The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Swinging Elbows (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59819-swinging-elbows.html)

BktBallRef Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 702515)
What stipulates where the defenders' nose belongs or doesn't belong?

It belongs on his face. If he sticks his face outside of his vertical plance and within the opponent's vertical space, I'd say his face doesn't belong there.

PG_Ref Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 702522)
For NFHS, Rule 4-23-1.

Yep ... the nose that gets there first, belongs ;)

mbyron Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 702527)
It belongs on his face. If he sticks his face outside of his vertical plance and within the opponent's vertical space, I'd say his face doesn't belong there.

I like this word. May I use it?

Oh, and can you describe a horizontal plance?:D

Adam Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 702529)
Yep ... the nose that gets there first, belongs ;)

As BktBallRef alludes to, if B1 leans over A1, who pivots elbows out in the process of straightening up or even squaring up, it's likely going to be a no-call unless A1's elbow is somehow damaged.

PG_Ref Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 702538)
As BktBallRef alludes to, if B1 leans over A1, who pivots elbows out in the process of straightening up or even squaring up, it's likely going to be a no-call unless A1's elbow is somehow damaged.

Perhaps true, but based on the OP, I was going on the presumption that we have swinging elbows VS elbows moving via normal pivoting ...

AHSAA_Ref Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:52pm

My President says if the elbows do not move faster than the torso, it is not a violation or foul.

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 22, 2010 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 702538)
if B1 leans over A1, who pivots elbows out in the process of straightening up or even squaring up, it's likely going to be a no-call unless A1's elbow is somehow damaged.

Since this thread started with reference to the NCAA rules, I just want to remind everyone that the statement above is FALSE in NCAA games.

Adam Mon Nov 22, 2010 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 702561)
Since this thread started with reference to the NCAA rules, I just want to remind everyone that the statement above is FALSE in NCAA games.

So under what circumstance is a no-call acceptable when elbows make contact with face?

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 22, 2010 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AHSAA_Ref (Post 702556)
My President says if the elbows do not move faster than the torso, it is not a violation or foul.

Your President probably said that because the rules told him to say that. Just saying...:D

NFHS rule 4-24-8(a) and NCAA rule 4-36-7(a). Note though that both of those rules also go on to say that you can still call a foul or violation if you deem that the aggression(speed and vigor) of the elbow swing could cause injury if contact was made.

just another ref Mon Nov 22, 2010 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 702534)
Oh, and can you describe a horizontal plance?:D

He not only spelled it wrong, everybody knows most plants grow vertically.

"You plant the little seeds in the rich brown soil and watch them shoot up toward the sun and the sky." **





**Oliver Wendell Douglas

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 22, 2010 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 702571)
So under what circumstance is a no-call acceptable when elbows make contact with face?

Only when the elbow is NOT moving.

mbyron Mon Nov 22, 2010 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 702599)
Only when the elbow is NOT moving.

Wouldn't that be the face contacting the elbow, not vice versa?

Raymond Mon Nov 22, 2010 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AHSAA_Ref (Post 702556)
My President says if the elbows do not move faster than the torso, it is not a violation or foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702578)
Your President probably said that because the rules told him to say that. Just saying...:D
...

It's never a foul? :confused:

If A1 has the ball face level with his elbows out and pivots his entire body and his elbow contacts B1, who has established and maintained a legal guarding position, it's not a foul? Nevvver? (in my Bill Maher squeaky voice).

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 22, 2010 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 702600)
Wouldn't that be the face contacting the elbow, not vice versa?

Yes, that's correct. That's the only time elbow contact above the shoulders is incidental. I'm sorry if I made it more confusing than it has to be.

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 22, 2010 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AHSAA_Ref (Post 702556)
My President says if the elbows do not move faster than the torso, it is not a violation or foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 702604)
It's never a foul? :confused:

If A1 has the ball face level with his elbows out and pivots his entire body and his elbow contacts B1, who has established and maintained a legal guarding position, it's not a foul? Nevvver? (in my Bill Maher squeaky voice).

The part in red is why you're :confused: . AHSAA_Ref never mentioned contact. If a player's elbows are not moving faster than the torso, it's not excessive (by definition). Therefore, no violation or foul.

And even if there is contact, NFHS does not mandate that it must be a foul. At the high school level, officials are still allowed to exercise judgment about whether it was incidental or not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1