind screen and is not moving but does not give B2 a normal step, no foul on A2 because he is stationary? Or if, A2 moves into the path of B2 less than 2 steps in front of A2 but is stationary prior to contact, there is no foul on B2. When a player is moving without the ball time and distance are factors and the defense doesn't have to be moving. The defender must give them time and distance to avoid contact.

True, and mbyron may have misspoken slightly. That said, the OP is a situation where it seems from his own description that far more than two steps were given from the time B3 took his position.

mbyron Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 705808)
True, and mbyron misspoke slightly.

Did I? rwest gave the game away when he said "A2 sets a blind screen." A2 did that by moving illegally into screening position and thereby violating the screening requirements: subsequent contact is a foul.

I never said it's not a foul if the defender is stationary at contact. I said that "The time/distance restrictions on screeners apply when the screener is moving." If a defender becomes a screener without having moved (the play comes to him), then contact is not a foul by the defense (might be a PC or TC foul).

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 705811)
Did I? rwest gave the game away when he said "A2 sets a blind screen." A2 did that by moving illegally into screening position and thereby violating the screening requirements: subsequent contact is a foul.

I never said it's not a foul if the defender is stationary at contact. I said that "The time/distance restrictions on screeners apply when the screener is moving." If a defender becomes a screener without having moved (the play comes to him), then contact is not a foul by the defense (might be a PC or TC foul).

I have added the applicable qualifier.

rwest Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:40pm

My point is this....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 705811)
Did I? rwest gave the game away when he said "A2 sets a blind screen." A2 did that by moving illegally into screening position and thereby violating the screening requirements: subsequent contact is a foul.

I never said it's not a foul if the defender is stationary at contact. I said that "The time/distance restrictions on screeners apply when the screener is moving." If a defender becomes a screener without having moved (the play comes to him), then contact is not a foul by the defense (might be a PC or TC foul).


The time and distance principle is not just on a screener moving. If A2 sets a screen on B2 and is stationary when contact occurs but did not give B2 time and distance to avoid the contact it is a foul.

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 705846)
A defender can be called for a foul while being stationary. The time and distance principle is not just on a screener moving. If A2 sets a screen on B2 and is stationary when contact occurs but did not give B2 time and distance to avoid the contact it is a foul.

And mbyron's point is that failure to provide time and distance when required means the player moved just prior to contact. You're both saying the same thing and arguing over semantics now.

Raymond Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 705846)
The time and distance principle is not just on a screener moving. If A2 sets a screen on B2 and is stationary when contact occurs but did not give B2 time and distance to avoid the contact it is a foul.

What have you then if A2 and B2 are 1 step apart facing each other and then B2 turns his back to A2 to see the play and then B2 turns back to run and after 1 step plows over A2?

rwest Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 705863)
What have you then if A2 and B2 are 1 step apart facing each other and then B2 turns his back to A2 to see the play and then B2 turns back to run and after 1 step plows over A2?

Foul on B2. What's your point? Are you saying that A2's screen is now a blind screen?

Raymond Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 705869)
Foul on B2. What's your point?

The point is that time/distance can be mitigated by other circumstances.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
The defender must give them time and distance to avoid contact.


rwest Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 705870)
The point is that time/distance can be mitigated by other circumstances.

Yes I agree with that. I never said it was sacrosanct. Just that time and distance does not apply to just a moving screener, but a stationary one as well. True he was moving to get to the spot but if he didn't give enough space or time when he became stationary then it is a foul on the screener.

mbyron Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 705872)
True he was moving to get to the spot but if he didn't give enough space or time when he became stationary then it is a foul on the screener.

That's when he violated the provisions on screening, and created a blind screen, right? That's my point, as Snaqs has divined.

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 705863)
What have you then if A2 and B2 are 1 step apart facing each other and then B2 turns his back to A2 to see the play and then B2 turns back to run and after 1 step plows over A2?

Interesting question. Can we assume this isn't a blind screen since B2 was facing A2 when the screen was set? Or does it become a blind screen? In this scenario, I'd say even a blind screen wouldn't need more than 1 step T&D. If two is the max allowed, even on a dead sprint, then one is sufficient in this play.

rwest Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:39pm

No
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 705873)
That's when he violated the provisions on screening, and created a blind screen, right? That's my point, as Snaqs has divined.

B2 is moving around the screen of A2. A3 sets a screen right in the path of B2. B2 sees him but is not given enough time or distance to stop. A3 is stationary when the contact occurs, but because the time and distance factor the foul is on A3.

Rule 4.40.5 - When screening a moving opponent, the screener must allow the opponent time and distance to avoid contact by stopping or changing direction. The speed of the player to be screened will determine where the screener may take his/her STATIONARY position. The position will vary and may be one to two normal steps or strides from the opponent.

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 705878)
B2 is moving around the screen of A2. A3 sets a screen right in the path of B2. B2 sees him but is not given enough time or distance to stop. A3 is stationary when the contact occurs, but because the time and distance factor the foul is on A3.

