![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
If the ball passes over the backboard from either side, it is OOB.
7-1-2 The ball is out of bounds: b. When it passes over a rectangular backboard. 7.1.2 SITUATION A: The ball strikes the side edge or top edge of the backboard or passes over the top of the backboard and the ball: (a) came from a throw-in from behind the plane of the backboard; or (b) from a pass or try from the front or back of the plane of the backboard. The ball does not touch any supporting brace. RULING: If a fan-shaped backboard is being used in (a) and in (b), the ball remains live. If a rectangular backboard is used in (a), the ball remains live after touching the side edge, but it is a violation if it passes directly over the backboard. In (b), the ball remains live if it touches a side edge or the top edge if it rebounds and comes down in front of the backboard. The ball becomes dead if it passes over the top of a rectangular backboard regardless of the action which causes it to pass over or whether it comes from the front or back of the plane.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
That is my conflict. The ball did not come down in front of the backboard |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The rule and the case play cited both say the same thing. It's an OOB violation if the ball passes over a rectangular backboard. Naturally, if the ball doesn't pass over, it ain't an OOB violation. |
|
|||
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
That is why I said "seem". I wasn't sure....but that is the way I read it.
Obviously now, you were supplying the cite to support my response.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
It would be impossible for a pass or try attempted from behind the backboard to touch the top and come down in front of the backboard without passing over the backboard. since it does not come down in front of the backboard does that make this play illegal? Which contradicts most posters opinions. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
:)
Camron, I have great confidence in your, and most experienced posters, rules knowledge. But I have been getting my chops busted all day by JR and a few others about "Rules Rulz" (I think thats it)
It has been insinuated that my interpretation of a case play is weak officiating. I have been told that the specific definition of when a throw-in ends does not apply to 7-6-6. And now I am being told that the word "front" should not be in the case play and it should be ignored. I think I'm going to give up for the day, have a few adult beverages and try again tomorrow. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The RULING in red that you say is conflicting states that "In (b), the ball remains live if it touches the side edge or the top if it REBOUNDS and comes back down in front of the backboard.." In your sitch with the ball thrown from the back, did the ball "REBOUND"? Nope! It went over the board. the key word is "REBOUND". The ball can only REBOUND and come down in the front if it was thrown from the front or side originally. If it was thrown from the back, any REBOUND could only come down in the back. Simple physics. Iow, that sentence isn't applicable to the situation that you're describing. What is applicable is the second part of the ruling that states "The ball becomes dead if it passes over the top of a rectangular backboard regardless of the action which causes it to pass over or whether it comes from the front or back of the plane." Rules rulz...and you're reading too much into them and making them a heckuva lot more complicated than they are. |
|
|||
I think my OP is confusing. Camron added the word "unsuccessful" to my OP when he quoted it and that is how I meant it. The player does not throw the ball over the backboard, so the passing over the backboard part of the rule does not apply.
The ball hits the top of the backboard and "rebounds" on the back side of the backboard. The way I read that, it would be illegal. It did not rebound on the front side of the backboard. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|