The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Swinging Elbows (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59819-swinging-elbows.html)

The_Rookie Sun Nov 21, 2010 07:08pm

Swinging Elbows
 
Watching the North Carolina and Vandy Game. Vandy Guard has the ball near division line and is holding the ball and swings his elbow and it hits the NC defender in nose. It was just a graze.

Ruling: Intentional Foul as a minimum call and could have been flagrant if more than a graze.

Question: Same Ruling in High School games??

just another ref Sun Nov 21, 2010 07:39pm

Impossible to say without seeing the play. Anything from a no call to a flagrant.

Scrapper1 Sun Nov 21, 2010 09:48pm

In NCAA beginning this year, any moving elbow which contacts an opponent above the shoulders is a minimum of an intentional foul. The intentional is for contact that result from "total body movement" (a normal pivot, for example). If contact anywhere on the opponent results from excessive swinging of the elbows, then it is a flagrant foul.

Adam Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 702466)
In NCAA beginning this year, any moving elbow which contacts an opponent above the shoulders is a minimum of an intentional foul. The intentional is for contact that result from "total body movement" (a normal pivot, for example). If contact anywhere on the opponent results from excessive swinging of the elbows, then it is a flagrant foul.

So there's no chance of incidental? Even if the defender sticks his nose in where it doesn't belong?

Raymond Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 702471)
So there's no chance of incidental? Even if the defender sticks his nose in where it doesn't belong?

Incidental is a choice. But a common foul is not.

BktBallRef Sun Nov 21, 2010 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 702471)
So there's no chance of incidental? Even if the defender sticks his nose in where it doesn't belong?

The "incidental" elbows I saw last year resulted in ejections, if incidental means, "I swung my elbow, knocked you on your *** even though I didn't know you were there.

JRutledge Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:16am

No it is not the same at the high school level. The NCAA wants certain kinds of fouls called if contact is with the head. HS has not made these provisions about calling an intentional foul with all contact of that nature.

Peace

APG Mon Nov 22, 2010 05:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 702475)
HS has not made these provisions about calling an intentional foul with all contact of that nature...

...yet. I wouldn't be surprised if we see a similar edict in a year or two. ;)

bob jenkins Mon Nov 22, 2010 08:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 702451)
Watching the North Carolina and Vandy Game. Vandy Guard has the ball near division line and is holding the ball and swings his elbow and it hits the NC defender in nose. It was just a graze.

Ruling: Intentional Foul as a minimum call and could have been flagrant if more than a graze.

Question: Same Ruling in High School games??

Is this the same game as discussed here:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...your-call.html

In any event, the NCAA and FED rules are different.

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 22, 2010 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 702471)
So there's no chance of incidental? Even if the defender sticks his nose in where it doesn't belong?

My understanding is that if the elbow is moving, then incidental is not an option. Because of this, we have been pre-gaming that if a defender "sticks his nose in where it doesn't belong", we grab any initial contact as a common foul on the defender. Get those little guys out of there, and there's less chance for that big guy to pivot and get hit with the intentional.

PIAA REF Mon Nov 22, 2010 09:47am

my take
 
NCAA redefined elbows above the shoulders. NFHS did not. THe play in the UNC-Vandy game could have just been a player control foul in High School.

JRutledge Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 702477)
...yet. I wouldn't be surprised if we see a similar edict in a year or two. ;)

I wouldn't either.

Peace

SWMOzebra Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 702484)
My understanding is that if the elbow is moving, then incidental is not an option. Because of this, we have been pre-gaming that if a defender "sticks his nose in where it doesn't belong", we grab any initial contact as a common foul on the defender. Get those little guys out of there, and there's less chance for that big guy to pivot and get hit with the intentional.

+1

This has been standard in each pregrame I've been involved with this year.

PG_Ref Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 702471)
Even if the defender sticks his nose in where it doesn't belong?

What stipulates where the defenders' nose belongs or doesn't belong?

mbyron Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 702515)
What stipulates where the defenders' nose belongs or doesn't belong?

For NFHS, Rule 4-23-1.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 702515)
What stipulates where the defenders' nose belongs or doesn't belong?

It belongs on his face. If he sticks his face outside of his vertical plance and within the opponent's vertical space, I'd say his face doesn't belong there.

PG_Ref Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 702522)
For NFHS, Rule 4-23-1.

Yep ... the nose that gets there first, belongs ;)

mbyron Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 702527)
It belongs on his face. If he sticks his face outside of his vertical plance and within the opponent's vertical space, I'd say his face doesn't belong there.

I like this word. May I use it?

Oh, and can you describe a horizontal plance?:D

Adam Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 702529)
Yep ... the nose that gets there first, belongs ;)

As BktBallRef alludes to, if B1 leans over A1, who pivots elbows out in the process of straightening up or even squaring up, it's likely going to be a no-call unless A1's elbow is somehow damaged.

