The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Here's a weird clock question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59682-heres-weird-clock-question.html)

Mark Padgett Wed Nov 10, 2010 03:11pm

Here's a weird clock question
 
I had a second year guy ask me this the other night at our local kids rec league ref meeting.

A1 is to inbound following a violation on team B. The clock is stopped. A1 holds the ball over the line and it is grabbed by B1, forcing a jump ball. Would you chop the clock as soon as the ball is touched by B1 then stop it virtually immediately? Or would you rule the ball wasn't legally touched so the clock would not start?

He also asked if it was an AP throw-in instead of one following a violation, who would get the subsequent throw-in and what would happen to the AP arrow.

muxbule Wed Nov 10, 2010 03:15pm

The clock question is a good one and I don't have my books to research but the held ball on the AP throw in stays with the team who was making the throw. Since there was no end to the throw in the arrow stays where it was until the completed AP throw in to come.
Again, no books to site rules or casebook but it won't take long for someone.

Adam Wed Nov 10, 2010 03:21pm

Seems similar to the kicked throwin dilemma. The clock starts when the ball is touched, so it seems fair for there to be some lag time.
Personally, it would be hard for me to "correct" either way.

centkyref Wed Nov 10, 2010 04:29pm

An easy fix to this
 
I was involved with the kicked throw in dilemma discussion and thought I'd throw in my .02 on this one. IMO, the reason for the alternating possession rules to be in there at all is for the teams to "take turns" in what used to be jump ball situations. 6-4-4 currently reads "The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends as in 4-42-5."

In the sitch above, there is an AP throwin that "ends" with a held ball. (But it doesn't end as in 4-42-5, thus the conundrum) Why not just revise the wording of 6-4-4 to say the direction of the possession arrow is reversed when the ball is placed at the disposal of a team for an alternating possession throw in.

This seems to me to be a fairly simple editorial change, and gets rid of those rare and obscure rulings that have to happen because of the wording of 6-4-4, and restores the "take turns" intent of the alternating possession.

Adam Wed Nov 10, 2010 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by centkyref (Post 700373)
I was involved with the kicked throw in dilemma discussion and thought I'd throw in my .02 on this one. IMO, the reason for the alternating possession rules to be in there at all is for the teams to "take turns" in what used to be jump ball situations. 6-4-4 currently reads "The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends as in 4-42-5."

In the sitch above, there is an AP throwin that "ends" with a held ball. (But it doesn't end as in 4-42-5, thus the conundrum) Why not just revise the wording of 6-4-4 to say the direction of the possession arrow is reversed when the ball is placed at the disposal of a team for an alternating possession throw in.

This seems to me to be a fairly simple editorial change, and gets rid of those rare and obscure rulings that have to happen because of the wording of 6-4-4, and restores the "take turns" intent of the alternating possession.


I'm with you, but the NFHS has determined the arrow presents the throw-in team with the opportunity to have an entire throw-in. Personally, I think once the thrower is handed the ball, the AP arrow has done its job, but the NFHS disagrees (along with 99% of the posters on this board).

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 10, 2010 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 700340)
Would you chop the clock as soon as the ball is touched by B1 then stop it virtually immediately? Or would you rule the ball wasn't legally touched so the clock would not start?

Neither. 5-9-4.

Cobra Wed Nov 10, 2010 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700347)
Seems similar to the kicked throwin dilemma. The clock starts when the ball is touched, so it seems fair for there to be some lag time.
Personally, it would be hard for me to "correct" either way.

The clock doesn't start when the ball is touched. It is started when the ball is legally touched by a player on the court after it has been released by the thrower.

In the held ball and kicked pass situations the clock does not start.

Adam Wed Nov 10, 2010 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 700393)
The clock doesn't start when the ball is touched. It is started when the ball is legally touched by a player on the court after it has been released by the thrower.

In the held ball and kicked pass situations the clock does not start.

Right, I'd forgotten about the "after it has been released" part, but I'm not sure about the "legally" part; unless it's new. I'll check my book when I get in the car.

grunewar Wed Nov 10, 2010 06:03pm

Someone send up the bat signal.....
 
Where's our infamous table-guy when you need him? He'd know what to do! ;)

mbyron Wed Nov 10, 2010 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700395)
Right, I'd forgotten about the "after it has been released" part, but I'm not sure about the "legally" part; unless it's new. I'll check my book when I get in the car.

