The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in question. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59817-throw-question.html)

Adam Tue Nov 23, 2010 08:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 702700)
My 16 yo son is leading instruction of a novice officiating class as a community service project. I'll comp you the entry fee and throw in a 3 pack of Fed Basketball publications as added inducement, in your choice of Standard or Remedial English.
You really should consider it, he covers those dastardly perplexing throw-in issues in the first half hour of class. Honestly, we're just across the bridge and you're sure to be pleased...:confused::confused:

PM me for details, be sure to mention promo code ID-10-T for your special offer

Really?

doubleringer Tue Nov 23, 2010 02:39pm

Since we are on the topic of the throw in. Last night my high school season began (so we are NFHS rules here). During the loooonnnnngggggg JV/V girls double header, we had a throw in after a made basket (Team A). There was a held ball on the throw in, A retains possession. Do the retain the right to run the baseline? It led to a good conversation, but unfortunately the JV game took 2 hours (and we left fouls out there) so we didn't get in to the books in post-game.

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 23, 2010 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by doubleringer (Post 702836)
Since we are on the topic of the throw in. Last night my high school season began (so we are NFHS rules here). During the loooonnnnngggggg JV/V girls double header, we had a throw in after a made basket (Team A). There was a held ball on the throw in, A retains possession. Do the retain the right to run the baseline? It led to a good conversation, but unfortunately the JV game took 2 hours (and we left fouls out there) so we didn't get in to the books in post-game.

Nope. You only retain the right if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul and the ensuing throw-in was still on the end line. A held-ball is neither a violation or common foul.

NFHS rule 7-5-7(b)

Eastshire Tue Nov 23, 2010 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by doubleringer (Post 702836)
Since we are on the topic of the throw in. Last night my high school season began (so we are NFHS rules here). During the loooonnnnngggggg JV/V girls double header, we had a throw in after a made basket (Team A). There was a held ball on the throw in, A retains possession. Do the retain the right to run the baseline? It led to a good conversation, but unfortunately the JV game took 2 hours (and we left fouls out there) so we didn't get in to the books in post-game.

No, B did not foul or violate during the throw-in. You have a spot throw-in at the location closest to the held ball.

Raymond Tue Nov 23, 2010 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by doubleringer (Post 702836)
Since we are on the topic of the throw in. Last night my high school season began (so we are NFHS rules here). During the loooonnnnngggggg JV/V girls double header, we had a throw in after a made basket (Team A). There was a held ball on the throw in, A retains possession. Do the retain the right to run the baseline? It led to a good conversation, but unfortunately the JV game took 2 hours (and we left fouls out there) so we didn't get in to the books in post-game.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702840)
Nope. You only retain the right if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul and the ensuing throw-in was still on the end line. A held-ball is neither a violation or common foul.

NFHS rule 7-5-7(b)

No book on me but I'm thinking the rationale is that the throw-in ends on the held ball unlike a foul or violation.

doubleringer Tue Nov 23, 2010 03:56pm

Yeah, we put the ball back in to play with a spot throw in, but it was a playthat made you stop and think. As a previous post state, the ball was not illegally touched to end the throw in. Essentially how I looked at it was the ball was legally touched to end the throw in....by both teams. :D

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 23, 2010 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by doubleringer (Post 702867)
Yeah, we put the ball back in to play with a spot throw in, but it was a playthat made you stop and think. As a previous post state, the ball was not illegally touched to end the throw in. Essentially how I looked at it was the ball was legally touched to end the throw in....by both teams. :D

Doesn't rule 4-42-5 say that a throw-in ends "when the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player in-bounds." Can you end a throw-in when there never was a passed ball(throw-in pass) by the thrower? The ball never left the thrower's hands.

Semantics can drive you nuts. :D

mbyron Tue Nov 23, 2010 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702879)
Can you end a throw-in when there never was a passed ball(throw-in pass) by the thrower?

Yes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1