Rule 4.40.5 - When screening a moving opponent, the screener must allow the opponent time and distance to avoid contact by stopping or changing direction. The speed of the player to be screened will determine where the screener may take his/her STATIONARY position. The position will vary and may be one to two normal steps or strides from the opponent.

And I repeat myself:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 705847)
And mbyron's point is that failure to provide time and distance when required means the player moved just prior to contact. You're both saying the same thing and arguing over semantics now.


mbyron Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 705878)
B2 is moving around the screen of A2. A3 sets a screen right in the path of B2. B2 sees him but is not given enough time or distance to stop. A3 is stationary when the contact occurs, but because the time and distance factor the foul is on A3.

Rule 4.40.5 - When screening a moving opponent, the screener must allow the opponent time and distance to avoid contact by stopping or changing direction. The speed of the player to be screened will determine where the screener may take his/her STATIONARY position. The position will vary and may be one to two normal steps or strides from the opponent.

You keep saying 'no' and then agreeing with me. I'll stop trying to convince you of the last part. :rolleyes:

mbyron Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 705877)
Can we assume this isn't a blind screen since B2 was facing A2 when the screen was set? Or does it become a blind screen?

So we're going to let A2 "transform" a TC foul into a block as he runs over B2 just by turning his back to B2 right before the crash? I think not!

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 705884)
So we're going to let A2 "transform" a TC foul into a block as he runs over B2 just by turning his back to B2 right before the crash? I think not!

Agreed. The more I think about the play, the more I think it's not a blind screen, even if B2 slides right up against A2 (facing each other) before A2 turns to receive the pass.

mcdanrd Tue Dec 07, 2010 06:38pm

This is why you're "just a coach"

Pantherdreams Tue Dec 07, 2010 07:26pm

The last thing I want to discuss is what we all feel the word "muffed" means . . .

In my mind I'm imagining, a tipped or missed pass that results in the train wreck and a ball now loose.

So you've got a hapless defender no sprawled out on the floor, a clumsy/unlucky offensive player sprawled on the floor and a ball bouncing/bounding/ rolling loose.

Above and beyond the rest of the conversation about who, what when and where. No one here seems particularly or clearly disadvantaged or more impeded more or less then anyone else as the game progresses. Unless you have concerns over rough play, enjoy the calamity and play on.

No call.

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 706015)
The last thing I want to discuss is what we all feel the word "muffed" means . . .

In my mind I'm imagining, a tipped or missed pass that results in the train wreck and a ball now loose.

So you've got a hapless defender no sprawled out on the floor, a clumsy/unlucky offensive player sprawled on the floor and a ball bouncing/bounding/ rolling loose.

Above and beyond the rest of the conversation about who, what when and where. No one here seems particularly or clearly disadvantaged or more impeded more or less then anyone else as the game progresses. Unless you have concerns over rough play, enjoy the calamity and play on.

No call.

"Hapless defender?" I think the defender did his job, within the rules, and is now punished by being knocked to the floor.
Here's what I see.
Offensive player clearly responsible for contact.
Defensive player clearly within his rights.
Both players end up on the floor.
This is a clear advantage for the offense by knocking the defender to the ground. Regardless of rough play concerns, I've got a TC foul here unless A3 makes a clear attempt to stop upon contact with B3.

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcdanrd (Post 706012)
This is why you're "just a coach"

Really? That seems out of line from my POV.

mcdanrd Tue Dec 07, 2010 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 706021)
Really? That seems out of line from my POV.

Yep, you're right. I apologize.

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcdanrd (Post 706022)
Yep, you're right. I apologize.

Well, Lord knows I've done it, too.

justacoach Tue Dec 07, 2010 09:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcdanrd (Post 706012)
This is why you're "just a coach"

FYI, this marks my 5th year as a patched official. I joined this forum while still practicing the black arts of coaching. I am patriarch of a ref dynasty of 3 sons, the oldest of whom, at 19, is working a full V large school schedule.
Your recantation of the snide remark accepted in advance.
I certainly feel I have earned the privilige of delving into the murky deep waters surrounding the philosophical basis of officiating and inciting a meaningful discussion, discounting your comments.

Scrapper1 Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 706027)
I certainly feel I have earned the privilige of delving into the murky deep waters surrounding the philosophical basis of officiating and inciting a meaningful discussion

You certainly have. But you should probably read the rest of the thread before you respond to him again. He recanted (or at least apologized) an hour and a half before your last post. :) Don't you love a happy ending?

justacoach Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 706034)
You certainly have. But you should probably read the rest of the thread before you respond to him again. He recanted (or at least apologized) an hour and a half before your last post. :) Don't you love a happy ending?

You're right. Remind me to activate the scroll gesture on my PDA and use my glasses!

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 08, 2010 07:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 706034)
Don't you love a happy ending?

No.

Back In The Saddle Wed Dec 08, 2010 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 706064)
No.

Agitator.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1