PG_Ref Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 702538)
As BktBallRef alludes to, if B1 leans over A1, who pivots elbows out in the process of straightening up or even squaring up, it's likely going to be a no-call unless A1's elbow is somehow damaged.

Perhaps true, but based on the OP, I was going on the presumption that we have swinging elbows VS elbows moving via normal pivoting ...

AHSAA_Ref Mon Nov 22, 2010 01:52pm

My President says if the elbows do not move faster than the torso, it is not a violation or foul.

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 22, 2010 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 702538)
if B1 leans over A1, who pivots elbows out in the process of straightening up or even squaring up, it's likely going to be a no-call unless A1's elbow is somehow damaged.

Since this thread started with reference to the NCAA rules, I just want to remind everyone that the statement above is FALSE in NCAA games.

Adam Mon Nov 22, 2010 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 702561)
Since this thread started with reference to the NCAA rules, I just want to remind everyone that the statement above is FALSE in NCAA games.

So under what circumstance is a no-call acceptable when elbows make contact with face?

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 22, 2010 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AHSAA_Ref (Post 702556)
My President says if the elbows do not move faster than the torso, it is not a violation or foul.

Your President probably said that because the rules told him to say that. Just saying...:D

NFHS rule 4-24-8(a) and NCAA rule 4-36-7(a). Note though that both of those rules also go on to say that you can still call a foul or violation if you deem that the aggression(speed and vigor) of the elbow swing could cause injury if contact was made.

just another ref Mon Nov 22, 2010 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 702534)
Oh, and can you describe a horizontal plance?:D

He not only spelled it wrong, everybody knows most plants grow vertically.

"You plant the little seeds in the rich brown soil and watch them shoot up toward the sun and the sky." **





**Oliver Wendell Douglas

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 22, 2010 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 702571)
So under what circumstance is a no-call acceptable when elbows make contact with face?

Only when the elbow is NOT moving.

mbyron Mon Nov 22, 2010 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 702599)
Only when the elbow is NOT moving.

Wouldn't that be the face contacting the elbow, not vice versa?

Raymond Mon Nov 22, 2010 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AHSAA_Ref (Post 702556)
My President says if the elbows do not move faster than the torso, it is not a violation or foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702578)
Your President probably said that because the rules told him to say that. Just saying...:D
...

It's never a foul? :confused:

If A1 has the ball face level with his elbows out and pivots his entire body and his elbow contacts B1, who has established and maintained a legal guarding position, it's not a foul? Nevvver? (in my Bill Maher squeaky voice).

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 22, 2010 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 702600)
Wouldn't that be the face contacting the elbow, not vice versa?

Yes, that's correct. That's the only time elbow contact above the shoulders is incidental. I'm sorry if I made it more confusing than it has to be.

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 22, 2010 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AHSAA_Ref (Post 702556)
My President says if the elbows do not move faster than the torso, it is not a violation or foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 702604)
It's never a foul? :confused:

If A1 has the ball face level with his elbows out and pivots his entire body and his elbow contacts B1, who has established and maintained a legal guarding position, it's not a foul? Nevvver? (in my Bill Maher squeaky voice).

The part in red is why you're :confused: . AHSAA_Ref never mentioned contact. If a player's elbows are not moving faster than the torso, it's not excessive (by definition). Therefore, no violation or foul.

And even if there is contact, NFHS does not mandate that it must be a foul. At the high school level, officials are still allowed to exercise judgment about whether it was incidental or not.

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 22, 2010 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702578)
Your President probably said that because the rules told him to say that. Just saying...:D

NFHS rule 4-24-8(a) and NCAA rule 4-36-7(a). <font color = red>Note though that both of those rules also go on to say that you can still call a foul or violation if you deem that the aggression(speed and vigor) of the elbow swing could cause injury if contact was made</font>.

Yo, BadNews...

Miss the red-highlighted part?

Raymond Mon Nov 22, 2010 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702614)
Yo, BadNews...

Miss the red-highlighted part?


I was focused on the "never a foul" statement since AASHA didn't quote which post he was responding to.

BillyMac Mon Nov 22, 2010 08:07pm

Out Of Joint ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 702515)
What stipulates where the defenders' nose belongs or doesn't belong?

Remember: You can pick your friends, and you can pick your nose, but you can't pick your friend's nose.

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 22, 2010 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 702645)
Remember: You can pick your friends, and you can pick your nose, but you can't pick your friend's nose.

Not true. You can if you really want to and your friend has no complaints about your doing so.

Just saying.....

Adam Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702653)
Not true. You can if you really want to and your friend has no complaints about your doing so.

Just saying.....

Not many of us have friends like that.

just another ref Mon Nov 22, 2010 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 702669)
Not many of us have friends like that.

Or want friends like that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1