
Mon Nov 08, 2010, 08:08am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
|
|
Assuming...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
According to the NFHS, this is a BC violation.
SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)
|
Assuming it didn't hit the back court first before contacting the player. I wasn't thinking about that official interp when I read it.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
|