5-9-4: "If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the
ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by
the thrower."

chseagle Wed Nov 10, 2010 07:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 700340)
A1 is to inbound following a violation on team B. The clock is stopped. A1 holds the ball over the line and it is grabbed by B1, forcing a jump ball.

How can this be a jump ball if one player is OOB?

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 700407)
5-9-4: "If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower."

In the OP it is stated that A1 still has possession of the ball OOB when B1 creates the "jump ball". A1 never releases the ball & is still OOB, so how can the clock be started?

Adam Wed Nov 10, 2010 07:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700408)
How can this be a jump ball if one player is OOB?

Because that's the rule. Would call would you suggest?

Adam Wed Nov 10, 2010 07:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 700407)
5-9-4: "If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the
ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by
the thrower."

Saw that, thanks. I also see it was the same last year. I wonder if it's changed, as I recall a dilemma on this play but don't see it now.

Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 10, 2010 08:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700412)
Saw that, thanks. I also see it was the same last year. I wonder if it's changed, as I recall a dilemma on this play but don't see it now.

Perhaps you are confusing this with a previous discussion about a kicked inbounds pass? In that case the throw-in has been released. Or I would hope it has been.

chseagle Wed Nov 10, 2010 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700411)
Because that's the rule. Would call would you suggest?

All I was doing was asking a question as to why the call is what it is.

How I understand rules/regulations, this would be a Defensive throw-in violation as the offense is unable to complete the throw-in. However, show me the rule & case book play that shows otherwise, & my thinking will change.

mbyron Wed Nov 10, 2010 08:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700416)
How I understand rules/regulations, this would be a Defensive throw-in violation as the offense is unable to complete the throw-in. However, show me the rule & case book play that shows otherwise, & my thinking will change.

You're making up rules. Of course the defense is trying to prevent the offense from completing a throw-in -- no rule prohibits that.

chseagle Wed Nov 10, 2010 08:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 700417)
You're making up rules. Of course the defense is trying to prevent the offense from completing a throw-in -- no rule prohibits that.

by B1 grabbing the ball and preventing A1 from completing the throw-in while A1 still has the ball is not a violation?

mbyron, I also asked that be shown the rule &/or case book play that says otherwise, which you did not do.

How about 9-2-10?

just another ref Wed Nov 10, 2010 08:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700421)
by B1 grabbing the ball and preventing A1 from completing the throw-in while A1 still has the ball is not a violation?

mbyron, I also asked that be shown the rule &/or case book play that says otherwise, which you did not do.

How about 9-2-10?

Read the OP again. A1 extended the ball over the line, iow, out over the inbounds area.

Now tell us how 9-2-10 applies.

chseagle Wed Nov 10, 2010 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 700424)
Read the OP again. A1 extended the ball over the line, iow, out over the inbounds area.

Now tell us how 9-2-10 applies.

There was never an explanation if A1 pulled the ball back over the plane before the whistle.

If the ball did recross the plane then B1 would be in violation?

ART. 10. . . The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.
NOTE: The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds area before the ball is released on the throw-in pass. The opponent in this situation may legally touch or grasp the ball.

A1 holds the ball across the plane, true, however what constitutes the legality of B1 being able to grab the ball causing the "jump ball"?

Also why didn't A1 just release the ball as soon as B1 grabbed it?

In this sitch, there are many what ifs or whys.

Bishopcolle Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:06pm

I believe A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds, and therefore not a jump ball. 7-2-2. IMO.

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700431)
A1 holds the ball across the plane, true, however what constitutes the legality of B1 being able to grab the ball causing the "jump ball"?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bishopcolle (Post 700433)
I believe A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds, and therefore not a jump ball. 7-2-2. IMO.

Case book play 7.6.4 Situation F.

I like it when the answer is so obvious that all I have to do is post a citation that addresses it exactly! (And I've been able to do that twice just in this thread!)

Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bishopcolle (Post 700433)
I believe A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds, and therefore not a jump ball. 7-2-2. IMO.

Bzzzzzt. Thanks for playing. ;)

APG Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700431)

Also why didn't A1 just release the ball as soon as B1 grabbed it?

In this sitch, there are many what ifs or whys.

