The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 11:27am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
I was thinking about this interp and while I don't like it per se, I now see some logic to their madness. Apply the rule as worded to the situation when A1 is dribbling in his frontcourt. He picks up his dribble and steps on the line. This is a backcourt violation. Why, because he caused the ball to have back court status. The main argument against the "dreaded" interp from my perspective is that two simulatenous events occurred (last to touch/first to touch). We all know that's not possible. However, there is precedent in the minds of the NFHS for this. The back court rule states that the offense has to be the last to touch it in the front court and the first to touch it in the back court. When I step on the line it is a backcourt violation because of two events occurring simultaneously.

I still don't like the interp, but there is precedent for the simultaneous events occurring, at least in the minds of the NFHS rules commitee.
And there are other examples where all 4 elements aren't met yet you have a valid b/c violation.

I'm one of those in the minority who agreed with the interp.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 11:44am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
I was thinking about this interp and while I don't like it per se, I now see some logic to their madness. Apply the rule as worded to the situation when A1 is dribbling in his frontcourt. He picks up his dribble and steps on the line. This is a backcourt violation. Why, because he caused the ball to have back court status. The main argument against the "dreaded" interp from my perspective is that two simulatenous events occurred (last to touch/first to touch). We all know that's not possible. However, there is precedent in the minds of the NFHS for this. The back court rule states that the offense has to be the last to touch it in the front court and the first to touch it in the back court. When I step on the line it is a backcourt violation because of two events occurring simultaneously.

I still don't like the interp, but there is precedent for the simultaneous events occurring, at least in the minds of the NFHS rules commitee.
No, the rule states the offense has to be the last to touch "before" the ball gains BC status, and the first to touch the ball "after" it gains BC status. The location of the touch is not relevant. The timing, however, is.
It's impossible for a single event to occur both before and after a separate event. "Causing the ball to gain BC status" is not a violation.
This very play is one of the reasons I find the interp to be stupid.

Change it just a bit. A1 standing in the BC near the division line. Throws towards A2, also in the BC. B1, standing in the FC, reaches across the division line and tips the pass, but does not significantly alter the trajectory, allowing A2 to catch the ball easily.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
I agree with the physics

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No, the rule states the offense has to be the last to touch "before" the ball gains BC status, and the first to touch the ball "after" it gains BC status. The location of the touch is not relevant. The timing, however, is.
It's impossible for a single event to occur both before and after a separate event. "Causing the ball to gain BC status" is not a violation.
This very play is one of the reasons I find the interp to be stupid.

Change it just a bit. A1 standing in the BC near the division line. Throws towards A2, also in the BC. B1, standing in the FC, reaches across the division line and tips the pass, but does not significantly alter the trajectory, allowing A2 to catch the ball easily.
However, when A1 holding the ball in the front court, pivots and steps on the line we have two events happening simultaneously from a rules perspective. The offense was the last to touch it in the front court and the first to touch it after the ball had obtained back court status, which occurred at the exact same time as his foot touching the line.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 12:24pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
However, when A1 holding the ball in the front court, pivots and steps on the line we have two events happening simultaneously from a rules perspective. The offense was the last to touch it in the front court and the first to touch it after the ball had obtained back court status, which occurred at the exact same time as his foot touching the line.

This is a backcourt violation. But, the two events (frontcourt touch/backcourt touch) clearly did not happen simultaneously, and this in no way relates to the OP.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 12:38pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
However, when A1 holding the ball in the front court, pivots and steps on the line we have two events happening simultaneously from a rules perspective. The offense was the last to touch it in the front court and the first to touch it after the ball had obtained back court status, which occurred at the exact same time as his foot touching the line.
As Camron points out, your player has the ball throughout the entire time; before the ball gains BC status and after.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 11:45am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
And there are other examples where all 4 elements aren't met yet you have a valid b/c violation.
Such as?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 04:39pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Such as?
Is this a b/c violation?

A1 is dribbling the ball in the backcourt near the division line. A1 dribbles off his leg, the ball bounces off B2 leg in A's frontcourt and comes to rest on the floor in A's frontcourt. A1, standing in his backcourt, reaches across the division line and secures the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 05:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Is this a b/c violation?

A1 is dribbling the ball in the backcourt near the division line. A1 dribbles off his leg, the ball bounces off B2 leg in A's frontcourt and comes to rest on the floor in A's frontcourt. A1, standing in his backcourt, reaches across the division line and secures the ball.
Based on the rule? No. A is not the last player to touch the ball prior to it gaining BC status. The instant A1 touches the ball, it gains BC status. Last to touch before that was B2.
For the record, I think the ruling would be the same if the ball were bouncing back from the FC.

How about this one? Same principal, only slightly different action:
A1 dribbling in the BC, near the division line. B1, guarding A1 and standing completely in the FC. B1 reaches and slaps at the ball, knocking it into A1's leg. Violation?

According to the rule, no. According to the interp, yes. Your call?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt-Frontcourt Clarification MtnGoatinStripes Basketball 3 Thu Dec 11, 2003 06:31am
frontcourt-backcourt zac Basketball 2 Thu Nov 27, 2003 12:36pm
frontcourt/backcourt chasbo Basketball 14 Thu Oct 30, 2003 08:56am
Frontcourt/Backcourt RookieDude Basketball 1 Fri Jan 31, 2003 08:11am
Frontcourt or backcourt PP Basketball 9 Mon Oct 29, 2001 11:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1