The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
I'm not understanding some of the thought proccess. He didn't just "jump" he started the habitual motion that preceeds a release of the ball trying to score a goal...that is totally different by rule than a jump. The only legal things he can do from there before he touches the ground is release the ball on a pass or try for a goal. I've played this game for a long time and coached for a long time...only officiated for a short time but it's always been a travell. And when studying the rule it shows travell. Not saying I'm right I just haven't seen anything rule quote wise that is changing my mind
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
I'm not understanding some of the thought proccess. He didn't just "jump" he started the habitual motion that preceeds a release of the ball trying to score a goal...that is totally different by rule than a jump. The only legal things he can do from there before he touches the ground is release the ball on a pass or try for a goal. I've played this game for a long time and coached for a long time...only officiated for a short time but it's always been a travell. And when studying the rule it shows travell. Not saying I'm right I just haven't seen anything rule quote wise that is changing my mind
Rule 4-21 = "A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a players grasp"

Therefore whether a jump or a shot how can it be a travel if the player lost player control?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
I'm not understanding some of the thought proccess. He didn't just "jump" he started the habitual motion that preceeds a release of the ball trying to score a goal...that is totally different by rule than a jump. The only legal things he can do from there before he touches the ground is release the ball on a pass or try for a goal. I've played this game for a long time and coached for a long time...only officiated for a short time but it's always been a travell. And when studying the rule it shows travell. Not saying I'm right I just haven't seen anything rule quote wise that is changing my mind
Sadly, the thinking from all of your years of experience would give you the wrong ruling during an NCAA game.

So what does that tell you?

A.R. 82. After ending a dribble, A1 leaves the playing court to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, A1 fumbles the ball. A1 (a) recovers the fumble while airborne, or (b) recovers the fumble after returning to the floor. A1 dribbles the ball. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct? RULING: Yes. In (a) and (b) A1 is permitted to recover the ball but after recovering the ball, A1 started a second dribble. However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered by A1, while airborne or after a return to the floor, A1 is allowed to start another dribble. If A1 had not previously dribbled the ball, and while airborne fumbled and recovered the ball (while airborne or after a return to the floor), he is permitted to start a dribble.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Dec 01, 2010 at 09:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Like I said I'm not saying I'm right.
All my years of experience where at the high school level and not NCAA. I'm sure the rule may differ between the two.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 09:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
Like I said I'm not saying I'm right.
All my years of experience where at the high school level and not NCAA. I'm sure the rule may differ between the two.
Nope.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Ok I will look into this deeper. Thanks all
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Sadly, the thinking from all of your years of experience would give you the wrong ruling during an NCAA game.

So what does that tell you?

A.R. 82. After ending a dribble, A1 leaves the playing court to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, A1 fumbles the ball. A1 (a) recovers the fumble while airborne, or (b) recovers the fumble after returning to the floor. A1 dribbles the ball. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct? RULING: Yes. In (a) and (b) A1 is permitted to recover the ball but after recovering the ball, A1 started a second dribble. However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered by A1, while airborne or after a return to the floor, A1 is allowed to start another dribble. If A1 had not previously dribbled the ball, and while airborne fumbled and recovered the ball (while airborne or after a return to the floor), he is permitted to start a dribble.
The touch by the opponent has to cause a loss of control in order for A1 to dribble a second time, right?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 09:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
The touch by the opponent has to cause a loss of control in order for A1 to dribble a second time, right?
Or be during the lost control; and it doesn't have to be an opponent.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 09:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
I'm not understanding some of the thought proccess. He didn't just "jump" he started the habitual motion that preceeds a release of the ball trying to score a goal...that is totally different by rule than a jump. The only legal things he can do from there before he touches the ground is release the ball on a pass or try for a goal. I've played this game for a long time and coached for a long time...only officiated for a short time but it's always been a travell. And when studying the rule it shows travell. Not saying I'm right I just haven't seen anything rule quote wise that is changing my mind
You're hung up on the fact that it was a try; it doesn't matter. He could have jumped to pass, it's the same thing. You're not looking at the right rule; read the case play. By your logic, 4.44.3A would be a travel.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
I'm not understanding some of the thought proccess. He didn't just "jump" he started the habitual motion that preceeds a release of the ball trying to score a goal...that is totally different by rule than a jump. The only legal things he can do from there before he touches the ground is release the ball on a pass or try for a goal. I've played this game for a long time and coached for a long time...only officiated for a short time but it's always been a travell. And when studying the rule it shows travell. Not saying I'm right I just haven't seen anything rule quote wise that is changing my mind
In the "real world," calling this a travel will likely get an official in less trouble than calling it legal.

That doesn't make it right.

And, despite Nevada's 2001 Interp, I seem to recall a later interp (or rule, or fundamental, or ...) to the effect that "a player can always recover a fumble." (Maybe I'm just thinking of the NCAA AR.)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
In the "real world," calling this a travel will likely get an official in less trouble than calling it legal.

That doesn't make it right.

And, despite Nevada's 2001 Interp, I seem to recall a later interp (or rule, or fundamental, or ...) to the effect that "a player can always recover a fumble." (Maybe I'm just thinking of the NCAA AR.)
Bob,
This just serves to prove my point. Here we have THREE VERY EXPERIENCED and VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE officials who are struggling to nail this one with 100% certainty. I thought I remember the quote you mention about recovering a fumble as well, but I am not sure. If the NFHS would simply keep all interps that are still valid in a publication all NFHS officials receive, this situation would be easier to know what to call.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Bob,
If the NFHS would simply keep all interps that are still valid in a publication all NFHS officials receive, this situation would be easier to know what to call.
I agree with that.

There's also an issue when a case is dropped without comment. Is it still valid (and was dropped for "space") or is it no longer valid (dropped because a rules change or subsequent interp)?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 06:22pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,464
The NFHS Version Of War And Peace ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
If the NFHS expects all officials to have knowledge of these interpretations, the NFHS must make all interpretations that are still in effect available to all officials. The only reasonable way for this to occur is to put all of these interpretations in the Case Book. Once again, if the NFHS wants all brand new, second year, tenth year and thirtieth year officials to be enforcing these interps, it is incumbent upon the NFHS to deliver these rulings somehow. Even if the NFHS added a publication called Still Valid Past Interpretations, the information would be "reasonably" available for all officials. Otherwise, it is not reasonable to expect new officials (or even experienced ones who don't have access to these interps, this one is ten years old. How many officials have been an official for less than 10 years to get this information and enforce these interps in their games.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
If the NFHS would simply keep all interps that are still valid in a publication all NFHS officials receive, this situation would be easier to know what to call.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I agree with that. There's also an issue when a case is dropped without comment. Is it still valid (and was dropped for "space") or is it no longer valid (dropped because a rules change or subsequent interp)?
I agree with both of you. I would be one of the first to purchase "Still Valid Past Interpretations" if such a publication existed.

Why is it that only Dr. Naismith, and Mark T. DeNucci, Sr., have access to the 1891-92 interpretations? It's not fair I tell you. It's blatant age discrimation. No doubt about it.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Co-possession travel Rick Durkee Basketball 3 Thu Mar 23, 2006 09:16am
Loss of equipment before possession stevesmith Lacrosse 6 Mon Apr 12, 2004 01:35pm
Loss of one of our own CK Basketball 1 Mon Nov 25, 2002 03:05pm
Loss of Down on Try Ray Lutz Football 6 Fri Oct 18, 2002 01:20pm
SECOND loss for the U.S hawkk Basketball 2 Mon Sep 09, 2002 11:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1