![]() |
|
|
|||
Frontcourt/backcourt?
This to me is an easy question but some of our members disagreed at our meeting last night.
A5 passes the ball from his backcourt towards his frontcourt. The ball is deflected by B5 who is standing in Team A's frontcourt (or his own backcourt). The ball bounces once in Team A's frontcourt and goes back to A5 who has both feet in his backcourt. So Team A has a new 10 second count, correct? Some members thought because the ball hit the floor in the frontcourt before A5 picked it up, it caused an over and back violation? |
|
|||
you are correct
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Stop it!
We are not going to debate that again! Better not let Snaqwells hear you say that!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
You must have been under a rock during this discussion
Quote:
SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Assuming...
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Continue NOT thinking about that official interp. There is no rules justification to call a violation in that situation.
Silly Monkeys! |
|
|||
I know we've have debated this before ad naseum
I was thinking about this interp and while I don't like it per se, I now see some logic to their madness. Apply the rule as worded to the situation when A1 is dribbling in his frontcourt. He picks up his dribble and steps on the line. This is a backcourt violation. Why, because he caused the ball to have back court status. The main argument against the "dreaded" interp from my perspective is that two simulatenous events occurred (last to touch/first to touch). We all know that's not possible. However, there is precedent in the minds of the NFHS for this. The back court rule states that the offense has to be the last to touch it in the front court and the first to touch it in the back court. When I step on the line it is a backcourt violation because of two events occurring simultaneously.
I still don't like the interp, but there is precedent for the simultaneous events occurring, at least in the minds of the NFHS rules commitee.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm one of those in the minority who agreed with the interp.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt-Frontcourt Clarification | MtnGoatinStripes | Basketball | 3 | Thu Dec 11, 2003 06:31am |
frontcourt-backcourt | zac | Basketball | 2 | Thu Nov 27, 2003 12:36pm |
frontcourt/backcourt | chasbo | Basketball | 14 | Thu Oct 30, 2003 08:56am |
Frontcourt/Backcourt | RookieDude | Basketball | 1 | Fri Jan 31, 2003 08:11am |
Frontcourt or backcourt | PP | Basketball | 9 | Mon Oct 29, 2001 11:21am |