Jurassic Referee |
Sun Dec 05, 2010 09:04pm |
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
(Post 705521)
I'll make some time in the next couple of days to search my old materials and look for the change, but I believe that it used to say "when the ball becomes dead" and now says "when a whistle blows."
|
Naw, why wait? Just give me a quick answer to this:
NFHS rule 2-7-4 prohibits practice during a dead ball. NFHS rule 5-12-5 prohibits players from sitting during a 30-second time-out. Neither rule has a penalty listed anywhere for it in the rule book or case book afaik. You are already on record in post #22 of this thread as stating that the penalty for practicing during a dead ball is an immediate technical foul with no warning. Would you also say that using the same logic the penalty for sitting during a 30-second time-out should be an immediate technical foul with no warning first either? Or if isn't an immediate "T", why isn't it? The rules are basically the same aren't they? They both explicitly prohibit players from doing something during the game without specifying a penalty if the players do so.
Hell, you shouldn't need to research anything to answer something as easy as that. Simply tell me if both rules...being similar... should be handled the same way..... and if not, whyinthehell not.
|