The rule is pretty simple. If A1 holds the ball on the inbound side of the plane, Team B is free to play the ball. That means he can knock it out of his hands/cause a held ball. If Team A doesn't want this to happen, they best stay on the out of bounds side of the plane. In this sitch, if A1 were to hold the ball on the inbounds side of the plane and just dropped it whenever B1 grabbed it, the ball would be in play. A1 just basically gave the ball to Team B

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bishopcolle (Post 700433)
I believe A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds, and therefore not a jump ball. 7-2-2. IMO.

How does a thrower cause the ball to be out of bounds whenever he is legally out of bounds and the throw-in hasn't ended? The correct call is a held ball.

just another ref Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bishopcolle (Post 700433)
I believe A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds, and therefore not a jump ball. 7-2-2. IMO.

The throw-in did not end. A1 is legally out of bounds.

Bishopcolle Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 700439)
Case book play 7.6.4 Situation F.

I like it when the answer is so obvious that all I have to do is post a citation that addresses it exactly! (And I've been able to do that twice just in this thread!)

Well, that certainly addresses the OP with an answer....I'm still wondering why player control or team control comes into the picture at all. If two players hold the ball, who's controlling it doesn't seem to be part of the question at that time, if one player is out of bounds. The player OB makes the ball OB, regardless of team/player control, doesn't he? Again, I can read 7.6.4 F, but just curious about why control is part of the debate, and why OB doesn't supercede here. I appreciate your response...it seems dead on point.

chseagle Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:39pm

Yes it really is obvious, I never thought of it like stated.

7.6.4 SITUATION F: Thrower A1 inadvertently holds the ball through the endline plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to get his/her hands on the ball and A1 cannot pull it back.
RULING: There is no player or team control during a throw in,
therefore a held ball is called, resulting in an alternating-possession throw-in. If the original throw-in is an alternating-possession throw-in, Team A still has the arrow following the held ball.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 700439)
Case book play 7.6.4 Situation F.

I like it when the answer is so obvious that all I have to do is post a citation that addresses it exactly! (And I've been able to do that twice just in this thread!)


chseagle Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bishopcolle (Post 700446)
Well, that certainly addresses the OP with an answer....I'm still wondering why player control or team control comes into the picture at all. If two players hold the ball, who's controlling it doesn't seem to be part of the question at that time, if one player is out of bounds. The player OB makes the ball OB, regardless of team/player control, doesn't he? Again, I can read 7.6.4 F, but just curious about why control is part of the debate, and why OB doesn't supercede here. I appreciate your response...it seems dead on point.

How can a ball be OOB if it was not inbounds via player/team control to begin with?

The throw-in never ended with the ball in control inbounds.

chseagle Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:45pm

The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 700340)
I had a second year guy ask me this the other night at our local kids rec league ref meeting.

A1 is to inbound following a violation on team B. The clock is stopped. A1 holds the ball over the line and it is grabbed by B1, forcing a jump ball. Would you chop the clock as soon as the ball is touched by B1 then stop it virtually immediately? Or would you rule the ball wasn't legally touched so the clock would not start?

He also asked if it was an AP throw-in instead of one following a violation, who would get the subsequent throw-in and what would happen to the AP arrow.


Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 700439)
Case book play 7.6.4 Situation F.

I like it when the answer is so obvious that all I have to do is post a citation that addresses it exactly! (And I've been able to do that twice just in this thread!)

Also case book play 6.4.5SitB.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700449)
The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.

Tsk, tsk, tsk....

Wrong again. I'd tell you to stick to timing but it looks like you don't really know what you're doing in that area either.

Player or team control has got diddly-squat to do with starting the clock on a throw-in. The pertinent rule....5-9-4... has already been cited.

APG Wed Nov 10, 2010 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700449)
The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.

Jump ball to start the game...both jumpers touch the ball legally. Are you saying you won't start the clock when the jumpers touch the ball? Because according to what you just stated, it wouldn't start since there is no team/player control in this situation...

The rule has already been posted earlier as to when the clock should be correctly started.

chseagle Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:07pm

AI (OOB Player) never released the ball to be inbounds, so the clock would not be started.

SECTION 9 RE-STARTING THE CLOCK
ART. 1 . . . After time has been out, the clock shall be started when the official signals time-in. If the official neglects to signal, the timer is authorized to start the clock as per rule, unless an official specifically signals continued time-out.
ART. 2 . . . If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.
ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.
ART. 4 . . . If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower.

