![]() |
|
|
||||
Sitch:
A1 with the ball in FC near division line. B1, standing with one foot in the BC, reaches and touches the ball but does not create a held ball situation. Ruling: Official is to begin a 10 second BC count, terminating either when the defense steps into the FC, the defense lets go, or the defense gains possession.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
lol....is that in the casebook? I assume in 4.1 somewhere.
What would be the purpose of having a bc count? I understand that technically it has bc status so the closely guarded count isn't in affect, but wouldn't you call a held ball long before you got anywhere close to ten? |
|
||||
Quote:
As for in practice, yes, most likely I'd have a held ball long before getting to 10 seconds. I can't even imagine starting an arm swing here, as balls are either held or moved too quickly. That said, if the defense is merely putting his hand on it, and the offense isn't doing anything to move, it's not really a held ball by rule. 4-25-1
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt Question | bigdog5142 | Basketball | 78 | Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:20am |
another backcourt question | missinglink | Basketball | 10 | Fri Jan 05, 2007 05:32pm |
Backcourt Question | AirForceDude | Basketball | 1 | Mon Dec 27, 2004 09:59pm |
Backcourt Question | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 10 | Mon Jul 21, 2003 05:42pm |
Another backcourt question | ken roberts | Basketball | 6 | Thu Dec 16, 1999 02:29am |