![]() |
|
|
|||
Oob ?
Sitch: Player A is near the endline behind his teams backboard. He is falling out-of-bounds and tries (unsuccessfully) to throw the ball over the backboard from the back. The ball doesn't touch anything except the top of the backboard and then falls back inbounds behind the backboard. The ball never touches any braces or the back of the backboard and remians in-bounds.
I am conflicting the rule 7-1-2 with the case 7.1.2. What is the opinion here? Does the ball remain live or is it a dead ball when it falls behind the backboard? Last edited by Scratch85; Tue Oct 12, 2010 at 09:46pm. Reason: added "unsuccessfully" to second sentence |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
If the ball passes over the backboard from either side, it is OOB.
7-1-2 The ball is out of bounds: b. When it passes over a rectangular backboard. 7.1.2 SITUATION A: The ball strikes the side edge or top edge of the backboard or passes over the top of the backboard and the ball: (a) came from a throw-in from behind the plane of the backboard; or (b) from a pass or try from the front or back of the plane of the backboard. The ball does not touch any supporting brace. RULING: If a fan-shaped backboard is being used in (a) and in (b), the ball remains live. If a rectangular backboard is used in (a), the ball remains live after touching the side edge, but it is a violation if it passes directly over the backboard. In (b), the ball remains live if it touches a side edge or the top edge if it rebounds and comes down in front of the backboard. The ball becomes dead if it passes over the top of a rectangular backboard regardless of the action which causes it to pass over or whether it comes from the front or back of the plane.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
That is my conflict. The ball did not come down in front of the backboard |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The rule and the case play cited both say the same thing. It's an OOB violation if the ball passes over a rectangular backboard. Naturally, if the ball doesn't pass over, it ain't an OOB violation. |
|
|||
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
It would be impossible for a pass or try attempted from behind the backboard to touch the top and come down in front of the backboard without passing over the backboard. since it does not come down in front of the backboard does that make this play illegal? Which contradicts most posters opinions. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
:)
Camron, I have great confidence in your, and most experienced posters, rules knowledge. But I have been getting my chops busted all day by JR and a few others about "Rules Rulz" (I think thats it)
It has been insinuated that my interpretation of a case play is weak officiating. I have been told that the specific definition of when a throw-in ends does not apply to 7-6-6. And now I am being told that the word "front" should not be in the case play and it should be ignored. I think I'm going to give up for the day, have a few adult beverages and try again tomorrow. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() As Tony said, rule 7-1-2 says the ball is OOB if it passes over a rectangular backboard. Case book play 7.1.2SitA says the exact same thing. |
|
|||
Quote:
The ball never passed over the top of the board. This play is no different than a shot bouncing up to and on the top and falling back down in front of the basket. If it returns to the side from which it started without touching anything but the top of the board, it is legal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Oct 12, 2010 at 06:22pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|