In the OP, A1 (the thrower) never releases the ball although B1 is holding the ball. Because the ball HAS NOT been released by the thrower, the clock will not start.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 700452)
Tsk, tsk, tsk....

Wrong again. I'd tell you to stick to timing but it looks like you don't really know what you're doing in that area either.

Player or team control has got diddly-squat to do with starting the clock on a throw-in. The pertinent rule....5-9-4... has already been cited.


Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700456)
In the OP, A1 (the thrower) never releases the ball although B1 is holding the ball. Because the ball HAS NOT been released by the thrower, the clock will not start.

In the OP, you are correct. But your blanket assertion that the clock does not start because there is no team control ... that is just wrong. Team control has exactly nothing to do with when the clock properly starts. The clock starts...wait for it...when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court... And merely touching the ball does not create player or team control.

chseagle Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:27pm

ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.

In the case of a missed free throw, the clock can be started by an offensive player tapping the ball for a try on the rebound, or a defensive player taps the ball towards another player.

On opening jumps, the clock starts when the ball is tapped by one or both jumpers, unless signaled otherwise.

However as stated in 5-9-1 the timer can start the clock if they do not see the floor official signal start clock/neglects to signal (their discretion on what it means by ball legally touched), unless floor official specifically signals continued time out.

I always wait for the floor official to signal start clock before the clock starts. Rarely have I had to start the clock due to failure to see the start clock signal.

Generally when I see the start clock signal, there is player/team control established except during jump balls & free throw rebounds.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 700458)
In the OP, you are correct. But your blanket assertion that the clock does not start because there is no team control ... that is just wrong. Team control has exactly nothing to do with when the clock properly starts. The clock starts...wait for it...when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court... And merely touching the ball does not create player or team control.


Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:33pm

Jump ball, throw-in, free throw missed, in all cases the clock starts when the ball is legally touched. If the clock doesn't start until team control is established, it was started late.

Adam Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 700415)
Perhaps you are confusing this with a previous discussion about a kicked inbounds pass? In that case the throw-in has been released. Or I would hope it has been.

I was thinking that, to be honest, but the way the rule reads even that wouldn't start the clock.

Adam Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700416)
All I was doing was asking a question as to why the call is what it is.

How I understand rules/regulations, this would be a Defensive throw-in violation as the offense is unable to complete the throw-in. However, show me the rule & case book play that shows otherwise, & my thinking will change.

You need to show me a rule that says it's a violation for the defense to prevent the offense from completing a throwin.

Camron Rust Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bishopcolle (Post 700446)
The player OB makes the ball OB, regardless of team/player control, doesn't he?

Except for the fact that the player is supposed to be OOB....it is a throwin.

Adam Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:07am

This, as has been stated, is just wrong.
Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700449)
The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.

But is this a retraction?

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700456)
AI (OOB Player) never released the ball to be inbounds, so the clock would not be started.

(snip)
In the OP, A1 (the thrower) never releases the ball although B1 is holding the ball. Because the ball HAS NOT been released by the thrower, the clock will not start.

then there's this:

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700460)
ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.

In the case of a missed free throw, the clock can be started by an offensive player tapping the ball for a try on the rebound, or a defensive player taps the ball towards another player.

On opening jumps, the clock starts when the ball is tapped by one or both jumpers, unless signaled otherwise.

However as stated in 5-9-1 the timer can start the clock if they do not see the floor official signal start clock/neglects to signal (their discretion on what it means by ball legally touched), unless floor official specifically signals continued time out.

I always wait for the floor official to signal start clock before the clock starts. Rarely have I had to start the clock due to failure to see the start clock signal.

Generally when I see the start clock signal, there is player/team control established except during jump balls & free throw rebounds.

Key word here is "generally." Don't base your understanding of the rules on what you generally see happen. Quite a few times each game you'll see a throw-in pass tipped before it is controlled.

chseagle Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:22am

The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700476)
You need to show me a rule that says it's a violation for the defense to prevent the offense from completing a throwin.


chseagle Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700480)
Key word here is "generally." Don't base your understanding of the rules on what you generally see happen. Quite a few times each game you'll see a throw-in pass tipped before it is controlled.

In other words, I was meaning most of the time.

