The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Here's a weird clock question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59682-heres-weird-clock-question.html)

APG Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700449)
The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.

Jump ball to start the game...both jumpers touch the ball legally. Are you saying you won't start the clock when the jumpers touch the ball? Because according to what you just stated, it wouldn't start since there is no team/player control in this situation...

The rule has already been posted earlier as to when the clock should be correctly started.

chseagle Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:07pm

AI (OOB Player) never released the ball to be inbounds, so the clock would not be started.

SECTION 9 RE-STARTING THE CLOCK
ART. 1 . . . After time has been out, the clock shall be started when the official signals time-in. If the official neglects to signal, the timer is authorized to start the clock as per rule, unless an official specifically signals continued time-out.
ART. 2 . . . If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.
ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.
ART. 4 . . . If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower.

In the OP, A1 (the thrower) never releases the ball although B1 is holding the ball. Because the ball HAS NOT been released by the thrower, the clock will not start.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 700452)
Tsk, tsk, tsk....

Wrong again. I'd tell you to stick to timing but it looks like you don't really know what you're doing in that area either.

Player or team control has got diddly-squat to do with starting the clock on a throw-in. The pertinent rule....5-9-4... has already been cited.


Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700456)
In the OP, A1 (the thrower) never releases the ball although B1 is holding the ball. Because the ball HAS NOT been released by the thrower, the clock will not start.

In the OP, you are correct. But your blanket assertion that the clock does not start because there is no team control ... that is just wrong. Team control has exactly nothing to do with when the clock properly starts. The clock starts...wait for it...when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court... And merely touching the ball does not create player or team control.

chseagle Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:27pm

ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.

In the case of a missed free throw, the clock can be started by an offensive player tapping the ball for a try on the rebound, or a defensive player taps the ball towards another player.

On opening jumps, the clock starts when the ball is tapped by one or both jumpers, unless signaled otherwise.

However as stated in 5-9-1 the timer can start the clock if they do not see the floor official signal start clock/neglects to signal (their discretion on what it means by ball legally touched), unless floor official specifically signals continued time out.

I always wait for the floor official to signal start clock before the clock starts. Rarely have I had to start the clock due to failure to see the start clock signal.

Generally when I see the start clock signal, there is player/team control established except during jump balls & free throw rebounds.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 700458)
In the OP, you are correct. But your blanket assertion that the clock does not start because there is no team control ... that is just wrong. Team control has exactly nothing to do with when the clock properly starts. The clock starts...wait for it...when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court... And merely touching the ball does not create player or team control.


Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:33pm

Jump ball, throw-in, free throw missed, in all cases the clock starts when the ball is legally touched. If the clock doesn't start until team control is established, it was started late.

Adam Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 700415)
Perhaps you are confusing this with a previous discussion about a kicked inbounds pass? In that case the throw-in has been released. Or I would hope it has been.

I was thinking that, to be honest, but the way the rule reads even that wouldn't start the clock.

Adam Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700416)
All I was doing was asking a question as to why the call is what it is.

How I understand rules/regulations, this would be a Defensive throw-in violation as the offense is unable to complete the throw-in. However, show me the rule & case book play that shows otherwise, & my thinking will change.

You need to show me a rule that says it's a violation for the defense to prevent the offense from completing a throwin.

Camron Rust Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bishopcolle (Post 700446)
The player OB makes the ball OB, regardless of team/player control, doesn't he?

Except for the fact that the player is supposed to be OOB....it is a throwin.

Adam Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:07am

This, as has been stated, is just wrong.
Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700449)
The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.

But is this a retraction?

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700456)
AI (OOB Player) never released the ball to be inbounds, so the clock would not be started.

(snip)
In the OP, A1 (the thrower) never releases the ball although B1 is holding the ball. Because the ball HAS NOT been released by the thrower, the clock will not start.

then there's this:

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700460)
ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.

In the case of a missed free throw, the clock can be started by an offensive player tapping the ball for a try on the rebound, or a defensive player taps the ball towards another player.

On opening jumps, the clock starts when the ball is tapped by one or both jumpers, unless signaled otherwise.

However as stated in 5-9-1 the timer can start the clock if they do not see the floor official signal start clock/neglects to signal (their discretion on what it means by ball legally touched), unless floor official specifically signals continued time out.

I always wait for the floor official to signal start clock before the clock starts. Rarely have I had to start the clock due to failure to see the start clock signal.

Generally when I see the start clock signal, there is player/team control established except during jump balls & free throw rebounds.

Key word here is "generally." Don't base your understanding of the rules on what you generally see happen. Quite a few times each game you'll see a throw-in pass tipped before it is controlled.

chseagle Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:22am

The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700476)
You need to show me a rule that says it's a violation for the defense to prevent the offense from completing a throwin.


chseagle Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700480)
Key word here is "generally." Don't base your understanding of the rules on what you generally see happen. Quite a few times each game you'll see a throw-in pass tipped before it is controlled.

In other words, I was meaning most of the time.

As has been mentioned several times, the timer is not right there in front of/next to the play, so the timer has to rely on the floor official to signal when to start/stop the clock.

just another ref Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700486)
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4

The player breaking the plane is the violation. It has nothing to do with completing the throw-in.

just another ref Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700460)

However as stated in 5-9-1 the timer can start the clock if they do not see the floor official signal start clock/neglects to signal (their discretion on what it means by ball legally touched), unless floor official specifically signals continued time out.


I find the thought of eagle using his discretion to be somewhat troubling.

Adam Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700487)
In other words, I was meaning most of the time.

As has been mentioned several times, the timer is not right there in front of/next to the play, so the timer has to rely on the floor official to signal when to start/stop the clock.

So it's a retraction from your first statement. Understood.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 11, 2010 06:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700486)
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4

Um, no. The thrower held the ball over the plane in-bounds. The defender grabbed the ball on the in-bounds side of the plane. At NO time, did the defender cross the plane out-of-bounds. That's why it's a legal play.

You don't have a friggin' clue whatinthehell you're talking about. And that includes when and why to start the clock. If you don't understand what we're talking about, by all means ask questions until you do. But DO NOT try to tell us what to do. Quite simply, you do not have the rules knowledge to be doing something like that.

Just a suggestion from the kinder, gentler JR.....


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1