As has been mentioned several times, the timer is not right there in front of/next to the play, so the timer has to rely on the floor official to signal when to start/stop the clock.

just another ref Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700486)
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4

The player breaking the plane is the violation. It has nothing to do with completing the throw-in.

just another ref Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700460)

However as stated in 5-9-1 the timer can start the clock if they do not see the floor official signal start clock/neglects to signal (their discretion on what it means by ball legally touched), unless floor official specifically signals continued time out.


I find the thought of eagle using his discretion to be somewhat troubling.

Adam Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700487)
In other words, I was meaning most of the time.

As has been mentioned several times, the timer is not right there in front of/next to the play, so the timer has to rely on the floor official to signal when to start/stop the clock.

So it's a retraction from your first statement. Understood.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 11, 2010 06:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700486)
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4

Um, no. The thrower held the ball over the plane in-bounds. The defender grabbed the ball on the in-bounds side of the plane. At NO time, did the defender cross the plane out-of-bounds. That's why it's a legal play.

You don't have a friggin' clue whatinthehell you're talking about. And that includes when and why to start the clock. If you don't understand what we're talking about, by all means ask questions until you do. But DO NOT try to tell us what to do. Quite simply, you do not have the rules knowledge to be doing something like that.

Just a suggestion from the kinder, gentler JR.....

BillyMac Thu Nov 11, 2010 07:25am

Instead You Struck Out ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700449)
The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.

C'mon chseagle. You're slipping. This was a softball for you. You should have knocked it out of the park.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 11, 2010 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700449)
The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.

Others have commented on the meaning of that statement.

I would like to commend you on using the proper "have" instead of your usual "of" in this situation.

Thank you.

Larks Thu Nov 11, 2010 09:17am

Maybe I missed it...

A1 holds ball over boundry line on an AP throw in and was tied up.

So mechanically, I see 99.999995% of officials kill it before chopping and going immediately into a held ball signal.

Most timers arent going to pluck the "start clock" thingy on and off real quick in this sitch.

No way anyone has knowledge of time consumed.

Without knowledge, how are we addressing this aspect of the OP by rule?

mbyron Thu Nov 11, 2010 09:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larks (Post 700516)
Maybe I missed it...

A1 holds ball over boundry line on an AP throw in and was tied up.

So mechanically, I see 99.999995% of officials kill it before chopping and going immediately into a held ball signal.

Most timers arent going to pluck the "start clock" thingy on and off real quick in this sitch.

No way anyone has knowledge of time consumed.

Without knowledge, how are we addressing this aspect of the OP by rule?

We're addressing it by 5-9-4 (I think you missed it). Clock does not start here.

Larks Thu Nov 11, 2010 09:26am

Oh....AFTER it's released!!

To quote the poet laureate Rosanne Rosannadan...nevermind

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 11, 2010 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larks (Post 700518)
Oh....AFTER it's released!!

To quote the poet laureate Rosanne Rosannadan...nevermind

Tsk, tsk, tsk......

Tsk!

We hear from another one of Chseagle's illegitimate sons.....:rolleyes:






Heeheeheehee......:D

Larks Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:05am

yeah yeah....

Its funny how you read something 3 or 4 times and miss a word.

Happens to my wife all the time....I'll e-mail her on game day: "Honey, after the game tonight were having a couple beers and then I'll be home". Funny, all she picks up is "After the game I'll be home".

Of course I've learned from this..."What time will you be home?" I'm asked. the answer is always...."yes."

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larks (Post 700546)
yeah yeah....

Its funny how you read something 3 or 4 times and miss a word.

Happens to my wife all the time....I'll e-mail her on game day: "Honey, after the game tonight were having a couple beers and then I'll be home". Funny, all she picks up is "After the game I'll be home".

Of course I've learned from this..."What time will you be home?" I'm asked. the answer is always...."yes."

It's a sin for wimmen to get between their husbands and their wings'n'brownpop.

Or even their apres-game tofu'n'diet coke if it's some short-azz, scum-sucking Bo-Sox fan living under a bridge up around Springfield, MASS.

I think that's written in the Bible someplace.

It's true, it's true.....

Back In The Saddle Thu Nov 11, 2010 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 700549)
It's a sin for wimmen to get between their husbands and their wings'n'brownpop.

Or even their apres-game tofu'n'diet coke if it's some short-azz, scum-sucking Bo-Sox fan living under a bridge up around Springfield, MASS.

I think that's written in the Bible someplace.

It's true, it's true.....

I happen to know that at least one diminutive, under-bridge dwelling Bo-Sox fan from Springfield enjoys regular coke, straight from a classic Coke-shaped bottle. With fish and chips. I don't think that's in the bible anywhere, but I'm sure the angels have recorded it in heaven.

It's true, it's true..... :)

Adam Thu Nov 11, 2010 01:18pm

I read that wrong, and at first thought you were suggesting he likes to drink the New Coke out of a Classic Coke bottle. All I could think of is, "where's the integrity?"

Back In The Saddle Thu Nov 11, 2010 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700581)
I read that wrong, and at first thought you were suggesting he likes to drink the New Coke out of a Classic Coke bottle. All I could think of is, "where's the integrity?"

Well, he is a Bo-Sox fan. So I can see how you'd feel immediately compelled to question his integrity. ;)

chseagle Fri Nov 12, 2010 12:00am

At least I struck out swinging & trying to understand.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 700510)
C'mon chseagle. You're slipping. This was a softball for you. You should have knocked it out of the park.


Jurassic Referee Fri Nov 12, 2010 07:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700704)
At least I struck out swinging & trying to understand.

Nope, you should try to understand by asking questions, not answering them.

So sayeth the kinder, gentler JR....

chseagle Fri Nov 12, 2010 08:50pm

I was both asking & answering questions.

As soon as I can get things better with my knee, I am looking at joining the ranks of Floor Officials.

My wife is wanting to become a floor official as well.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 700727)
Nope, you should try to understand by asking questions, not answering them.

So sayeth the kinder, gentler JR....

So now you're a Brontosaurus instead of a Tyrannosaurus Rex?

grunewar Fri Nov 12, 2010 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700842)
As soon as I can get things better with my knee, I am looking at joining the ranks of Floor Officials.

Call me, I'd loooooove to work the table!

I'd give you some pointers during the game.....whether you want to hear them or not! :rolleyes:

chseagle Fri Nov 12, 2010 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 700844)
Call me, I'd loooooove to work the table!

I'd give you some pointers during the game.....whether you want to hear them or not! :rolleyes:

LMAO I'll just give the visiting team all the Ts then j/k

Daryl H. Long Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 700842)
I was both asking & answering questions.

As soon as I can get things better with my knee, I am looking at joining the ranks of Floor Officials.

My wife is wanting to become a floor official as well.



So now you're a Brontosaurus instead of a Tyrannosaurus Rex?

Last at bat you struck out swinging. This at bat is not going so well either.

I see you are still getting things wrong. You see, a Brontosaurus never existed. That creature you refer to was the body of an apatosaurus and the head and feet of a camarasaurus. The head used was actually found many miles away. That's the way paleontologists do things to prove evolution. If they do not have an integral part they will GENERALLY just add something they have laying around that seems to look right. By saying GENERALLY I really mean MOST OF THE TIME.

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 16, 2010 07:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daryl H. Long (Post 701196)
I see you are still getting things wrong. You see, a Brontosaurus never existed. That creature you refer to was the body of an apatosaurus and the head and feet of a camarasaurus. The head used was actually found many miles away. That's the way paleontologists do things to prove evolution. If they do not have an integral part they will GENERALLY just add something they have laying around that seems to look right. By saying GENERALLY I really mean MOST OF THE TIME.

Ah. Now I know where I got the "body by Arnold" combined with the face of an angel.

Thanks, Preacher.:D

BillyMac Tue Nov 16, 2010 07:41am

On The Shoulders Of Giants ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Daryl H. Long (Post 701196)
That's the way paleontologists do things to prove evolution.

Guess who fixed it? Scientists. That's how science, and the scientific method, works. Scientists come up with hypotheses, peer review occurs, and other scientists correct incorrect hypotheses.

"Brontosaurus" skeletons were constructed during a time when various museums were competing for customers, and funding, so it was a race to come up with the best fossil displays. Mistakes were made because many scientists acted more like P.T. Barnum, and Indiana Jones, than like true scientists. Not a proud moment for science, but it did generate a lot of interest in dinosaurs. Here in Connecticut, the Peabody Museum, one of those museums in the "race", finally put the correct head on our Apatosaurus several years ago. And they didn't do it in secret, in the middle of the night. It was a big deal, covered by the media, a teachable moment.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1